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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at https://register.dls.virginia.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-

4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and 

date. 34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, 

Issue 8, pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on 

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Marcus B. Simon, 

Chair; Russet W. Perry, Vice Chair; Katrina E. Callsen; Nicole 

Cheuk; Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Michael 

Mullin; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven Popps; Charles S. Sharp; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Managing 

Editor; Erin Comerford, Regulations Analyst 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4000/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4007.06/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4012.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4012.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

April 2025 through April 2026 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

41:17 March 19, 2025 April 7, 2025 

41:18 April 2, 2025 April 21, 2025 

41:19 April 16, 2025 May 5, 2025 

41:20 April 30, 2025 May 19, 2025 

41:21 May 14, 2025 June 2, 2025 

41:22 May 28, 2025 June 16, 2025 

41:23 June 11, 2025 June 30, 2025 

41:24 June 25, 2025 July 14, 2025 

41:25 July 9, 2025 July 28, 2025 

41:26 July 23, 2025 August 11, 2025 

42:1 August 6, 2025 August 25, 2025 

42:2 August 20, 2025 September 8, 2025 

42:3 September 3, 2025 September 22, 2025 

42:4 September 17, 2025 October 6, 2025 

42:5 October 1, 2025 October 20, 2025 

42:6 October 15, 2025 November 3, 2025 

42:7 October 29, 2025 November 17, 2025 

42:8 November 10, 2025 (Monday) December 1, 2025 

42:9 November 24, 2025 (Monday) December 15, 2025 

42:10 December 9, 2025 December 29, 2025 

42:11 December 22, 2025 (Monday) January 12, 2026 

42:12 January 6, 2026 (Tuesday) January 26, 2026 

42:13 January 21, 2026 February 9, 2026 

42:14 February 4, 2026 February 23, 2026 

42:15 February 18, 2026 March 9, 2026 

42:16 March 4, 2026 March 23, 2026 

42:17 March 18, 2026 April 6, 2026 

42:18 April 1, 2026 April 20, 2026 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing Home Administrators. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Bertha Simmons. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators amend 18VAC95-

20-310 to allow content in an assisted living facility 

administrator-in-training (AIT) program that is similar to 

required content for a nursing home administrator AIT 

program also count toward a nursing home administrator AIT 

program. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on March 24, 2025. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment, which 

opens March 24, 2025, and closes April 23, 2025. The board 

will consider the petition and all comments in support or 

opposition at the next meeting after the close of public 

comment, currently scheduled for June 24, 2025. The 

petitioner will be notified of the board's decision after that 

meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 23, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 

367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-32; Filed February 21, 2025, 9:25 a.m. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-90, 

Procedure for Adjusting Grievances, and determined that 

this regulation should be retained as is. The board is publishing 

its report of findings dated February 27, 2025, to support this 

decision. 

The regulation remains necessary for the protection of public 

health, safety, and welfare because it sets out the grievance 

procedure for teachers required by § 22.1-308 of the Code of 

Virginia. Further, the regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. The regulation will be retained because the 

grievance procedure is required by statute. 

There is a continued need for the regulation as it provides rules 

governing the procedure for adjusting grievances. At this time, 

the agency has received no comments concerning the 

regulation and is unaware of any complaints. The regulation 

was last amended in 2016. The agency's decision to retain the 

regulation will have no impact on small business. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-150, 

Management of the Student's Scholastic Record in the 

Public Schools of Virginia, and determined that this 

regulation should be repealed. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated February 27, 2025, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation does not need to be an independent chapter, but 

can be incorporated into 8VAC20-720, which will enhance 

clarity and reduce the number of board regulations. Some 

provisions of 8VAC20-150 are necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare because the rules concern the 

management of a student's scholastic record in the public 

schools of Virginia. These provisions are in accordance with 

the federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, and the Code of 

Virginia. The chapter being repealed is neither clearly written 

nor easily understandable. 

At this time, the agency has received no comments concerning 

the regulation and is unaware of any complaints. The 

regulatory chapter was last amended in 1995. The agency's 

decision to repeal the regulation and move certain provisions 

will have no impact on small business. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-330, 

Rules Governing Alternative Education, and determined 

that this regulation should be retained as is. The board is 

publishing its report of findings dated February 26, 2025, to 

support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because its provisions govern alternative 

education. Alternative education is necessary to ensure that the 

varied needs of children are met by the Commonwealth's 

education system. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The regulation will be retained as is because there is a 

continued need for provisions governing alternative education 

programs. At this time, the agency has received no comments 

concerning the regulation and is unaware of any complaints. 

There is no known overlap between the regulation and any 

other state or federal law or regulation. The regulation has not 

been amended since it became effective in 1980. The agency's 

decision to retain the regulation will have no impact on small 

businesses. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-340, 

Regulations Governing Driver Education, and determined 

that this regulation should be amended. The board is publishing 

its report of findings dated February 26, 2025, to support this 

decision. 

The regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because it sets out requirements that govern 

driver education for children. Ensuring that children are 

adequately prepared to safely operate a motor vehicle is of the 

mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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utmost necessity in protecting public health, safety, and 

welfare. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The regulation will be amended to remove a document 

incorporated by reference (DIBR) in order to conform to 

1VAC7-10-140 D. The DIBR will then be housed on the 

agency's website. Additionally, 8VAC20-340-10 will amended 

to bring it into alignment with § 22.1-205 of the Code of 

Virginia and the Department of Motor Vehicle's regulations 

and practices. 

The agency has received no comments on the regulation and is 

unaware of any complaints concerning the regulation. The 

regulation is not complex. It does not appear that the regulation 

overlaps, duplicates, or conflicts with any other state or federal 

law or regulation. The agency's decision will not impact small 

businesses. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-390, 

Rules Governing Division Superintendent of Schools, and 

determined that this regulation should be amended. The board 

is publishing its report of findings dated February 27, 2025, to 

support this decision. 

The regulation remains necessary for the protection of public 

health, safety, and welfare because it sets out rules governing 

division superintendents of schools, who play an integral part in 

the operation of school divisions. The regulation is clearly written 

and easily understandable. 

The regulation will be amended. The qualifications to be placed 

on the list of eligible candidates found in 8VAC20-390-10 conflict 

with the requirements to be a candidate for the list of eligible 

superintendents found in 8VAC20-23-630. 8VAC20-390-10 will 

be repealed to resolve this conflict. 

There is a continued need for the regulation as it provides rules 

governing division superintendents of schools. At this time, the 

agency has received no comments concerning the regulation and 

is unaware of any complaints. The regulation conflicts with 

8VAC20-23-630. The regulation was last amended in 2022. The 

agency's decision to amend the regulation will have no impact on 

small business. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

750-8750, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-410, 

Regulations Governing Allowable Credit for Teaching 

Experience, and determined that this regulation should be 

repealed. The board is publishing its report of findings dated 

October 24, 2024, to support this decision. 

The content of the regulation is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare because it describes how 

credit for teaching experience may be allowed. Credit for 

teaching experience is necessary for numerous teacher 

licensure types and to ensure that teachers gather the necessary 

experience to be effective instructors. The regulation is clearly 

written and easily understandable, so necessary provisions will 

be retained and moved. 

The regulation will be repealed, but its language will be edited 

to be appropriate for a definition and moved to 8VAC20-23-

10. Licensure Regulations for School Personnel (8VAC20-23) 

concerns teacher licensure and contains numerous references 

to "credit for teaching experience." Shifting the language of 

8VAC20-410 to 8VAC20-23 will reduce the number of board 

regulations. 

There is a continued need for the text of regulation, but no need 

for it to exist in a distinct chapter. The agency has received no 

comments and is unaware of any complaints concerning the 

regulation. The regulation text is not complex. It does not 

appear that the regulation overlaps, duplicates, or conflicts 

with any other state or federal law or regulation. The agency's 

decision will not impact small business. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-760, 

Regulations Governing the Designation of School Divisions 

of Innovation, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained as is. The board is publishing its report of findings 

dated February 27, 2025, to support this decision. 

The regulation remains necessary for the protection of public 

health, safety, and welfare because it sets out regulations 

governing the designation of school divisions of innovation. 

School divisions of innovation play an integral part in 

improving student learning; educational performance; and 

college, career, and citizenship readiness skills in one or more 

schools, for the benefit of all schools in the school division. 

Further, the regulation is clearly written and easily 

mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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understandable. The regulation will be retained as is. At this 

time, the agency has received no comments concerning the 

regulation and is unaware of any complaints. The regulation 

was last amended in 2019. The agency's decision to retain the 

regulation as is will have no impact on small business. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
 

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 22VAC40-325, Fraud Reduction/Elimination 

Effort. The Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to amend 

22VAC40-325, which is published in this issue of the Virginia 

Register, serves as the agency notices of announcement. 

Contact Information: Susan Lloyd, Fraud Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 5600 Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, telephone (804) 682-1207, or email 

susan.lloyd@dss.virginia.gov. 

mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
susan.lloyd@dss.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 

consider amending 18VAC85-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

provide a licensure pathway for foreign physicians using a 

system of provisional and restricted licensure consistent with 

Chapter 464 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly, which amended the 

Code of Virginia to allow the Board of Medicine the authority 

to create such a pathway for foreign physicians. Amendments 

being considered would establish (i) fees associated with initial 

applications and renewals of provisional and restricted 

licenses; (ii) application requirements for provisional and 

restricted licenses; (iii) renewal requirements for provisional 

and restricted licenses; (iv) criteria for assessment and 

evaluation programs of provisional licensees; (v) criteria to 

obtain a provisional license; (vi) disciplinary provisions; and 

(vii) reinstatement provisions for provisional and restricted 

licensees. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 23, 2025. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, MD, Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8127; Filed February 20, 2025, 1:54 p.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––– 

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

intends to consider amending 22VAC40-325, Fraud 

Reduction/Elimination Effort. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to rename the Fraud Reduction/Elimination Effort as 

the Statewide Fraud Control Program and change the 

methodology used to reimburse local departments of social 

services. The current formula for reimbursement to local 

departments of social services for fraud control activities 

provides more weight to the size of a locality's caseloads for 

programs and less weight to actual fraud control activities 

taken or completed. This results in uneven reimbursement rates 

when compared to performance of desired outcomes, such as 

investigations initiated, claims established, or other similar 

actions. This regulatory action will move away from a formula 

that is caseload based to one that reflects actual fraud work. 

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

the agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-526 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 23, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Susan Lloyd, Fraud Consultant, Department 

of Social Services, 5600 Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 

telephone (804) 682-1207, or email 

susan.lloyd@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8195; Filed February 27, 2025, 10:07 a.m. 

mailto:william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:susan.lloyd@dss.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1360. Pertaining to 

Commercial Electrofishing (amending 4VAC20-1360-20, 

4VAC20-1360-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 1, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Zachary Widgeon, Director of 

Communications, Marine Resources Commission, 380 

Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, 

telephone (757) 414-0713, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

zachary.widgeon@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove size limits on blue catfish that 

can be taken using electrofishing, and (ii) clarify and expand 

the proximity to a pier or fixed fishing device within which 

electrofishing is allowed. 

4VAC20-1360-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Agent" means any individual who possesses the Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License, fishing gear license, or 

fishing permit of any registered commercial fisherman in order 

to fish that commercial fisherman's gear or sell that 

commercial fisherman's harvest. 

"Blue catfish" means any fish of the nonnative species 

Ictalurus furcatus. 

"Commercial electrofishing fishery" means low-frequency 

electrofishing and subsequent harvest by any individual where 

the harvest is for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose 

or is intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial 

purpose. 

"Electrofishing" means a method by which fish are 

immobilized by an electrical field created by pulsing direct 

current at a frequency not above 15 Hz. 

"Fixed fishing device" means any fishing device requiring the 

use of more than two poles or stakes that have been pushed or 

pumped into the bottom, to include only fyke nets, pound nets, 

staked gill nets, and crab traps. 

"Flathead catfish" means any fish of the nonnative species 

Pylodictis olivaris. 

"Harvest area" means the waters of (i) the mainstem of the 

James River, from the James River Bridge upstream to the 

southern point of Turkey Island; (ii) the mainstem of the 

Pamunkey River, from the Route 33 Eltham Bridge upstream 

to the mouth of Matadequin Creek; and (iii) the mainstem of 

the Rappahannock River, from the Route 360 Downing Bridge 

upstream to the Route 301 James Madison Memorial Bridge. 

"Pier" means any noncommercial or commercial open pile or 

floating structure extending from the uplands channelward of 

mean low water. 

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's head 

that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, to 

the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured with 

the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-line 

measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-1360-40. Prohibitions. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any individual to harvest any fish 

immobilized by commercial electrofishing gear without 

possessing a Commercial Fisherman Registration License and 

Fish Dip Net License or a Commercial Electrofishing License. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any individual in the commercial 

electrofishing fishery to: 1. Take take, harvest, or possess any 

species other than blue catfish or flathead catfish. 

2. Take, harvest, or possess any blue catfish greater than 25 

inches in total length, except that up to 12 blue catfish per 

trip may be between 25 and 28 inches in total length. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any individual licensed under the 

provisions of 4VAC20-1360-30 to: 

1. Fail to be onboard the electrofishing vessel when 

conducting commercial electrofishing. 

mailto:@zachary.widgeon@mrc.virginia.gov.
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2. Conduct commercial electrofishing from October 16 

through April 30. 

3. Conduct commercial electrofishing between 11:59 a.m. 

Friday and 12:01 a.m. Monday. 

4. Conduct commercial electrofishing within 300 yards of 

any fixed fishing devices or within 100 yards of any other 

marked commercial fishing gear. 

5. Conduct commercial electrofishing within the week prior 

to or during any local sampling conducted by the Virginia 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries Wildlife 

Resources. The dates and locations of such sampling will be 

provided to licensees. 

6. Fail to contact the Virginia Marine Resources 

Commission Operations Station toll free line at 1-800-541-

4646 when intending to conduct commercial electrofishing 

within the following 24-hour period to report the specific 

location and estimated time of fishing. 

7. Conduct commercial electrofishing in Virginia waters, 

except in the harvest area specified on the individual's 

Commercial Electrofishing License. 

8. Conduct commercial electrofishing within 100 300 yards 

of any public boat ramp, fishing public or private pier, or 

where people are in the water, including such activities as 

swimming and diving. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8178; Filed February 26, 2025, 11:23 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-501. Rules and Regulations 

Governing the Construction and Maintenance of Migrant 

Labor Camps. 

Agency Contact: Briana Bill, Environmental Health 

Coordinator, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 584-6340, or 

email briana.bill@vdh.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (12VAC5-501) 

Migrant Labor Camp Inspection Report, EHS-174 (rev. 

12/04). 

Application for a Migrant Labor Camp Operation Permit, 

EHS-V23, (eff. 3/2025) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8225; Filed March 4, 2025, 9:58 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-10. State Plan under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 

Program; General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-

610). 

12VAC30-20. Administration of Medical Assistance 

Services (amending 12VAC30-20-200). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 23, 2025. 

Effective Date: May 8, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance, and § 

32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the Director of the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance 

according to the board's requirements. The Medicaid authority, 

as established by § 1902(a) of the Social Security Act (42 USC 

§ 1396a), provides governing authority for payments for 

services. 

Purpose: The proposed changes are required in order for 

DMAS to be in compliance with federal rules stipulating that 

State Medicaid plans comply with third-party liability (TPL) 

requirements reflected in current law. This regulatory change 

is essential to protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens 

because it allows DMAS to make payments without regard to 

potential third-party liability for pediatric preventive services 

under certain circumstances, which will allow providers to 

provide preventive services to pediatric patients without fear 

of delayed payment, thereby providing easier, more 

widespread access for pediatric patients to receive necessary 

preventive care. This action also benefits the health and 

welfare of citizens by barring liable third-party payers from 

refusing payment for an item or service solely on the basis that 

such item or service did not receive prior authorization under 

mailto:briana.bill@vdh.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Application%20for%20MLC%20OP%20-%20Form%20V23-20250303083531.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Application%20for%20MLC%20OP%20-%20Form%20V23-20250303083531.pdf
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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the third-party payer's rules, which may result in fewer claims 

being denied on this basis, protecting Medicaid members from 

receiving bills for personal payment of these services. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action is expected to be noncontroversial and, therefore, 

appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process because it 

aligns the regulations with current federal and state law and 

does not reduce services. 

Substance: In accordance with a Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services directive, the changes update Virginia's 

TPL provisions from a "cost avoidance" model to a "pay and 

chase" model for pediatric preventive claims. Specifically, the 

changes (i) allow DMAS to comply with the federal 

requirements related to prior authorization, to comply with 

state legislation related to liens, and to establish a clear process 

for individuals to follow with regard to Medicaid liens; (ii) 

require DMAS to apply cost-avoidance procedures to claims 

for prenatal services, including labor, delivery, and postpartum 

care services; (iii) require DMAS to make payments without 

regard to potential third-party liability for pediatric preventive 

services, unless the state has made a determination related to 

cost-effectiveness and access to care that warrants cost 

avoidance for up to 90 days; and (iv) provide DMAS with 

flexibility to make payments without regard to potential third-

party liability for up to 100 days for claims related to child 

support enforcement beneficiaries. 

Issues: The primary advantage to this action is that that the 

changes align DMAS regulations with federal and state 

requirements. There are no disadvantages to the public, the 

agency, the Commonwealth, or the regulated community. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. This 

regulatory action would make language-only changes to the 

regulatory text in order to (i) comply with two Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) directives; (ii) 

incorporate a third-party claim process as required by Chapter 

807 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly; and (iii) respond to a 2022 

petition for rulemaking. 

Background. The proposed changes in this action involve 

Medicaid third party liability (TPL) rules, which address 

situations where Medicaid beneficiaries have one or more 

additional sources of health care coverage in addition to 

Medicaid. TPL refers to the legal obligation of third parties to 

pay part or all of the expenditures for medical assistance 

furnished under a Medicaid state plan. Examples include 

beneficiaries with other health insurance (e.g., group health 

plans, self-insured plans, managed care organizations, 

pharmacy benefits, Medicare, court-ordered health coverage as 

part of child support order, workers' compensation, long-term 

care insurance), settlements from a liability insurer (e.g., 

treatment of personal injuries for which a car insurer is 

responsible), and other state or federal coverage programs 

(unless specifically excluded by law). In such cases, TPL rules 

generally dictate that Medicaid is the payer of last resort.2 In 

other words, all other available third-party resources must meet 

their legal obligations to pay claims before the Medicaid 

program pays for the care of a Medicaid beneficiary. States are 

required to take all reasonable measures to ascertain the legal 

liability of third parties to pay for care and services that are 

available under the Medicaid state plan. If the Medicaid agency 

has determined that a third party is likely liable for a claim, it 

must reject payment of the claim by Medicaid in most 

circumstances (an example of cost avoidance). The Medicaid 

agency then sends the claim back to the provider noting the 

third party that Medicaid believes to be legally responsible for 

paying the claim, and the provider should then bill the legally 

liable third party. The first set of proposed changes are needed 

in order to respond to a CMS informational bulletin3 requiring 

states to ensure that their Medicaid state plans comply with 

TPL requirements reflected in current law. The bulletin 

directed states to update their Medicaid TPL state plan pages 

and submit amendments to CMS to reflect the following: (i) 

the requirement for states to apply cost avoidance procedures 

to claims for prenatal services, including labor, delivery, and 

postpartum care services; (ii) the requirement for states to 

make payments without regard to potential TPL for pediatric 

preventive services, unless the state has made a determination 

related to cost effectiveness and access to care that warrants 

cost avoidance for 90 days; and (iii) state flexibility to make 

payments without regard to potential TPL for up to 100 days 

for claims related to child support enforcement beneficiaries. 

According to the Department of Medical Services (DMAS), 

the Virginia Medicaid program has been in compliance with all 

three requirements since CMS approved a state plan 

amendment on July 25, 2022. Consequently, this action aims 

to update the Virginia Administrative Code accordingly but 

does not make substantive changes to policy or practice. 

Second, CMS issued a state Medicaid director letter 23-002,4 

which required Medicaid agencies to issue state rules to bar 

liable third-party payers from refusing payment for an item or 

service solely on the basis that such item or service did not 

receive prior authorization under the third-party payer rules. 

The proposed regulatory language changes relating to that 

requirement are also included in this action. Third, the 

proposed changes would add regulatory text to effectuate 

Chapter 807 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly,5 which amended 

§ 8.01-66.9:2 of the Code of Virginia and set out a process for 

placing a lien in favor of DMAS on claim for personal injuries. 

The amendments to the regulatory text in this action would 

incorporate the processes as laid out in § 8.01-66.9:2 of the 

Code of Virginia. Finally, a set of proposed changes are 

intended to respond to a petition for rulemaking that was filed 

on November 3, 20226 relating to lien amounts arising from 
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the Medicaid program and asserted against personal injury 

claims proceeds. In response to the petition, the proposal would 

add regulatory text to detail the process for requesting 

information about a Medicaid lien. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs: DMAS states that all of the 

proposed changes to the regulatory text are strictly language-

only and do not change any requirements in practice. For 

example, the first and second set of proposed changes are 

directed by CMS and pertain respectively to how the Medicaid 

state plan reflects TPL requirements in current law and to the 

introduction of rules to prevent third parties from refusing 

liability based on lack of prior authorization from themselves. 

Similarly, the third and fourth sets of proposed changes 

incorporate the statutory requirements by laying out a process 

and adding details about requesting information about a 

Medicaid lien. Although, no significant economic is expected 

from the proposed changes, they would better inform the 

readers of the regulation (particularly law firms involved in 

Medicaid claims with TPL) about the rules and also update the 

regulatory text to align with existing federal and state laws. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. In fiscal years 2023 

and 2024, there were 27,001 and 36,000 Medicaid claims 

involving a TPL, respectively. In those two years, $79.1 

million and $105.4 million in total funds (one-half state and 

one-half federal) were recovered respectively from third 

parties liable for part or all of the medical services furnished to 

Medicaid recipients. The Code of Virginia requires DPB to 

assess whether an adverse impact may result from the proposed 

regulation.7 An adverse impact is indicated if there is any 

increase in net cost or reduction in net benefit for any entity, 

even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities combined.8 

The proposed changes are language-only changes and are not 

expected to create any significant economic impact other than 

updating the text to conform to current federal and state laws 

and practice. Thus, an adverse impact is not indicated. 

Small Businesses9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities11 Affected.12 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for localities, nor do they disproportionally 

affect any locality. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact on 

employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 

significant impact on the use and value of private property nor 

on real estate development costs is expected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/eligibility/coordination-of-benefits-

third-party-liability/index.html.  

3 https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/cib082721.pdf. 

4 https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/smd23002.pdf. 

5 https://legacylis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?241+ful+CHAP0807. 

6 https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=377. 

7 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

8 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

9 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

10 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

11 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

12 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Medical Assistance Services has reviewed the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and raises no issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

In accordance with a Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services directive, in response to a petition for rulemaking, 

and pursuant to Chapter 807 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly, 

the amendments (i) allow the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to comply with the federal 

requirements related to prior authorization, to comply with 

state legislation related to liens, and to establish a clear 

process for individuals to follow with regard to Medicaid 

liens; (ii) require DMAS to apply cost-avoidance procedures 

to claims for prenatal services, including labor, delivery, 

and postpartum care services; (iii) require DMAS to make 

payments without regard to potential third-party liability for 

pediatric preventive services, unless the state has made a 

https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/eligibility/coordination-of-benefits-third-party-liability/index.html
https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/eligibility/coordination-of-benefits-third-party-liability/index.html
https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/cib082721.pdf
https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/smd23002.pdf
https://legacylis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?241+ful+CHAP0807
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=377
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determination related to cost-effectiveness and access to 

care that warrants cost avoidance for up to 90 days; and (iv) 

provide DMAS with flexibility to make payments without 

regard to potential third-party liability for up to 100 days 

for claims related to child support enforcement 

beneficiaries. 

12VAC30-10-610. Third party Third-party liability. 

A. The Medicaid agency meets all requirements of: 

1. 42 CFR 433.138 and 433.139; 

2. 42 CFR 433.145 through 433.148; 

3. 42 CFR 433.151 through 433.154; and 

4. Sections Section 1902(a)(25)(H) and (I) (a)(25)(I) of the 

Social Security Act. 

B. 12VAC30-20-190, governing the identification of liable 

resources with respect to third party third-party liability: 

1. Specifies the frequency with which the data exchanges 

required in § 42 CFR 433.138(d)(1), (d)(3), and (d)(4) and 

the diagnosis and trauma code edits required in § 42 CFR 

433.138(e) are conducted; 

2. Describes the methods the agency uses for meeting the 

follow-up requirements contained in §§ 42 CFR 

433.138(g)(1)(i) and (g)(2)(i); 

3. Describes the methods the agency uses for following up 

on information obtained through the State state motor 

vehicle accident report file data exchange required under 

§ 42 CFR 433.138(d)(4)(ii) and specifies the time frames 

timeframes for incorporation into the eligibility case file and 

into its third party data base third-party database and third 

party third-party recovery unit of all information obtained 

through the follow-up that identifies legally liable third party 

third-party resources; and 

4. Describes the methods the agency uses for following up 

on paid claims identified under § 433.13(a) 42 CFR 

433.138(a) (methods include a procedure for periodically 

identifying those trauma codes that yield the highest third 

party third-party collections and giving priority to following 

up on those codes) and specifies the time frames timeframes 

for incorporation into the eligibility case file and into its 

third party data base third-party database and third party 

third-party recovery unit of all information obtained through 

the follow-up that identifies legally liable third party third-

party resources. 

C. Providers are not required to bill liable third parties when 

services covered under the plan are furnished to an individual 

on whose behalf child support enforcement is being carried out 

by the State state Title IV-D agency. 

D. 12VAC30-20-200, governing the payment of claims with 

respect to third party third-party liability, specifies: 

1. The method used in determining a provider's compliance 

with the third party third-party billing requirements at 

§ 433.139(b) (3) (ii) (C) 42 CFR 433.139(b)(3)(ii)(C). 

2. The threshold amount or other guideline used in 

determining whether to seek recovery or reimbursement 

from a liable third party, or the process by which the agency 

determines that seeking recovery of reimbursement would 

not be cost effective cost-effective. 

3. The dollar amount or time period the State state uses to 

accumulate billings from a particular liable third party in 

making the decision to seek recovery of reimbursement. 

E. The Medicaid agency ensures that the state has in effect 

the laws that require third parties to comply with the 

provisions, including those that require third parties to provide 

the state with coverage, eligibility, and claims data under 

§ 1902(a)(25) of the Social Security Act, and specifies the 

compliance with § 1902(a)(25)(E) and (a)(25)(F) of the Social 

Security Act. 

F. The Medicaid agency ensures that laws are in effect that 

bar liable third-party payers from refusing payment for an item 

or service solely on the basis that such item or service did not 

receive prior authorization under the third-party payer's rules. 

These laws comply with the provisions of § 202 of the 

Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2022. 

G. The Medicaid agency ensures that the provider furnishing 

a service for which a third party is liable follows the restrictions 

specified in 42 CFR 447.20. 

F. H. The Medicaid agency has written cooperative 

agreements for the enforcement of rights to and collection of 

third party third-party benefits assigned to the State state as a 

condition of eligibility for remedial assistance with the State 

state Title IV-D agency. The requirements of 42 CFR 

433.152(b) are met. 

G. I. The Medicaid agency assures ensures that the State state 

has in effect the laws relating to medical child support under 

§ 1908 of the Social Security Act. 

H. J. The Medicaid agency specifies the guidelines used in 

determining the cost effectiveness cost-effectiveness of an 

employer-based group health plan; the State state provides 

methods for determining cost effectiveness cost-effectiveness 

in 12VAC30-20-210. 

12VAC30-20-200. Requirements for third party liability; 

payment of claims. 

Requirements for third-party liability payment of claims 

include the following: 

1. Probable liability is established at the time the claim is 

filed. 

a. When the Title XIX agency has established the probable 

existence of third party third-party liability at the time the 

claim is filed, the agency rejects the claim and returns it to 
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the provider for a determination of the amount of liability. 

The establishment of third party third-party liability takes 

place when the agency receives confirmation from the 

provider or a third party third-party resource indicating the 

extent of third party third-party liability. When the amount 

of liability is determined, the agency pays the claim to the 

extent that maximum payment allowed under the agency's 

payment schedule exceeds the amount of the third party 

third-party payment. 

b. Exhausting all available third party third-party 

resources is the responsibility of the providers. The 

Medicaid Management Information Enterprise System 

(MMIS) (MES) does not allow payments to be made by 

Virginia Medicaid unless the invoice indicates that the 

third party has either paid or denied the claim. 

c. There are certain circumstances in which cost avoidance 

may not be utilized: 

1. (1) Medical support enforcement. In the case of any 

service covered under Medicaid provided to an individual 

on whose behalf child support enforcement is being 

carried out by the IV-D agency, Medicaid makes payment 

for such service in accordance with the usual payments 

schedule. These payments are made without regard to any 

third party third-party liability, if such third party third-

party liability is derived, through insurance or otherwise, 

from the parent whose obligation to pay support is being 

enforced by the IV-D agency. Medicaid shall make these 

payments providing, provided that they the payments have 

not been made by such third party within 30 100 days after 

such service is furnished. 

Providers shall not be required to bill the third party in this 

situation. When the provider does bill bills Medicaid, he 

the provider must certify either: 

(a) That he the provider has not billed the third party 

documented on the claim due to medical support 

enforcement,; or 

(b) That he the provider has billed the third party 

documented on the claim but that he has not received 

payment or denial for the service from the third party 

within 30 100 days after the service was furnished 

provider of such services initially submitted a claim. In 

this case, 30 up to 100 days must elapse from the date of 

service to after the date of provider certification of such 

services initially submits a claim. 

2. Prenatal Care. When the claim is for prenatal, labor and 

delivery, or postpartum care that is covered under the State 

Plan, the Commonwealth makes payment for such 

services in accordance with the usual payment schedule 

without regard to the liability of a third party for payment 

for such services. 

3. (2) Preventive Pediatric Care pediatric care. When the 

claim is for preventive pediatric care, including services 

covered under the Early and Periodic Screening, 

Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) services that are 

covered under the State Plan benefit, the Commonwealth 

makes payment for such services in accordance with the 

usual payment schedule without regard to the liability of a 

third party for payment for such services, unless the state 

has made a determination related to cost-effectiveness and 

access to care that warrants cost avoidance for up to 90 

days. 

4. In order to accomplish this pay and chase activity, in 

accordance with 42 CFR 433.139, (once the claims have 

been processed for payment), a report is generated 

advising the third party unit so that recovery of funds can 

be made. 

2. Virginia complies with the following requirements: 

a. The requirement for states to apply cost-avoidance 

procedures to claims for prenatal services, including labor, 

delivery, and postpartum care services, in accordance with 

the provisions of § 1902(a)(25)(E) of the Social Security 

Act; 

b. The requirement for states to make payments without 

regard to potential third-party liability for pediatric 

preventive services, unless the state has made a 

determination related to cost-effectiveness and access to 

care that warrants cost avoidance for up to 90 days, in 

accordance with the provisions of § 1902(a)(25)(E) of the 

Social Security Act; and 

c. The requirement for state flexibility to make payments 

without regard to potential third-party liability for up to 

100 days for claims related to child support enforcement 

beneficiaries, in accordance with the provisions of 

§ 1902(a)(25)(F) of the Social Security Act. 

3. Probable liability is not established or benefits are not 

available at the time claim is filed. If the probable existence 

of third party third-party liability cannot be established or 

third party third-party benefits are not available to pay the 

recipient's medical expenses at the time the claim is filed, the 

agency pays the full amount allowed under the agency's 

payment schedule. 

3. 4. Recovery of reimbursement. 

a. When the Title XIX agency learns of the existence of a 

liable third party after a claim is paid, or benefits become 

available from a third party after a claim is paid, the Title 

XIX agency seeks recovery of reimbursement within 60 

days after the end of the month it learns of the existence of 

the liable third party or benefits become available. 

b. Reimbursement is sought by the Title XIX agency 

unless the agency determines that recovery will not be cost 

effective cost-effective. The agency uses the threshold 

amount of $50 as a guideline in its attempts to recover 

from liable third parties in casualty cases. This $50 

guideline is used in consideration with other factors (i.e., 

expense and difficulty of recovery) in deciding whether to 
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pursue recoveries in the range of smaller dollar 

expenditures (less than $50). The threshold amount in the 

determination for the recovery of funds by the health 

insurance unit is $40. However, the threshold amount may 

be waived when the agency deems it to be economically 

and administratively feasible to collect less than the stated 

amounts. The threshold amounts are based on 

effectiveness with normal effort for the recovery of funds. 

Should it be determined that a recovery effort would be 

cost effective cost-effective, then attempts are made for 

recovery of amounts below the threshold levels. 

4. Code of Virginia § 8.01-66.9. Lien in favor of 

Commonwealth and state institutions or Department of 

Rehabilitative Services on claim for personal injuries. The 

State Agency 5. Prior authorizations. 

a. The DMAS payment of a claim for a medical item or 

service shall be the equivalent of the medical assistance 

recipient having obtained a prior authorization for the item 

or service from the third party, other than Medicare plans. 

b. No third-party payer shall deny a claim that is submitted 

by DMAS solely on the basis of the medical assistance 

recipient's failure to obtain a prior authorization under the 

third-party payer's rules for the medical item or service. 

c. A third-party payer shall respond to an inquiry by 

DMAS regarding a claim for payment of a medical item 

or service that was submitted to the third party not later 

than three years after the date of the provision of such 

medical item or service; the third-party payer must 

respond within 60 days of receiving the inquiry. 

6. DMAS meets all the requirements of this section §§ 8.01-

66.9 and 8.01-66.9:2 of the Code of Virginia with respect to 

liens on claims for personal injury. 

7. To obtain information about a Medicaid member's 

enrollment status or an itemization of lien against a personal 

injury claim, the member or the member's authorized 

representative shall furnish DMAS or the DMAS designated 

representative with relevant information that DMAS or the 

DMAS designated representative shall request. The member 

or the member's authorized representative shall use the 

DMAS public-facing portal designed for electronic data 

interchange to submit any requested information to DMAS 

or the DMAS designated representative. The following 

information is required to be furnished to DMAS or the 

DMAS designated representative: 

a. A letter of representation signed by the Medicaid 

member or the member's authorized representative and 

dated within the last 12 months if the request is made by a 

representative. 

b. A Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 

of 1996 (HIPAA) complaint release form signed by the 

member and dated within the last 12 months that 

authorizes both DMAS and the Office of the Attorney 

General to disclose medical information to the member or 

the member's authorized representative and to any other 

third parties or contractors that are or will be involved with 

the lien. 

c. The full legal name of the Medicaid member. 

d. The full social security number of the Medicaid 

member. 

e. A copy of the front and back of the Medicaid member's 

health insurance card. 

f. A description of the member's injuries sustained as a 

result of the accident. 

g. An itemized statement of the Medicaid member's 

medical damages, including providers and dates of 

service, along with copies of medical bills. 

h. The date and location of the accident, the identities of 

all parties involved in the accident, and a copy of the 

police report, if available. 

i. The full name, mailing address, telephone number, and 

email address of the authorized representative named in 

the HIPAA release to whom DMAS should direct 

communications about the Medicaid lien. 

j. If any of the required information changes after the date 

the information is submitted to DMAS, the member or the 

member's authorized representative shall notify DMAS of 

the change as soon as possible. 

8. To make a request for a reduction of any portion of a 

Medicaid lien, the member or the member's authorized 

representative shall furnish DMAS or the DMAS designated 

representative with relevant information that DMAS or the 

DMAS designated representative shall request. The member 

or the member's authorized representative shall use the 

DMAS public-facing portal designed for electronic data 

interchange to submit any requested information to DMAS 

or the DMAS designated representative. The following 

information is required to be furnished to DMAS or the 

DMAS designated representative: 

a. The member's prognosis and anticipated future 

treatment expenses. 

b. If the member is permanently disabled as a result of the 

accident, the disability rating. 

c. The member's current income, financial resources, and 

employment status. 

d. The amount of all other liens or claims against the 

members personal injury claim. 

e. Whether any liability insurance policies are available 

and, if so, the amount paid by each and the policyholder's 

name for each. 

f. Whether any settlements have occurred related to the 

accident, including the amount of the settlement, the 

terms, and a copy of the signed settlement agreement.  
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g. Whether any lawsuits have been filed related to the 

accident, the jurisdiction and case number, a copy of the 

complaint, and any other filings. 

h. The amount of all medical reimbursement payments 

coverage related to the accident, such as Medical 

Payments Insurance, also known as "medpay." 

i. An itemized statement of all attorney fees and costs and 

any voluntary reductions. 

j. A written explanation of why the request is being made, 

along with details about the compromise or waiver that is 

being requested and any other facts or documentation that 

are being relied upon to support the request. 

k. If any of the required information changes after the date 

the information is submitted to DMAS, the member or the 

member's authorized representative shall notify DMAS of 

the change as soon as possible. 

9. To make a request to remove charges contained in the 

DMAS itemization of lien that are believed to be unrelated 

to the personal injury claim of the member, the member or 

the member's authorized representative shall furnish DMAS 

or the DMAS designated representative with relevant 

information that DMAS or the DMAS designated 

representative shall request. The member or the member's 

authorized representative shall use the DMAS public-facing 

portal designed for electronic data interchange to submit any 

requested information to DMAS or the DMAS designated 

representative. The following information is required to be 

furnished to DMAS or the DMAS designated representative: 

a. A written statement detailing the specific charges that 

the member or the member's authorized representative 

believes are unrelated to the personal injury claim. 

b. Any and all documentation from the member or the 

member's authorized representative to any third party 

detailing claimed medical damages, itemized medical 

bills, or other related information, including demand 

packages, list of medical specials, and correspondence 

concerning medical damages. 

c. Any and all documentation showing where the member 

or the member's authorized representative informed any 

third party that certain charges were unrelated. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7436; Filed February 27, 2025, 7:58 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC15-70. Local Government Union 

Requirements and Employee Protections (adding 

16VAC15-70-10, 16VAC15-70-20, 16VAC15-70-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-2.1 and 40.1-6 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

April 18, 2025 - 10 a.m. - Tuckahoe Public Library, 1901 

Starling Drive, Henrico, VA 23229. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 23, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Cristin Bernhardt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Hearing Legal Services Office, Department of Labor and 

Industry, 6606 West Broad Street, Suite 500, Richmond, VA 

23230, telephone (804) 786-2392, or email 

cristin.bernhardt@doli.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 40.1-2.1 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Commissioner of Labor and Industry (commissioner) to 

establish and maintain an effective and comprehensive 

occupational safety and health program applicable to 

employees of the Commonwealth, its agencies, institutions, 

political subdivisions, or any public body. Section 40.1-6 of 

the Code of Virginia authorizes the commissioner to make such 

rules and regulations necessary for the enforcement of Title 

40.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The proposed regulation is essential to the public 

health, safety, and welfare because it ensures equal 

opportunity, application, and protection of the law for local 

government employers and employees in union elections. 

Substance: The proposed regulation (i) defines necessary 

terms, (ii) extends certain statutory labor protections to local 

government public employers, and (iii) allows the 

commissioner to request prosecution by the appropriate 

attorney for the Commonwealth for all violations of law 

relating to local government union requirements and employee 

protections before any court of competent jurisdiction. 

Issues: The advantage of the proposed regulation to the public 

and the Commonwealth is that the regulation clarifies that the 

identified statutory requirements that currently apply to any 

private sector union elections apply to union elections for local 

government employees, thereby providing equal opportunity, 

application, and protection of the law for local government 

employers and employees. There are no disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Labor and Industry (DOLI) proposes to 

promulgate a new regulation concerning local government 

entities in the Commonwealth and collective bargaining. 

mailto:cristin.bernhardt@doli.virginia.gov
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Background. Identical Chapters 1209 and 1276 of the 2020 

Acts of Assembly2 amended § 40.1-57.2 of the Code of 

Virginia to permit counties, cities, and towns (local 

government public employers) to adopt local ordinances 

authorizing them to (i) recognize any labor union or other 

employee association as a bargaining agent of any public 

officers or employees, except for Constitutional officers and 

their employees, and including public school employees and 

(ii) collectively bargain or enter into any collective bargaining 

contract with any such union or association or its agents with 

respect to any matter relating to them or their employment. 

Further, the legislation states that for any governing body of a 

county, city, or town that has not adopted an ordinance or 

resolution providing for collective bargaining, such governing 

body is required, within 120 days of receiving certification 

from a majority of public employees in a unit considered by 

such employees to be appropriate for the purposes of collective 

bargaining, to take a vote to adopt or not adopt an ordinance or 

resolution to provide for collective bargaining by such public 

employees and any other public employees deemed 

appropriate by the governing body. The legislation also 

provides that the prohibition against striking for public 

employees applies, irrespective of any such local ordinance. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs: In addition § 40.1-2.1 of the 

Code of Virginia states that the provisions within Title 40.1 

and the regulations issued pursuant to the authority of that 

chapter shall not apply to the Commonwealth or any of its 

agencies, institutions, or political subdivisions, or any public 

body, unless, and to the extent that, coverage is extended by 

specific regulation of the commissioner or the board. Thus, 

according to DOLI, the following provisions of Title 40.1 do 

not apply to local government employers until the proposed 

16VAC15-70 Local Government Union Requirements and 

Employee Protections becomes effective:3 § 40.1-6 2 of the 

Code of Virginia, § 40.1-7 of the Code of Virginia, § 40.1-29 

C, E, F, G, and H of the Code of Virginia, and § 40.1-49.4 F 2 

of the Code of Virginia. For example, the proposed regulation 

would apply § 40.1-29 C of the Code of Virginia to local 

government public employers and thereby prohibit an 

employer from withholding union dues from an employee's 

pay without the written and signed authorization of the 

employee, as is already the case for private sector employees. 

Several localities have initiated collective bargaining,4 but no 

information is available on the provisions or mechanisms used 

in those agreements.5 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

regulation potentially affects local governments in the 

Commonwealth and their employees. The Code of Virginia 

requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact may result 

from the proposed regulation.6 An adverse impact is indicated 

if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in net benefit for 

any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined.7 By applying existing statutory requirements to 

local government public employers, the proposed regulation 

would affect net costs or net benefits to the degree that 

collective bargaining agreements do not incorporate the 

statutory requirements. However, such information is not 

currently available. Thus, an adverse impact is not indicated. 

Small Businesses8 Affected.9 The proposed regulation does not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities10 Affected.11 Localities where both the local 

government and a majority of the public employees wish to 

have collective bargaining would be particularly affected. As 

choosing to have collective bargaining would not be required 

by this regulation, no substantive costs would be imposed on 

local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

does not appear to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

regulation does not substantively affect the use and value of 

private property or real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See https://legacylis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP1209.  

3 Section 40.1-54.3 of the Code of Virginia, right to vote by secret ballot on 

labor organization representation, already applies to local governments per the 

Office of the Attorney General. Section 40.1-62 of the Code of Virginia, 

employer not to require payment of union dues, etc.; § 40.1-66 of the Code of 

Virginia, conduct causing violation of article illegal; peaceful solicitation to 

join union, § 40.1-67 of the Code of Virginia, injunctive relief against 

violation; recovery of damages; and § 40.1-69 of the Code of Virginia, 

violation a misdemeanor, already apply to local government by virtue of 

§ 40.1-58.1 of the Code of Virginia, application of article to public employers 

and employees. 

4 See https://www.nea.org/nea-today/all-news-articles/pay-planning-time-

more-what-collective-bargaining-means-virginia. 

5 Source: DOLI. 

6 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

7 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

8 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

9 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

https://legacylis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP1209
https://www.nea.org/nea-today/all-news-articles/pay-planning-time-more-what-collective-bargaining-means-virginia
https://www.nea.org/nea-today/all-news-articles/pay-planning-time-more-what-collective-bargaining-means-virginia
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include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

10 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

11 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Labor and Industry concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation (i) defines necessary terms, (ii) 

extends certain statutory labor protections to local 

government public employers and employees, and (iii) 

allows the Commissioner of Labor and Industry to request 

prosecution by the appropriate attorney for the 

Commonwealth for all violations of law relating to local 

government union requirements and employee protections 

before any court of competent jurisdiction. 

Chapter 70 

Local Government Union Requirements and Employee 

Protections 

16VAC15-70-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Commissioner" means the same as that term is defined in 

§ 40.1-2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Employee" means the same as that term is defined in § 40.1-

2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Labor organization" means the same as that term is defined 

in § 40.1-54.3 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"Local government public employer" means any county, city, 

town, or governing body of a locality, including any local 

school board. 

"Secret ballot" means the expression by ballot, voting 

machine, or otherwise, but in no event by proxy, of a choice 

with respect to any election or vote taken upon any matter, 

which is cast in such a manner that the person expressing such 

choice cannot be identified with the choice expressed. 

16VAC15-70-20. Applicability of statute to local 

government public employers.  

A. Pursuant to § 40.1-2.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

commissioner extends coverage of the following provisions to 

local government public employers: 

1. Subdivision 2 of § 40.1-6 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Section 40.1-7 of the Code of Virginia; 

3. Section 40.1-49.4 F 2 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Section 40.1-54.3 of the Code of Virginia; 

5. Section 40.1-62 of the Code of Virginia; 

6. Section 40.1-66 of the Code of Virginia; 

7. Section 40.1-67 of the Code of Virginia; and 

8. Section 40.1-69 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Pursuant to § 40.1-29 C of the Code of Virginia, to the 

extent that an alleged violative conduct concerns improper 

withholding of any dues, fees, or other charges of any kind to 

any labor union or labor organization, no local government 

public employer shall withhold any part of the wages or salaries 

of any employee except for payroll, wage, or withholding taxes or 

in accordance with law without the written and signed 

authorization of the employee. 

C. To the extent that alleged violative conduct concerns improper 

withholding of any dues, fees, or other charges of any kind to any 

labor union or labor organization, § 40.1-29 E through H of the 

Code of Virginia shall apply to local government public 

employers. 

16VAC15-70-30. Prosecution of violations.  

The commissioner may request prosecution by the appropriate 

attorney for the Commonwealth of all violations of law relating to 

local government union requirements and employee protections 

before any court of competent jurisdiction. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8060; Filed February 28, 2025, 8:31 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC15-20. Virginia Asbestos 

Licensing Regulations (repealing 18VAC15-20-10 through 

18VAC15-20-880). 

18VAC15-21. Asbestos Licensing Regulations (adding 

18VAC15-21-10 through 18VAC15-21-600). 
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Statutory Authority: § 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

April 10, 2025 - 2 p.m. - 9960 Mayland Drive, Second 

Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, VA 23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 23, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Cameron Parris, Regulatory Operations 

Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-9183, FAX (866) 350-5354, or 

email cameron.parris@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors to 

promulgate regulations necessary to ensure continued 

competency and prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 

practitioners and to effectively administer the regulatory 

system. Section 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia allows the 

board to promulgate regulations for the licensing of home 

inspectors regarding (i) professional qualifications of home 

inspector applicants, (ii) requirements necessary for passing 

home inspector examinations, (iii) proper conduct of 

examinations, (iv) proper conduct of the home inspectors 

licensed by the board, and (v) proper discharge of the board's 

duties. 

Purpose: The board has determined that repeal and 

replacement of the regulation is necessary to ensure that the 

regulation (i) is organized, clear, and understandable to 

regulants and the public; (ii) complements current Virginia law 

and meets applicable federal requirements; and (iii) provides 

minimal burdens on regulants while still protecting the public. 

The board has been charged with administering the licensure 

program for those who engage in asbestos remediation or 

abatement and approving accredited asbestos training 

programs. By establishing the regulation in a clear and 

organized manner, the board is better able to ensure the 

regulation is understandable and presented in a way that aligns 

with Virginia law, federal requirements, and agency policy. 

Holding licensees to regulatory standards also provides for the 

continued protection of the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public. The goal of repealing and replacing the regulation is to 

ensure that the regulation is achieving the intended purposes 

and allowing properly qualified individuals to engage in the 

profession while reducing or mitigating unnecessary 

regulatory burdens placed on applicants and regulants, all 

while protecting public welfare. 

Substance: This action repeals the current regulation 

(18VAC15-20) and replaces it with a new chapter (18VAC15-

21). The new chapter ensures that the regulation is well 

organized and understandable and reduces unnecessary 

regulatory burdens while remaining consistent with the Code 

of Virginia and applicable federal regulations. Additionally, 

several new sections are added to reorganize and clarify 

existing provisions. 

The proposed amendments: 

1. Incorporate definitions from § 54.1-500 of the Code of 

Virginia; add terms that are used within the regulation, but that 

are not currently defined; amend existing definitions for 

clarity; and remove definitions for terms that are not used 

within the regulation or that are incorporated by reference. 

2. Adjust the monetary amount constituting financial interest 

from $1,000 to $2,000. 

3. Create new sections for each specific individual asbestos 

license type. 

4. Create new sections to enumerate provisions specific to (i) 

acceptable degree programs, (ii) experience used to qualify for 

licensure, (iii) individuals certified or licensed in other 

jurisdictions, and (iv) qualifications for asbestos contractor and 

asbestos analytical laboratory licenses. 

5. Revise application procedures to (i) require that applications 

be completed in accordance with instruction contained in the 

regulation; (ii) require that an applicant immediately report any 

changes to information supplied with the application; and (iii) 

provide that applications are not considered completed until all 

required documents are received by the board. 

6. Revise criminal history disclosure requirements for initial 

licensure of individuals to (i) reduce the "look back" period for 

most reportable misdemeanor offenses and (ii) expand the 

scope of reportable misdemeanor convictions to include all 

misdemeanor convictions other than marijuana convictions. 

7. Revise prior disciplinary history disclosure requirements for 

initial licensure of individuals to require disclosure of any 

disciplinary action taken against a professional or occupational 

license issued to the applicant. 

8. Revise education and experience qualifications for the 

following individual asbestos licenses: asbestos supervisor 

license, asbestos inspector license, asbestos management 

planner license, asbestos project designer license, and asbestos 

project monitor license. 

9. Revise qualifications for (i) asbestos supervisor licenses to 

add minimum education and experience qualifications; (ii) 

asbestos inspector, management planner, and project designer 

licenses to reduce experience qualifications; and (iii) asbestos 

project monitor licenses to add a minimum education 

qualification and reduce overall experience qualifications. 

10. Add the criteria for acceptable degree programs and 

incorporate existing board guidance regarding acceptable 

degree programs for individuals to qualify for asbestos 

inspector, management planner, and project designer licenses. 

11. Revise initial licensure of management planner licenses to 

clearly specify that management planners must complete both 

asbestos management planner training and asbestos inspector 

training to qualify for initial licensure. 

12. Add the criteria for acceptable experience to qualify for 

licensure. 

mailto:@cameron.parris@dpor.virginia.gov
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13. Revise the requirements for licensure as an asbestos 

contractor to tie qualifications for an asbestos contractor 

license to the requirements and qualifications for a contractor 

license issued by the Board for Contractors. Under this change, 

a contractor that meets the requirements of the Board for 

Contractors for asbestos contracting would be deemed 

qualified for an asbestos contractor license from the board and 

would be issued a license for a term that coincides with the 

term of license issued by the Board for Contractors. This 

change will also remove the requirements for an asbestos 

contractor to pay fees to the board for obtaining and renewing 

a license. 

14. Revise the requirements for licensure as an asbestos 

analytical laboratory to (i) remove unnecessary provisions that 

impose requirements specific to an applicant firm's form of 

organization; (ii) reduce the "look back" period for most 

reportable misdemeanor offenses; (iii) expand the scope of 

reportable misdemeanor convictions to include all 

misdemeanor convictions other than marijuana convictions; 

and (iv) require disclosure of any disciplinary action taken 

against a professional or occupational license issued to the 

applicant and the applicant's principals. 

15. Remove obsolete language related to some temporarily 

reduced renewal fees and late renewal fees. 

16. Revise the expiration and renewal of asbestos contractor 

licenses to (i) tie the expiration date of the license to the 

expiration date of the corresponding contractor license issued 

by the Board for Contractors and (ii) require documentation 

that the license issued by the Board for Contractors to the 

contractor is current and valid in order for an asbestos 

contractor license to be renewed. 

17. Revise the renewal of asbestos analytical laboratory 

licenses to require that a laboratory submit documentation that 

the laboratory continues to meet the requirements for the type 

of laboratory analysis it is licensed to perform. 

18. Revise the renewal of management planner licenses to 

clearly specify that management planners must complete both 

management planner refresher training and asbestos inspector 

refresher training to renew licensure. 

19. Revise the renewal of training program approvals to 

remove unnecessary requirements for submission of 

documentation. 

20. Revise the renewal of asbestos worker licenses to allow for 

the acceptance of asbestos supervisor refresher training to meet 

renewal requirements for a worker license. 

21. Revise the renewal of licenses and training program 

approvals to (i) allow for email or electronic delivery of 

renewal notices to regulants and (ii) remove the requirement 

that regulants submit a copy of the renewal notice to the board. 

22. Revise application procedures to outline the documentation 

and information an applicant for an accredited asbestos 

training program must provide to the board, including 

information on the program training manager and principal 

instructor. 

23. Incorporate current board guidance exempting out-of-state 

asbestos courses that are currently approved in an Asbestos 

Model Accreditation Plan (MAP) state from an onsite audit for 

application approval. 

24. Remove (i) the requirement that state-of-the-art work 

practices be included as a review topic in refresher training for 

asbestos workers and asbestos supervisors; (ii) the requirement 

that budgeting and cost estimation be included as a topic in 

refresher training for asbestos project designers; and (iii) the 

suggested use of training exercises for training programs. 

25. Revise prohibited acts and reorganize prohibited acts to 

group similar types of offenses together. Several prohibited 

acts are revised, including (i) amending the prohibited act 

regarding obtaining a license or training program approval by 

fraudulent representation to (a) apply to attempting to obtain a 

license or training program approval by false or fraudulent 

representation and (b) include maintaining, renewing, or 

reinstating a license by false or fraudulent representation; (ii) 

amending a prohibited act that proscribes negligence, 

misconduct, and incompetence in the practice of the 

profession, and specifies actions that would constitute a 

violation; (iii) adding a new prohibited act that proscribes 

improper, fraudulent, and dishonest conduct and specifies 

actions that would constitute a violation; and (iv) revising a 

prohibited act addressing refusal to allow state or federal 

representatives access to an abatement site, analytical 

laboratory, or training facility for purpose of compliance 

inspections or audits. 

26. Remove sections in the current chapter relating to 

responsibility to the public, public statements, and solicitation 

of work. Certain provisions within these sections are 

incorporated into language contained under the prohibited acts. 

27. Revise provisions regarding conflicts of interest to provide 

that the requirements do not apply to a contractor-

subcontractor relationship between an asbestos contractor and 

an asbestos project monitor. 

28. Increase from 10 to 30 days the timeframe for an asbestos 

analytical laboratory to report changes of status, such as 

changes in (i) laboratory location, (ii) responsible person, and 

(iii) accreditation or proficiency rating. 

29. Revise responses to complaints and production of records 

to (i) provide required timeframes for responses to inquiries 

and production of requested records and (ii) prohibit providing 

false, misleading, or incomplete responses to inquiries. 

30. Streamline standards for individuals to remove 

requirements that are unnecessary or duplicative of federal 

regulation. These include requirements for asbestos 

inspections and asbestos management plans. 

31. Revise standards for asbestos project designs to clarify that 

a project design include air sampling procedures. 
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32. Revise provisions for asbestos project monitoring to (i) 

clarify when a project monitor is required on a project and (ii) 

remove an unnecessary signature requirement for an air sample 

report. 

33. Revise onsite analysis by project monitors to permit a 

project monitor to be affiliated, rather than employed, by a 

laboratory. 

34. Remove standards for asbestos contractors and asbestos 

training programs that are advisory in nature. 

35. Revise standards for asbestos analytical laboratories to 

incorporate by reference certain documents that prescribe 

mandatory procedures for performing analysis of asbestos-

containing material or suspected asbestos-containing material. 

36. Allow for the electronic delivery of asbestos refresher 

training courses. 

37. Remove mandates on a minimum student-to-instructor 

ratio and a limit on the number of students for hands-on 

exercises. 

38. Remove mandates that training providers keep a list of 

equipment used for training. 

39. Revise reporting of changes to an approved training 

program to provide that all changes to a program be reported 

to the board prior to implementation of the change. 

40. Revise notification of training dates and times and 

reporting of program participant lists to streamline these 

requirements. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public and the regulated 

community are that the proposed amendments to the regulation 

will (i) provide needed updating and clarification by 

reorganizing the regulation; (ii) reduce regulatory burdens 

while still protecting the public health, safety, and welfare; (iii) 

remove requirements in the regulation that are not necessary to 

protect the public welfare; and (iv) enhance standards of 

conduct and practice that will better serve to protect members 

of the public. There are no identifiable disadvantages to the 

public. It is not anticipated that the proposed changes will 

create any substantial disadvantages to the regulated 

community. The primary advantage of the proposed changes 

to the Commonwealth is that they will allow the agency to 

administer the licensure program more efficiently. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors 

(board) proposes to revise and reorganize asbestos licensing by 

repealing and replacing the regulation. As part of this, the 

board would (i) reduce fees for asbestos contracting firms, (ii) 

require a high school diploma or equivalent requirement as a 

minimum education qualification for asbestos supervisor and 

asbestos project monitor applicants and require at least three 

months of experience for asbestos supervisor applicants, (iii) 

reduce experience requirements by 50% for asbestos inspector, 

management planner, project designer, and project monitor 

asbestos licenses, (iv) reduce the look back period for 

disclosure of criminal convictions and expand the scope of 

such convictions, (v) make reporting requirements slightly less 

stringent for individual licensees and laboratories and more 

stringent for training providers, (vi) revise the threshold value 

to deem if a financial interest exists from $1,000 to $2,000, and 

(vii) make numerous editorial and formatting changes. 

Background. This regulation establishes fees; individual 

licensure requirements for asbestos workers, supervisors, 

inspectors, management planners, project designers, and 

project monitors; firm licensure requirements for asbestos 

contractors and analytical laboratories; requirements for 

maintaining and renewing licenses; requirements for approval 

of accredited asbestos training programs; and the standards of 

practice and conduct for licensees and accredited training 

programs. Pursuant to a general review of the regulation, the 

board proposes this comprehensive repeal-and-replace action 

with numerous changes. The substantive changes between the 

current and the proposed regulation are discussed below under 

five categories. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Fee reductions for asbestos 

contracting firms: Currently, in order to perform asbestos 

work, a firm must have two licenses: one from the Board of 

Contractors with an asbestos specialty, and a separate asbestos 

contracting license from this board. The board proposes to 

align its requirements with the requirements of the Board for 

Contractors, so that the qualifications and renewal 

requirements are the same for each license. As a result, 

applicants and licensed firms for asbestos contracting who 

already have a license from the Board for Contractors with an 

asbestos specialty would be issued an asbestos contractor 

license from the board that covers the same time period. As a 

result, applicants and licensed firms will no longer have to pay 

an application, renewal, or late renewal fee to the board. This 

change is expected to reduce regulatory compliance costs for 

firms in terms of initial application, renewal, and late renewal 

fees, which are $110, $70, and $90, respectively. It is estimated 

that approximately 35 firms per year would no longer have to 

pay the initial application fee totaling $3,850/year ($110 x 35 

applications). Similarly, approximately 226 firms would no 

longer have to pay the renewal fee totaling $15,820/year ($70 

x 226 renewals). While this change would benefit asbestos 

contracting firms, it would also reduce board revenues by 

$19,670/year ($3,850 +$15,820). Additionally, asbestos 

contracting applications may be processed two to three 

business days faster as they no longer contain fees which must 

be processed through the finance section of the agency. 

Administrative costs savings to the regulated firms and the 
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board can also be expected as they would expend less time and 

effort completing and processing paperwork for initial 

applications and renewals. The Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation (DPOR) states that the current 

licensing software allows for staff to check to see if a firm has 

a license from the Board for Contractors. Procedurally, staff 

can check the licensing records for the Board for Contractors 

to determine if a firm has a contractor license with the correct 

specialty service. Moreover, a new licensing software is in 

development that is anticipated to facilitate this process by 

automatically cross-checking license records to ensure the 

qualification is met. 

Experience requirements: The board proposes several changes 

to reduce experience requirements for asbestos inspector, 

management planner, project designer, and project monitor 

asbestos licenses as follows: For asbestos inspector, 

management planner, and project designer, from 24 months to 

12 months for an individual with high school diploma or 

equivalent, from 12 months to six months for an individual 

with an associate degree, from six months to three months for 

an individual with a master's or bachelor's degree.  

For asbestos project monitor: From 160 hours to 80 hours. 

However, the proposal would also require that 40 of the 

required 80 hours be from the federal Occupational Safety and 

Health Administration Class I asbestos activities and the other 

40 hours be from Class II asbestos activities, marginally 

increasing the stringency of the requirement for project 

monitors. The proposed reductions to experience requirements 

for asbestos inspector, management planner, project designer, 

and project monitor represent a 50% reduction which would 

allow affected individuals to enter the profession sooner and 

potentially earn higher wages. As a result, the board may see 

an increase in applicants. However, the board is unable to 

predict the potential increase in applications. 

Education requirements: The board proposes to introduce a 

high school diploma or equivalent requirement as a minimum 

education qualification for asbestos supervisor and asbestos 

project monitor applicants. Under the proposal, supervisor or 

project monitor applicants that do not have a high school 

diploma or equivalent would have to incur time and other costs 

associated with meeting this requirement or forgo potentially 

higher wages that would result from being licensed. For 

example, DPOR estimates that the cost of a General 

Educational Development (GED) test is $144 and that 

approximately 29 supervisor and monitor applicants per year 

would be affected by this change. Thus, the aggregate cost of 

meeting this requirement for all affected regulants would be 

approximately $4,176 in (29 individuals x $144 cost of GED) 

to meet the proposed requirement by obtaining a GED for 

licensure. However, this example presumes that all of the 

applicants readily possess the knowledge to pass a GED test. 

To the extent some of the applicants require preparation to pass 

the GED test, the total compliance costs would be higher. The 

additional cost for such applicants could greatly vary between 

those who needs minimal preparation (e.g., days) versus 

extensive preparation (e.g., months or years). The additional 

costs for these applicants would be in terms of lower wages 

during the preparation for the test and the forgone wages 

during the time devoted to study rather than work. Similarly, 

another proposed change would require an asbestos supervisor 

applicant to have at least three months of experience in their 

field. Thus, applicants for supervisor license lacking the 

experience requirement would likely experience a delay of up 

to three months in securing a potentially higher wage. On the 

other hand, DPOR expects enhanced protection of the public 

health, safety, and welfare as a result of the new minimum 

education requirement for asbestos supervisors and asbestos 

project monitor licenses and the new experience requirement 

for asbestos supervisor licenses. Essentially, the proposal 

would establish that an individual has the basic education 

necessary to competently perform the duties of the occupation, 

to include being able to know and understand applicable 

federal and state rules pertaining to asbestos abatement. This is 

tied to the complexity of the duties the occupation is required 

to undertake. For instance, inspector, management planner, 

and project designer occupations require at least a high school 

education. These positions provide a safeguard role to ensure 

that abatement activities are undertaken in a manner that is safe 

and complies with the applicable rules. The supervisor and 

project monitor roles have a similar safeguarding purpose. The 

supervisor must oversee response actions, maintenance 

activities that disturb asbestos-containing material, and 

responses to a major asbestos fiber release. The project monitor 

must observe abatement activities to ensure abatement work is 

completed according to specification and in compliance with 

relevant statutes and regulations. 

Criminal history disclosures: The board proposes to reduce the 

look back period for prior misdemeanor convictions that must 

be reported on a license application. Applicants would be 

required to disclose all misdemeanor convictions (other than 

marijuana convictions) that occurred within three years prior 

to application. Currently, applicants for licensure must disclose 

all misdemeanor convictions involving lying, cheating, or 

stealing in their lifetime. This change reduces the stringency of 

the current criminal history disclosure requirement and may 

reduce a potential barrier for some applicants entering the 

profession. Also, criminal history disclosure provisions would 

be revised to require applicants to disclose all misdemeanor 

convictions (other than marijuana convictions). Currently, 

applicants for licensure must disclose all misdemeanor 

convictions involving lying, cheating, or stealing in their 

lifetime. This change would broaden the types of convictions 

that must be disclosed, marginally increasing the stringency of 

the current requirement and thereby making it somewhat more 

difficult to enter this profession for some. 

Reports to the board: The proposal also contains several 

changes to the reporting requirements. One of the changes 

would increase the timeframe within which a regulant must 

report a disciplinary action taken by another jurisdiction 

against an asbestos abatement license or asbestos training 
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program accreditation from 10 days to 30 days, thereby 

allowing more time to report such changes. Likewise, the 

timeframe for an asbestos analytical laboratory to report (i) a 

change of resident responsible person; (ii) loss of accreditation 

or proficiency rating; (iii) removal of an employed analyst or 

project monitor from the Asbestos Analysts Registry; and (iv) 

change in laboratory location would be increased from 10 days 

to 30 days, also allowing more time to report such changes. A 

reporting requirement for asbestos training programs would be 

revised to require that the training provider report any change 

in the information provided to the board as part of the 

application for approval of the training program. Currently, a 

training provider must only report substantial changes to the 

training program curriculum, examination, program materials, 

principal instructors, and certificate of completion. This 

change would marginally increase the stringency of the current 

requirement by expanding the scope of reportable changes. 

Other: The proposed regulation would revise the threshold 

value of the financial interest from $1,000 to $2,000. The 

threshold is used to establish financial interest. Asbestos 

contractors are prohibited from having a financial interest in 

the asbestos analytical laboratory that it uses to perform 

asbestos sample analysis; having a financial interest in the firm 

that employs the project monitor that provides monitoring 

services for the contractor; entering into a contract to perform 

an asbestos project if the asbestos inspection or project design 

was performed by individuals who have a financial interest in 

the contractor (unless certain disclosures are provided to the 

owner of the building that is the subject of the asbestos 

abatement project.) The proposed higher threshold would 

allow such transactions between $1,000 to $2,000 to take place 

without violating the conflict-of-interest rules for asbestos 

contractors. Finally, this action is a comprehensive repeal-and-

replace action that contains many editorial and formatting 

changes. These types of changes are expected to improve the 

structure and organization of the regulatory text and improve 

clarity. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. According to DPOR, 

as of November 1, 2024, there were 167 licensed asbestos 

contractors, 56 licensed asbestos laboratories, and 16 licensed 

asbestos laboratory branch offices. Many of the firms that hold 

contractor or laboratory licenses likely fall within the meaning 

of small business. Also, there were 1,250, licensed asbestos 

workers, 1,371 licensed asbestos supervisors, 672 licensed 

asbestos inspectors, 112 licensed asbestos management 

planners, 135 licensed asbestos project designers, and 299 

licensed asbestos project monitors. These licenses are issued to 

individuals and not to businesses or entities; however, many 

individuals likely own or work for a small business. Finally, 

there are at least 31 providers of approved asbestos training 

courses. Many of these providers are likely to fall within the 

meaning of a small business. None of the regulants appears to 

be disproportionately affected compared to their peers. The 

Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse 

impact may result from the proposed regulation.2 An adverse 

impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or 

reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined.3 The proposal would 

introduce a high school diploma or equivalent requirement as 

a minimum education qualification for asbestos supervisor and 

asbestos project monitor applicants and would require an 

asbestos supervisor applicant to have at least three months of 

experience in their field; broaden the criminal history 

disclosure provisions to require applicants to disclose all 

misdemeanor convictions (other than marijuana convictions); 

and expand the scope of reporting requirement for asbestos 

training programs. Thus, an adverse impact on these affected 

entities is indicated. 

Small Businesses4 Affected.5 The expanded scope of reporting 

requirements for asbestos training programs, some of which 

may be small businesses, appears to be the only direct adverse 

impact. Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses 

Affected: There are at least 31 providers of approved asbestos 

training courses. Many of these providers are likely to fall 

within the meaning of a small business but an exact estimate is 

not available. Costs and Other Effects: The proposed 

amendments make reporting requirement for asbestos training 

programs slightly more stringent by expanding the scope of 

reportable information. Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact: There are no clear alternative methods that 

both reduce adverse impact on small businesses and meet the 

intended policy goals. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs on localities or affect them disproportionally. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Two changes (i.e., 

introducing a high school diploma or equivalent requirement 

as a minimum education qualification for asbestos supervisor 

and asbestos project monitor applicants and requiring an 

asbestos supervisor applicant to have at least three months of 

experience in their field; and broadening the criminal history 

disclosure provisions to require applicants to disclose all 

misdemeanor convictions other than marijuana convictions) 

may delay or create a barrier in obtaining a license from the 

board. However, the proposal also contains fee reductions for 

asbestos contracting firms; a reduction in experience 

requirements for several individual licensees; and a reduced 

look back period for criminal history disclosures that could 

possibly more than offset the negative impact on employment 

strictly related to asbestos work industry. However, the 

employment impact on the industry related to asbestos work 

may not translate to the net impact on total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. By reducing 

regulatory burden, the proposed fee reductions for asbestos 

contracting firms should add to their asset values moderately. 

No impact on real estate development costs is expected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 
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regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

3 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

5 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

6 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

7 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors 

concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed action repeals 18VAC15-20 and 

promulgates 18VAC15-21. The proposed new regulation 

(i) establishes the entry requirements for licensure as an 

asbestos worker, supervisor, inspector, management 

planner, project designer, project monitor, asbestos 

contractor, and analytical laboratory; (ii) requires a high 

school diploma or equivalent requirement as a minimum 

education qualification for asbestos supervisor and 

asbestos project monitor applicants and at least three 

months of experience for asbestos supervisor applicants; 

(iii) reduces fees for asbestos contracting firms; (iv) 

reduces experience requirements by 50% for asbestos 

inspector, management planner, project designer, and 

project monitor asbestos licenses; (v) reduces the look-

back period for disclosure of criminal convictions and 

expands the scope of such convictions; (vi) makes 

reporting requirements slightly less stringent for 

individual licensees and laboratories and more stringent 

for training providers; (vii) increases to $2,000 the 

threshold value to determine if a financial interest exists; 

(viii) establishes requirements for maintaining and 

renewing licenses; (ix) outlines requirements for approval 

of accredited asbestos training programs; (x) establishes 

standards of practice and conduct for licensees and 

accredited training programs; and (xi) makes numerous 

editorial and formatting changes. 

Chapter 21 

Asbestos Licensing Regulations 

Part I 

Definitions 

18VAC15-21-10. Definitions.  

A. Section 54.1-500 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases used in this 

chapter: 

"Accredited asbestos training program" 

"Asbestos" 

"Asbestos analytical laboratory license" 

"Asbestos-containing materials" or "ACM" 

"Asbestos management plan" 

"Asbestos project" or "asbestos abatement project" 

"Asbestos supervisor" 

"Board" 

"Friable" 

"Person" 

"Principal instructor" 

"Training manager" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

will have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"AAR" means the Asbestos Analysts Registry program 

offered by the AIHA Registry Programs. 

"AAT" means Asbestos Analyst Testing. 

"Accredited training program" means a profession-specific 

asbestos training program or course that is approved by the 

board and designated as either initial or refresher and is 

required under the MAP as issued under the Asbestos Hazard 

Emergency Response Act of 1986, 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart 

E; or an approved training course that has been approved by 

EPA or another state that has an EPA-approved MAP program. 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 16  Virginia Register of Regulations  March 24, 2025  

1746 

"Address of record" means the mailing address designated by 

the regulant to receive notices and correspondence from the 

board.  

"AHERA" means Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response 

Act, 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E. 

"AIHA" means American Industrial Hygiene Association. 

"Applicant" means a person who has submitted an application 

to the board, but has not been granted a license or accreditation 

by the board. 

"Application" means a completed board-prescribed form 

submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 

documentation. 

"Approval letter" means a written notice confirming the firm 

or individual applicant's licensure or accreditation of a training 

program by the board. 

"Asbestos contractor" means a person who contracts with 

another person for compensation to carry out an asbestos 

project or to perform any work on an asbestos project. 

"Asbestos inspector" means an individual who conducts an 

asbestos inspection. 

"Asbestos inspection" means an onsite investigation to 

determine the potential presence or exposure of ACM. 

"Asbestos management planner" means any individual 

preparing or updating an asbestos management plan. 

"Asbestos project design" means any work plan describing 

the construction of an asbestos abatement area, response 

action, or work practices to be utilized on an asbestos 

abatement project. 

"Asbestos project designer" means an individual who designs 

or develops a design for an asbestos abatement project. 

"Asbestos project monitor" means an individual who 

monitors or acts as a monitor of an asbestos abatement project. 

"Asbestos worker" means an individual who works on an 

asbestos abatement project. 

"ASHARA" means Asbestos School Hazard Abatement 

Reauthorization Act, 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E. 

"BAPAT" means the Bulk Asbestos Proficiency Analytical 

Testing Program of the AIHA Proficiency Analytical Testing 

Programs. 

"Board-approved training course" means a training course 

that has been approved by the board to provide training for 

individuals who act as a project monitor. 

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation. 

"Direct supervision" means exercising oversight, direction of, 

and control over the work of another. 

"Employee" means an individual who has an employment 

relationship acknowledged by both the individual and the firm 

and is treated as an employee for the purposes of compliance 

with federal income tax laws. 

"Encapsulation" means the treatment of ACM with a material 

that surrounds or embeds asbestos fibers in an adhesive matrix 

to prevent the release of fibers as the encapsulant creates a 

membrane over the surface (i.e., bridging encapsulant) or 

penetrates the material and binds its components together (i.e., 

penetrating encapsulant). 

"Encasement" means any process by which an ACM is 

sprayed with an insulating sealer that is then mechanically 

fastened to the asbestos-covered substrate. The insulating 

sealer is then covered with a sealer to give structural strength 

and durability. 

"Enclosure" means the construction or installation over or 

around the ACM of any leak-tight solid or flexible coverings 

that will not deteriorate or decompose for an extended period 

of time so as to conceal the ACM, contain ACM fibers, and 

render the ACM inaccessible. 

"Environmental remediation activity" means any activity 

planned or carried out for the purpose of reducing or 

eliminating any environmental hazard, including activities 

necessary to train individuals in the proper or lawful conduct 

of such activities that are regulated by federal or state law or 

regulation. 

"EPA" means U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

"Financial interest" means financial benefit accruing to an 

individual or to a member of the individual's immediate family. 

Such interest exists by reason of (i) ownership in a business if 

the ownership exceeds 3.0% of the total equity of the business; 

(ii) annual gross income that exceeds or may be reasonably 

anticipated to exceed $2,000 from ownership in real or 

personal property or a business; (iii) salary, other 

compensation, fringe benefits, or benefits from the use of 

property paid or provided by a business that exceeds or may be 

reasonably expected to exceed $2,000 annually; or (iv) 

ownership of real or personal property if the interest exceeds 

$2,000 in value and excluding ownership in business, income, 

salary, other compensation, fringe benefits, or benefits from 

the use of property. 

"Firm" means a sole proprietorship, association, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of business organization 

recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth. 

"Guest instructor" means an instructor who is invited to 

instruct a specific topic in an accredited asbestos training 

program and whose instruction is limited to two hours per day. 

"Hands-on training" means the physical participation of 

students in an accredited asbestos training program. Physical 
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participation includes mock activities specific to the license 

discipline. 

"IHLAP" means the Industrial Hygiene Laboratory 

Accreditation Program of the AIHA Laboratory Accreditation 

Programs LLC. 

"IHPAT" means the Industrial Hygiene Proficiency 

Analytical Testing Program of the AIHA Proficiency 

Analytical Testing Programs LLC. 

"Immediate family" means (i) a spouse, (ii) a sibling or 

stepsibling, (iii) a parent or stepparent, (iv) a child or stepchild, 

or (v) any other person residing in the same household as the 

individual. 

"Inspection" means an activity undertaken to determine the 

presence or location or to access the condition of friable or 

nonfriable ACM or suspected ACM, whether by visual or 

physical examination or by collecting samples of such 

material. This term includes reinspections of friable and 

nonfriable known or assumed ACM that has been previously 

identified. Inspection does not include the following: 

1. Periodic surveillance of the type described in 40 CFR 

763.92(b) solely for the purpose of recording or reporting a 

change in the condition of known or assumed ACM; 

2. Inspections performed by employees or agents of federal, 

state, or local governments solely for the purpose of 

determining compliance with applicable statutes or 

regulations; or 

3. Visual inspections solely for the purpose of determining 

completion of response actions. 

"Instructor" means a person who instructs one or more 

accredited asbestos training programs, including the principal 

instructor, but excluding guest instructors. 

"MAP" means the EPA Asbestos Model Accreditation Plan 

(Appendix C of 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E). 

"Monitor" means observing and reviewing the activities of an 

asbestos contractor on an asbestos abatement project, as 

required by this chapter, to determine whether proper work 

practices are used and compliance with all asbestos laws and 

regulations is maintained. 

"NIOSH" means National Institute of Occupational Safety 

and Health. 

"NVLAP" means the Asbestos Fiber Analysis Program of the 

National Institute of Standards and Technology National 

Voluntary Laboratory Accreditation Program. 

"Occupied" means any area of any building designed or 

intended for human occupancy for any purpose. 

"OSHA" means the U.S. Department of Labor Occupational 

Safety and Health Administration. 

"PCM" means phase-contrast microscopy. 

"PLM" means polarized light microscopy. 

"Regulant" means an asbestos worker, asbestos supervisor, 

asbestos inspector, asbestos management planner, asbestos 

project designer, asbestos project monitor, asbestos contractor, 

or asbestos analytical laboratory that holds a license issued by 

the board, or an asbestos training program that has been 

accredited by the board. 

"Removal" means the physical removal of ACM in 

accordance with all applicable regulations. 

"Renovation" means altering in any way one or more facility 

components. 

"Repair" means returning damaged ACM to an undamaged 

condition or to an intact state so as to prevent fiber release. 

"Residential buildings" means site-built homes, modular 

homes, condominium units, mobile homes, manufactured 

housing, and duplexes or other multi-unit dwellings consisting 

of four units or fewer that are currently in use or intended for 

use only for residential purposes. 

"Response action" means any method, including removal, 

encapsulation, enclosure, encasement, or operation and 

maintenance, that protects human health and the environment 

from ACM. 

"Responsible individual" means the employee, officer, 

manager, owner, or principal of the firm who is designated by 

each firm to ensure compliance with Chapter 5 (§ 54.1-500 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and all regulations 

of the board and to receive communications and notices from 

the board that may affect the firm. 

"Substantial change" means a change in overall asbestos 

training program, materials, principal instructors, training 

managers, directors, ownership, facilities, equipment, 

examinations, or certificates of completion. The addition of 

updated regulations, exam questions, or news articles will not 

be considered a substantial change. 

"TEM" means transmission electron microscopy. 

"Visual inspection" means a process of looking for conditions 

that, if not corrected during an asbestos abatement project, 

could result in residual asbestos-containing dust or debris. 

Visual inspection includes examination of an asbestos 

abatement project area prior to clearance air monitoring for 

evidence that the project has been successfully completed as 

indicated by the absence of residue, dust, and debris. 

Part II 

Entry 

18VAC15-21-20. Application procedures.  

A. All applicants seeking licensure must submit an 

application with the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC15-21-

180. Application must be made on forms provided by the board 

or the board's agent.  
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1. By submitting the application to the department, the 

applicant certifies that the applicant has read and 

understands the applicable statutes and the board’s 

regulations.  

2. The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees by the 

department does not indicate approval of the application by 

the board. 

B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to the applicant's qualifications to confirm or 

amplify information supplied. All applications must be 

completed in accordance with the instructions contained in this 

chapter and on the application. Applications will not be 

considered complete until all required documents are received 

by the board. 

C. The applicant will be notified if the application is 

incomplete. A person who fails to complete the application 

process within 12 months after the date the department receives 

the application must submit a new application and fee. 

D. The applicant must immediately report all changes in 

information supplied with the application, if applicable, prior 

to issuance of the license or expiration of the application. 

18VAC15-21-30. General requirements for licensure: 

individuals.  

A. In addition to the specific qualifications for each license 

type, each applicant for individual licensure must meet the 

requirements provided in this section. 

B. The applicant must disclose the applicant's full legal name. 

C. The applicant must be at least 18 years of age. 

D. The applicant must disclose the applicant's mailing 

address. A post office box is only acceptable as a mailing 

address when a physical address is also provided. 

E. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant must disclose the following information: 

1. All felony convictions. 

2. All misdemeanor convictions related to environmental 

remediation activity. 

3. All misdemeanor convictions, excluding marijuana 

convictions, that occurred within three years of the date of 

application.  

The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

F. The applicant must report any action taken by any board or 

administrative body in any jurisdiction against a professional 

or occupational license, certification, or registration issued to 

the applicant, to include any suspension, revocation, or 

surrender of a license, certification, or registration; imposition 

of a monetary penalty; or requirement to take remedial 

education or other corrective action. The board, at its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant for any prior 

action taken by any board or administrative body in any 

jurisdiction. 

G. Applicants must be in compliance with the standards of 

practice and conduct set forth in Part VI (18VAC15-21-380 et 

seq.) and Part VII (18VAC15-21-460 et seq.) of this chapter at 

the time of application to the board, while the application is 

under review by the board, and at all times when the license is 

in effect. 

18VAC15-21-40. Application denial.  

A. The board may refuse initial licensure or accreditation due 

to an applicant's failure to comply with entry requirements or 

for any of the reasons for which the board may discipline a 

regulant. 

B. The applicant has the right to request further review of any 

such action by the board under the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

18VAC15-21-50. Qualifications for asbestos worker 

license.  

Each individual applying for an asbestos worker license must 

provide proof of successful completion of (i) an EPA-approved 

or board-approved initial accredited asbestos worker training 

program and all subsequent EPA-approved or board-approved 

accredited asbestos worker refresher training programs or (ii) 

an EPA-approved or board-approved initial accredited 

supervisor training program and all subsequent EPA-approved 

or board-approved accredited asbestos supervisor refresher 

training programs. The training certificate must indicate that 

the training was taken within 12 months preceding the date the 

department receives the application. 

18VAC15-21-60. Qualifications for asbestos supervisor 

license.  

A. Each individual applying for an asbestos supervisor 

license must: 

1. Have a high school diploma or equivalent; 

2. Provide proof of successful completion of an EPA-

approved or board-approved initial accredited supervisor 

training program and all subsequent EPA-approved or 

board-approved accredited asbestos supervisor refresher 

training programs. The training certificate must indicate that 

the training was taken within 12 months preceding the date 

the department receives the application; and 

3. Furnish acceptable documentation of three months of 

experience in asbestos abatement work. 

B. The experience submitted pursuant to subsection A of this 

section must meet the requirements of 18VAC15-21-120. 
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18VAC15-21-70. Qualifications for asbestos inspector 

license.  

A. Each individual applying for an asbestos inspector license 

must provide: 

1. Proof of successful completion of an EPA-approved or 

board-approved initial accredited inspector training program 

and all subsequent EPA-approved or board-approved 

accredited asbestos inspector refresher training programs; 

and 

2. Evidence of experience in performing asbestos 

inspections in buildings or industrial facilities, including 

collecting bulk samples, categorizing ACM, assessing 

ACM, and preparing inspection reports. The applicant must 

furnish acceptable documentation that one of the following 

qualifications has been met: 

Education Experience 

Acceptable master's or 

bachelor's degree program 

Three months or performed a 

minimum of seven 

inspections 

Acceptable associate's 

degree program 

Six months or performed a 

minimum of 10 inspections 

High school diploma or 

equivalent 

12 months or performed a 

minimum of 15 inspections 

B. The education submitted pursuant to subsection A of this 

section must meet the requirements of 18VAC15-21-110. The 

experience submitted pursuant to subsection A of this section 

must comply with 18VAC15-21-120. 

18VAC15-21-80. Qualifications for asbestos management 

planner license.  

A. Each individual applying for an asbestos management 

planner license must provide: 

1. Proof of successful completion of (i) an EPA-approved or 

board-approved initial accredited management planner 

training program and all subsequent EPA-approved or 

board-approved accredited asbestos management planner 

refresher training programs and (ii) an EPA-approved or 

board-approved initial accredited inspector training program 

and all subsequent EPA-approved or board-approved 

accredited asbestos inspector refresher training programs; 

and 

2. Evidence of experience evaluating inspection reports, 

selecting response actions, analyzing the cost of response 

actions, ranking response actions, preparing operations and 

maintenance plans, and preparing management plans. The 

applicant must furnish acceptable documentation that one of 

the following qualifications has been met: 

 

 

Education Experience 

Acceptable master's or 

bachelor's degree program 

Three months or prepared a 

minimum of three 

management plans 

Acceptable associate's 

degree program 

Six months or prepared a 

minimum of five 

management plans 

High school diploma or 

equivalent 

12 months or prepared a 

minimum of seven 

management plans 

B. The education submitted pursuant to subsection A of this 

section must meet the requirements of 18VAC15-21-110. The 

experience submitted pursuant to subsection A of this section 

must comply with 18VAC15-21-120. 

18VAC15-21-90. Qualifications for asbestos project 

designer license.  

A. Each individual applying for an asbestos project designer 

license must provide: 

1. Proof of successful completion of an EPA-approved or 

board-approved initial accredited project designer training 

program and all subsequent EPA-approved or board-

approved accredited asbestos project designer refresher 

training programs; and 

2. Evidence of experience in the preparation of project 

designs or project specifications. The applicant must furnish 

acceptable documentation that one of the following 

qualifications has been met: 

Education Experience 

Acceptable master's or 

bachelor's degree 

program 

Three months or completed a 

minimum of five project 

designs 

Acceptable associate's 

degree program 

Six months or completed a 

minimum of seven project 

designs 

High school diploma or 

equivalent 

12 months or completed a 

minimum of 10 project designs 

B. The education submitted pursuant to subsection A of this 

section must meet the requirements of 18VAC15-21-110. The 

experience submitted pursuant to subsection A of this section 

must comply with 18VAC15-21-120. 

18VAC15-21-100. Qualifications for asbestos project 

monitor license.  

A. Each individual applying for an asbestos project monitor 

license must have a high school diploma or equivalent and 

provide: 
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1. Proof of (i) a current certification by EPA as an asbestos 

project designer or asbestos supervisor and successful 

completion of a board-approved asbestos project monitor 

training program of 16 hours, including the examination, or 

(ii) successful completion of a board-approved asbestos 

project monitor training program of 40 hours, including 

examination. Only project monitor training programs that 

are board approved will be accepted for meeting the training 

requirement; and 

2. Evidence of 80 hours of experience in performing 

asbestos project monitoring through field work on project 

sites, of which at least 40 hours must be from OSHA Class I 

asbestos activities and at least 40 hours must be from OSHA 

Class II asbestos activities. This includes evaluating and 

monitoring asbestos work practices, collecting 

environmental asbestos air samples during abatement, 

performing visual inspections, and taking final air samples 

to grant clearance for asbestos abatement projects. 

B. The experience submitted pursuant to subdivision A 2 of 

this section must comply with 18VAC15-21-120. 

18VAC15-21-110. Acceptable degree programs.  

A. Applicants seeking to qualify for licensure based on 

completion of an associate's, bachelor's, or master's degree 

must submit an official transcript from the school where the 

applicable degree was obtained. Only degrees from an 

accredited college or university that is approved or accredited 

by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of 

Colleges and Schools, a regional or national accreditation 

association, or by an accrediting agency that is recognized by 

the U.S. Secretary of Education will be considered.  

B. The following degrees will be considered to qualify in 

accordance with 18VAC15-21-70 A 2, 18VAC15-21-80 A 2, 

or 18VAC15-21-90 A 2: 

1. Bachelor's or master's degree in engineering, architecture, 

industrial hygiene, environmental science or studies, or 

physical science; 

2. Bachelor's degree in a related field that includes a 

minimum of 40 semester credit hours in any combination of 

science, technology, engineering and math; 

3. Master's degree in a related field and a bachelor's degree 

in any major such that the combined degrees include a 

minimum of 40 semester credit hours in any combination of 

science, technology, engineering, and math; or 

4. Associate's degree in engineering, architecture, industrial 

hygiene, environmental science or studies, or physical 

science, or a related field that includes a minimum of 20 

credit hours in any combination of science, technology, 

engineering, and math. 

18VAC15-21-120. Experience used to qualify for licensure.  

A. Experience used to qualify for licensure in accordance 

with 18VAC15-21-60 A 3, 18VAC15-21-70 A 2, 18VAC15-

21-80 A 2, 18VAC15-21-90 A 2, or 18VAC15-21-100 A 2 

may be obtained by: 

1. Working in the applicable profession in another state, 

provided such work complied with all federal, state, and 

local statutes. 

2. Working in the applicable profession under the direct 

supervision of a properly licensed individual or EPA-

certified individual where no license is required. All reports 

prepared by the unlicensed individual must be signed by the 

licensed or EPA-certified individual. The licensed or EPA-

certified individual assumes responsibility for all work 

conducted and reports prepared, as applicable, by the 

unlicensed individual. 

B. Experience used to qualify for licensure must be verified 

by a supervisor on a board-approved experience verification 

form signed by a supervisor verifying the applicant's 

experience. An applicant who is self-employed or otherwise 

unable to obtain a verifying signature for experience must 

submit five copies of the completed inspections, management 

plans, project designs, or project monitor reports, as applicable 

to the license sought. 

18VAC15-21-130. Individuals certified or licensed in 

another jurisdiction.  

A. The board may issue a license to an applicant who holds an 

equivalent and valid license or certificate in another state, the 

District of Columbia, or any other territory or possession of the 

United States, provided the requirements and standards under 

which the license or certificate was issued are substantially 

equivalent to those established in this chapter and related statutes. 

The applicant will only need to provide the most recent, current 

asbestos training program for the applicable license type. 

B. In order to qualify in accordance with this section, the 

applicant must provide proof of a valid license or certificate in the 

other state acceptable to the board and must be in good standing 

by the issuing license or certification authority. 

18VAC15-21-140. Qualifications for asbestos contractor 

license.  

A firm that holds a valid contractor license issued by the Board 

for Contractors with an asbestos contracting specialty service 

designation in accordance with Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the 

Board for Contractors is deemed qualified for an asbestos 

contractor license pursuant to Chapter 5 (§ 54.1-500 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. Upon 

verification of the firm's licensure with the Board for Contractors, 

the board will issue an asbestos contractor license to such firm for 

a license term that coincides with the license issued by the Board 

for Contractors. 
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18VAC15-21-150. General qualifications for an asbestos 

analytical laboratory license.  

A. Each firm applying for an asbestos analytical laboratory 

license must meet the requirements of this section. 

B. The applicant must disclose the name under which the firm 

conducts business and holds itself out to the public. In 

accordance with Chapter 5 (§ 59.1-69 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, the firm must register any trade or 

fictitious names, when applicable, with the State Corporation 

Commission before submitting an application to the board. 

C. The applicant must disclose the firm's mailing address and 

the firm's physical address. 

D. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, the 

applicant must disclose the following information about the 

firm and its owners, officers, managers, members, and 

directors, as applicable: 

1. All felony convictions; 

2. All misdemeanor convictions, except marijuana 

convictions, within the last three years; and 

3. Any conviction involving environmental remediation 

activity that resulted in the significant harm or the imminent 

and substantial threat of significant harm to human health or 

the environment. 

E. The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. The applicant has the right to request further review 

of any such action by the board under the Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2- 4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

F. The applicant must report any disciplinary action taken by 

any board or administrative body in any jurisdiction against a 

professional or occupational license, certification, or 

registration issued to the firm, its owners, officers, managers, 

members, or directors and, as applicable, any reprimand, 

suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license, certification, 

or registration, imposition of a monetary penalty, or 

requirement to take remedial education or other corrective 

action. The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant based on disciplinary action taken by any board or 

administrative body in any jurisdiction. 

G. The board may deny the application of an applicant who is 

shown to have a substantial identity of interest with a person 

whose license or certificate has been revoked or not renewed 

by the board. A substantial identity of interest includes (i) a 

controlling financial interest by the individual or corporate 

principals of the person whose license or certificate has been 

revoked or has not been renewed or (ii) substantially identical 

owners, officers, managers, members, or directors, as 

applicable. 

18VAC15-21-160. Qualifications for asbestos analytical 

laboratory analysis type.  

A. In addition to the requirements of 18VAC15-21-150, each 

applicant for an asbestos analytical laboratory license must 

submit evidence of meeting the standards to perform PLM, 

PCM, or TEM analysis. 

1. For PLM analysis, one of the following: 

a. Current NVLAP accreditation demonstrated by 

submittal of a copy of the most recent Certificate of 

Accreditation and Scope of Accreditation; 

b. The asbestos analytical laboratory is currently rated 

"proficient" in the BAPAT Program; or 

c. The asbestos analytical laboratory is currently 

accredited under the IHLAP. 

2. For PCM analysis, each analyst must have completed the 

NIOSH 582 or NIOSH 582 Equivalency course. In addition, 

at least one of the following must be satisfied: 

a. At fixed laboratory sites, one of the following 

qualifications must be met: 

(1) The asbestos analytical laboratory is currently 

accredited under the IHLAP; 

(2) The asbestos analytical laboratory is currently rated 

"proficient" in the IHPAT Program; or 

(3) Each analyst is listed in the AAR and has a 

performance rating of "acceptable" for the most recent 

AAT round. 

b. For onsite analysis, one of the following qualifications 

must be met: 

(1) The asbestos analytical laboratory is currently rated 

"proficient" in the IHPAT Program; 

(2) The asbestos analytical laboratory is currently 

accredited under the IHLAP; or 

(3) Each analyst is listed in the AAR and has a 

performance rating of "acceptable" for the most recent 

AAT round. 

3. For TEM analysis, a current accreditation by NVLAP to 

analyze asbestos airborne fibers using TEM as demonstrated 

by submitting a copy of the NVLAP Certificate of 

Accreditation and Scope of Accreditation. 

B. The applicant must name a responsible individual for the 

asbestos analytical laboratory. 

C. Any branch office of an asbestos analytical laboratory 

must complete a branch office application from the board. 

Each branch office will name a resident responsible individual 

at each branch office. 

D. The branch office application must provide the 

information contained in subsection A of this section for the 

applicable branch office. 
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E. Any training and quality control documentation required 

to be maintained pursuant to this section must be provided to 

the board upon request. 

Part III 

Fees 

18VAC15-21-170. General fee requirements.  

All fees are nonrefundable and will not be prorated. The date 

on which the fee is received by the department or the 

department's agent will determine whether the fee is on time. 

Checks or money orders must be made payable to the Treasurer 

of Virginia. 

18VAC15-21-180. Application fees.  

Application fees are set out in this section. 

Fee Type Fee 

Amount 

When Due 

Application for worker, supervisor, 

inspector, management planner, 

project designer, or project monitor 

license 

$80 With 

application 

Application for asbestos analytical 

laboratory license 

$120 With 

application 

Application for asbestos analytical 

laboratory branch office 
$100 

With 

application 

Application for accredited asbestos 

training program approval 

$500 

per day 

of 

training 

With 

application 

18VAC15-21-190. Renewal and late renewal fees.  

A. Renewal and late renewal fees are set out in this section. 

Fee Type Fee 

Amount 

When Due 

Renewal for worker, supervisor, 

inspector, management planner, 

project designer, or project monitor 

license 

$45 With 

renewal 

application 

Renewal for asbestos analytical 

laboratory license 

$75 With 

renewal 

application 

Renewal for asbestos analytical 

laboratory branch office 
$55 

With 

renewal 

application 

Renewal for accredited asbestos 

training program approval 
$125 

With 

renewal 

application 

Late renewal for worker, supervisor, 

inspector, management planner, 

project designer, or project monitor 

license (includes a $35 late renewal 

fee in addition to the regular $45 

renewal fee) 

$80 

With 

renewal 

application 

Late renewal for asbestos analytical 

laboratory license (includes a $35 

late renewal fee in addition to the 

regular $75 renewal fee) 

$110 

With 

renewal 

application 

Late renewal for asbestos analytical 

laboratory branch office (includes 

$35 late renewal fee in addition to 

the regular $55 renewal fee) 

$90 

With 

renewal 

application 

Late renewal for accredited asbestos 

training program approval (includes 

a $35 late renewal fee in addition to 

the regular $125 renewal fee) 

$160 

With 

renewal 

application 

B. For licenses expiring after February 1, 2023, and before 

February 1, 2025, the renewal fees will be as follows: 

Renewal for worker, supervisor, inspector, 

management planner, 

project designer, or project monitor license $25 

Renewal for asbestos analytical laboratory license $40 

Renewal for asbestos analytical laboratory branch 

office $40 

Renewal for accredited asbestos training program 

approval $40 

For late renewals received after March 1, 2023, and on or 

before February 28, 2025, the late renewal fees will be as 

follows: 

Late renewal for worker, supervisor, inspector, 

management planner, project designer, or project 

monitor license $60 

Late renewal for asbestos analytical laboratory license $75 

Late renewal for asbestos analytical laboratory branch 

office $75 

Late renewal for accredited asbestos training program 

approval $75 
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Part IV 

Renewal 

18VAC15-21-200. Renewal required.  

A. Each individual asbestos license issued under this chapter 

will expire 12 months from the last day of the month in which 

it was issued. 

B. Each asbestos analytical laboratory license issued under 

this chapter will expire 12 months from the last day of the 

month in which it was issued. 

C. Each accredited asbestos training program will expire 24 

months from the last day of the month in which it was 

approved. 

D. Each asbestos contractor license will expire on the 

expiration date of the corresponding contractor license issued 

by the Board for Contractors. 

18VAC15-21-210. Procedures for renewal.  

A. The department will send a renewal notice to each regulant 

at the address of record. Failure to receive the notice does not 

relieve the licensee or the accredited asbestos training program 

of the obligation to renew. 

B. Prior to the license expiration, each licensed asbestos 

analytical laboratory desiring to renew the license must submit 

the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC15-21-190 to the 

department. A licensed asbestos analytical laboratory must 

also submit documentation that the laboratory continues to 

meet the requirements specified in 18VAC15-21-160 for the 

type of analysis the laboratory is licensed to perform. 

C. Prior to the license expiration date, each licensed 

individual desiring to renew a license must provide evidence 

of meeting the annual refresher training requirement for license 

renewal and the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC15-21-190. 

The board will accept any asbestos training programs that are 

approved by EPA or the board. A copy of the training 

certificate documenting the successful completion of the 

refresher training for the license type being renewed and 

meeting the requirements outlined in this chapter must 

accompany the fee. 

1. For renewal of an asbestos worker license, the board will 

accept evidence of completion of asbestos supervisor 

refresher training to satisfy the refresher training 

requirement. 

2. For renewal of an asbestos management planner license, 

a management planner must complete both a management 

planner refresher training program and an inspector refresher 

training program. 

3. For renewal of an asbestos project monitor license, the 

board will accept evidence of the following to satisfy the 

refresher training requirement: 

a. For project monitors who also hold a valid Virginia 

asbestos supervisor or project designer license, 

completion of a supervisor refresher or project designer 

refresher, as is applicable to the EPA certification 

submitted for initial licensure as specified in 18VAC15-

21-90; or 

b. For project monitors who hold only a project monitor 

license, completion of a board-approved asbestos project 

monitor refresher training program to meet renewal 

requirements. 

D. Prior to the approval letter expiration date, each accredited 

asbestos training program desiring to renew the approval must 

submit the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC-15-21-190. 

E. Annual refresher training certificates will only be used 

once to renew an individual license. 

F. Each license and each accredited asbestos training program 

approval that is not renewed within 30 days of the expiration 

date on the license or approval letter will be subject to late 

renewal fees as established in 18VAC15-21-190. 

G. A firm with an asbestos contractor license must provide 

documentation that the corresponding contractor license issued 

by the Board for Contractors is current and valid. Upon 

verification of the firm's licensure with the Board for 

Contractors, the board will renew the asbestos contractor 

license for a license term that coincides with the license issued 

by the Board for Contractors. 

H. Each license and each approved accredited asbestos 

training program that is not renewed within 12 months after the 

expiration date will not be renewed. The individual or firm 

must apply for a new license or approval and meet entry 

requirements current at the time the new application is 

submitted.  

Part V 

Approval of Training Programs and Courses 

18VAC15-21-220. Application procedures for accredited 

asbestos training program approval.  

A. Training programs desiring board approval must meet the 

minimum requirements established in this chapter. Persons 

requesting approval as an accredited asbestos training program 

to prepare training program participants for licensure 

requirements must submit the appropriate application form 

along with the following: 

1. Training provider's business name, physical address, 

mailing address, and telephone number. 

2. Copies of documentation of approval of the asbestos 

training program issued by EPA or other states, if applicable. 

3. Applicable fee specified in 18VAC15-21-180. 

4. The training program curriculum. 
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5. A narrative explaining how the training program meets the 

requirements for approval in the following areas: 

a. Length of training in hours. 

b. Amount and type of hands-on training. 

c. Examinations (length, format, and passing score). 

d. Topics covered in the training program. 

e. Assurances of test security and how exams are 

administered. 

6. A copy of all training program materials, including 

student manuals, instructor notebooks, handouts, and 

training aids. 

7. A copy of the examination used and applicable answer 

sheets. 

8. The name and documentation of the qualifications of the 

training manager. The training manager employed by the 

applicant must meet the requirements of 18VAC15-21-230. 

9. The names and documentation of the qualifications of 

each principal instructor and subject areas that each principal 

instructor will teach. Principal instructors must meet the 

requirements of 18VAC15-21-240. 

10. An example of the completion certificate that will be 

issued to students who successfully complete the accredited 

asbestos training program. 

11. A proposed training program date for auditing purposes. 

The proposed date will be confirmed or an alternate date will 

be proposed within 10 business days after receipt of a 

complete asbestos training program application. 

B. An application must contain all information required by 

this section. 

C. An application must be received by the department no less 

than 45 days prior to the requested audit date. 

D. Upon receipt of an application, a preliminary review will 

be conducted to ensure compliance with this chapter. The 

applicant will be notified if the application is incomplete or is 

deficient. All deficiencies must be corrected prior to the onsite 

audit. 

E. Upon completion of the preliminary review, the board will 

conduct an onsite audit. The applicant will be notified of any 

deficiencies identified during the audit. All deficiencies must 

be corrected prior to approval of the application. 

F. Onsite audits are not required for final approval of asbestos 

courses with a primary location that is out of state, to be 

conducted solely out of state, so long as the course is currently 

approved by a MAP state. Proof of MAP state approval must 

be submitted with the application. 

G. All training programs must have a monitored, final written 

examination. 

18VAC15-21-230. Training manager qualifications.  

An accredited asbestos training program must employ a 

training manager who: 

1. Has a minimum of two years of experience in teaching 

adults; or 

2. Has a minimum of three years of experience in the 

asbestos abatement industry. 

18VAC15-21-240. Principal instructor qualifications.  

A. An accredited asbestos training program must use 

principal instructors who: 

1. Have a minimum of 24 hours of asbestos-specific training; 

and 

2. Have a minimum of two years of experience in the 

asbestos abatement industry or a minimum of two years of 

experience in teaching adults. 

B. Guest instructors are exempt from instructor qualifications 

and are limited to no more than two hours of training per day. 

18VAC15-21-250. Accredited asbestos training program 

requirements.  

In all of the accredited asbestos training program 

requirements, one day is equal to eight hours, inclusive of 

lunch and breaks. 

18VAC15-21-260. Initial worker training.  

A. An initial worker training program must last a minimum 

of four days. The worker training program must include 

lectures, demonstrations, at least 14 hours of hands-on training, 

a training program review, and an examination. 

B. The worker training program must address the following 

topics: 

1. Physical characteristics of asbestos. 

a. Identification of asbestos. 

b. Aerodynamic characteristics. 

c. Typical uses and physical appearance. 

d. A summary of abatement control options. 

2. Potential health effects related to asbestos exposure. 

a. The nature of asbestos-related diseases. 

b. Routes of exposure, dose-response relationships, and 

the lack of a safe exposure level. 

c. Synergism between cigarette smoking and asbestos 

exposure. 

d. Latency period for disease. 

3. Employee personal protective equipment. 

a. Classes and characteristics of respirator types. 
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b. Limitations of respirators and proper selection, 

inspection, donning, use, maintenance, and storage 

procedures. 

c. Methods for field testing of the facepiece-to-face seal 

(e.g., positive and negative pressure fitting tests). 

d. Qualitative and quantitative fit testing procedures. 

e. Variability between field and laboratory protection 

factors. 

f. Factors that alter respirator fit (e.g., facial hair). 

g. The components of a proper respiratory protection 

program. 

h. Selection and use of personal protective clothing and 

use, storage, and handling of nondisposable clothing. 

i. Regulations covering personal protective equipment. 

4. State-of-the-art work practices. 

a. Asbestos abatement activities, including descriptions of 

construction and maintenance of barriers and 

decontamination enclosure systems. 

b. Positioning of warning signs. 

c. Electrical and ventilation system lock-out. 

d. Working techniques for minimizing fiber release, use of 

wet methods, use of negative pressure ventilation 

equipment, and use of high efficiency particulate air 

(HEPA) vacuums. 

e. Clean-up and disposal procedures. 

f. Work practices for removal, encapsulation, enclosure, 

and repair. 

g. Emergency procedures for sudden releases. 

h. Potential exposure situations and transport and disposal 

procedures. 

i. Recommended and prohibited work practices. 

5. Personal hygiene. 

a. Entry and exit procedures for the work area, use of 

showers, avoidance of eating, drinking, smoking, and 

chewing (gum or tobacco) in the work area. 

b. Potential exposures, including family exposure. 

6. Additional safety hazards. 

a. Hazards encountered during abatement activities, 

including electrical hazards, heat stress, air contaminants 

other than asbestos, fire, and explosion hazards, and how 

to deal with them. 

b. Scaffold and ladder hazards. 

c. Slips, trips, and falls. 

d. Confined spaces. 

7. Medical monitoring. 

a. OSHA requirements for a pulmonary function test. 

b. Chest X-rays and a medical history for each employee. 

8. Air monitoring. 

a. Procedures to determine airborne concentrations of 

asbestos fibers. 

b. Focusing on how personal air sampling is performed 

and the reasons for it. 

9. Relevant federal, state, and local regulatory requirements, 

procedures, and standards, with particular attention directed 

at relevant EPA, OSHA, and state regulations concerning 

asbestos abatement workers and Department of 

Transportation regulations (49 CFR 172 Subpart H), with 

emphasis on packaging requirements and marking of 

containers of ACM waste. 

10. Establishment of respiratory protection programs. 

11. Training program review. A review of key aspects of the 

accredited asbestos training program. 

C. Upon completion of the worker training program, the 

training program must administer a closed-book examination. 

Each examination must cover the topics required by this 

section. 

1. Each examination must have 50 multiple choice 

questions. 

2. The passing score on the examination must be 70%. 

18VAC15-21-270. Worker refresher training program.  

A. A worker refresher training program must be at least one 

day. The worker refresher training program must review 

federal and state regulations and discuss changes to the 

regulations, if applicable, and developments in state-of-the-art 

procedures. A review of the following topics from the initial 

worker training program must be included in the worker 

refresher training program: 

1. Potential health effects related to asbestos exposure; 

2. Employee personal protective equipment; 

3. Personal hygiene; and 

4. Additional safety hazards. 

B. A written closed-book examination must be included in the 

refresher training program. The examination will consist of no 

fewer than 50 questions. The passing score will be 70% 

correct. Persons who pass the examination and fulfill the 

training program requirements will receive a certificate of 

completion as specified in this chapter. 

18VAC15-21-280. Initial supervisor training.  

A. An initial supervisor training program must last a 

minimum of five days. The supervisor training program must 

include lectures; demonstrations; at least 14 hours of hands-on 

training, which must permit supervisors to have actual 

experience performing tasks associated with asbestos 

abatement; a training program review; and an examination. 
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B. The supervisor training program must address the 

following topics: 

1. The role of the supervisor in the asbestos abatement 

process. 

2. The physical characteristics of asbestos and asbestos-

containing materials. 

a. Identification of asbestos. 

b. Aerodynamic characteristics. 

c. Typical uses and physical appearance. 

d. A review of hazard assessment considerations. 

e. A summary of abatement control options. 

3. Potential health effects related to asbestos exposure. 

a. The nature of asbestos-related diseases. 

b. Routes of exposure, dose-response relationships, and 

the lack of a safe exposure level. 

c. Synergism between cigarette smoking and asbestos 

exposure. 

d. Latency period for disease. 

4. Employee personal protective equipment. 

a. Classes and characteristics of respirator types. 

b. Limitations of respirators and proper selection, 

inspection, donning, use, maintenance, and storage 

procedures. 

c. Methods for field testing of the facepiece-to-face seal 

(e.g., positive and negative pressure fitting tests). 

d. Qualitative and quantitative fit testing procedures. 

e. Variability between field and laboratory protection 

factors. 

f. Factors that alter respirator fit (e.g., facial hair). 

g. The components of a proper respiratory protection 

program. 

h. Selection and use of personal protective clothing and 

use, storage, and handling of nondisposable clothing. 

i. Regulations covering personal protective equipment. 

5. State-of-the-art work practices. 

a. Work practices for asbestos abatement activities, 

including descriptions of proper construction and 

maintenance of barriers and decontamination enclosure 

systems. 

b. Positioning of warning signs. 

c. Electrical and ventilation system lock-out. 

d. Working techniques for minimizing fiber release, use of 

wet methods, use of negative pressure ventilation 

equipment, and use of high efficiency particulate air 

(HEPA) vacuums. 

e. Clean-up and disposal procedures. 

f. Work practices for removal, encapsulation, encasement, 

enclosure, and repair. 

g. Emergency procedures for sudden releases. 

h. Potential exposure situations. 

i. Transport and disposal procedures. 

j. Recommended and prohibited work practices. 

k. Discussion of new abatement-related techniques and 

methodologies. 

6. Personal hygiene. 

a. Entry and exit procedures for the work area; use of 

showers; and avoidance of eating, drinking, smoking, and 

chewing (gum or tobacco) in the work area. 

b. Potential exposures, such as family exposure, must also 

be included. 

7. Additional safety hazards. 

a. Hazards encountered during abatement activities, 

including electrical hazards, heat stress, air contaminants 

other than asbestos, fire, and explosion hazards, and how 

to deal with them. 

b. Scaffold and ladder hazards. 

c. Slips, trips, and falls. 

d. Confined spaces. 

8. Medical monitoring. OSHA requirements for a pulmonary 

function test, chest X-rays, and a medical history for each 

employee. 

9. Air monitoring. 

a. Procedures to determine airborne concentration of 

asbestos fibers, including a description of aggressive 

sampling, sampling equipment, and methods. 

b. Reasons for air monitoring. 

c. Types of samples and interpretation of results, 

specifically from analysis performed by polarized light, 

phase-contrast, and electron microscopy analyses. 

10. Relevant federal, state, and local regulatory 

requirements, procedures, and standards, including: 

a. Requirements of Title II (§ 2641 et seq.) of the Toxic 

Substance Control Act (15 USC § 2601 et seq.); 

b. 40 CFR Part 61, National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants, Subparts A (General 

Provisions) and M (National Emission Standards for 

Asbestos); 

c. OSHA Standards for Respiratory Protection (29 CFR 

1910.134); 

d. OSHA Asbestos Construction Standard (29 CFR 

1926.1101); 

e. EPA Worker Protection Rule, 40 CFR Part 763, 

Subpart G; 
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f. Requirements for Asbestos-Containing Waste 

Materials, 9VAC20-81-620; and 

g. Department of Transportation regulations (49 CFR Part 

172, Subpart H) covering packaging, proper marking of 

shipping containers, and shipping papers. 

11. A review of NESHAP guidance documents. 

a. Common Questions on the asbestos NESHAP. 

b. Asbestos NESHAP: Regulated Asbestos Containing 

Materials Guidance (EPA 340/1-90-018). 

c. Asbestos NESHAP: Adequately Wet Guidance (EPA 

340/1-90-019). 

d. Reporting and Record Keeping Requirements for Waste 

Disposal: A Field Guide (EPA 340/1-90-016). 

12. Respiratory protection programs and medical 

surveillance programs. 

13. Insurance and liability issues. 

a. Contractor issues, workers' compensation coverage, and 

exclusions. 

b. Third-party liabilities and defenses. 

c. Insurance coverage and exclusions. 

14. Recordkeeping for asbestos abatement projects: 

a. Records required by federal, state, and local regulations. 

b. Records recommended for legal and insurance 

purposes. 

15. Supervisory techniques for asbestos abatement activities. 

Supervisory practices to enforce and reinforce the required 

work practices and to discourage unsafe work practices. 

16. Contract specifications. Discussions of key elements that 

are included in contract specifications. 

17. Training program review. A review of key aspects of the 

accredited asbestos training program. 

C. Upon completion of the supervisor training program, the 

training program must administer a closed-book examination. 

Each examination must cover the topics required by this 

section. 

1. Each examination must have 100 multiple choice 

questions. 

2. The passing score on the examination must be 70%. 

18VAC15-21-290. Supervisor refresher training program.  

A. A supervisor refresher training program must be one day. 

The supervisor refresher training program must review federal 

and state regulations, discuss changes to the regulations, if 

applicable, and developments in state-of-the-art procedures. A 

review of the following topics from the initial accredited 

asbestos training program must be included in the asbestos 

supervisor refresher training program: 

1. Potential health effects related to asbestos exposure; 

2. Employee personal protective equipment, including 

medical monitoring and respiratory protection program; 

3. Additional safety hazards and medical monitoring; 

4. Review of the asbestos NESHAP, OSHA, and Department 

of Transportation requirements; and 

5. Review of Virginia regulations concerning asbestos 

licensing, removal, and disposal. 

B. A written closed-book examination must be included in the 

refresher training program. The examination will consist of no 

fewer than 50 questions. The passing score will be 70% 

correct. Persons who pass the refresher training program 

examination will receive a certificate of completion as 

specified in this chapter. 

18VAC15-21-300. Initial inspector training.  

A. An initial inspector training program must last a minimum 

of three days. The inspector training program must include 

lectures, demonstrations, at least four hours of hands-on 

training, a training program review, and an examination. 

B. The inspector training program must address the following 

topics: 

1. Training program overview. 

a. The role of the inspector in the asbestos abatement 

industry. 

b. A discussion of inspection requirements and criteria for 

AHERA, NESHAP, and state agencies. 

2. Background information on asbestos. 

a. Identification of asbestos and examples and discussion 

of the uses and locations of asbestos in buildings. 

b. Physical appearance of asbestos. 

3. Potential health effects related to asbestos exposure. 

a. The nature of asbestos-related diseases. 

b. Routes of exposure, dose-response relationships, and 

the lack of a safe exposure level. 

c. The synergism between cigarette smoking and asbestos 

exposure. 

d. Latency period for asbestos-related diseases and a 

discussion of the relationship of asbestos exposure to 

asbestosis, lung cancer, mesothelioma, and cancer of other 

organs. 

4. Functions of and qualifications for inspectors. 

a. Discussions of prior experience and qualifications for 

inspectors and management planners. 

b. Discussions of the functions of an accredited inspector 

as compared to those of an accredited management 

planner. 
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c. Discussion of the inspection process, including 

inventory of ACM and physical assessment. 

5. Legal liabilities and defenses. 

a. Responsibilities of the inspector, a discussion of 

comprehensive general liability policies, claims made and 

occurrence policies, environment and pollution liability 

policy clauses; state liability insurance requirements. 

b. Bonding and relationship of insurance availability to 

bond availability. 

6. Understanding building systems. 

a. The relationship between building systems, including an 

overview of common building physical plan layout; heat, 

ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system types; 

physical organization; and where asbestos is found on 

HVAC components. 

b. Building mechanical systems, including types and 

organization and where to look for asbestos on such 

systems. 

c. Inspecting electrical systems, including appropriate 

safety precautions. 

d. Reading building plans and as-built drawings. 

7. Public, employee, and building occupant relations. 

a. Notification of employee organizations about the 

inspection. 

b. Signs to warn building occupants. 

c. Tactics in dealing with occupants and the press. 

d. Scheduling inspections to minimize disruptions. 

e. Education of building occupants about actions being 

taken. 

8. Pre-inspection planning and review of previous inspection 

records. 

a. Scheduling the inspection and obtaining access. 

b. Building record review and identification of probable 

homogeneous areas from building plans or as-built 

drawings. 

c. Consultation with maintenance or building personnel. 

d. Review of previous inspection, sampling, and 

abatement records of a building. 

e. The role of the inspector in exclusions for previously 

performed inspections. 

9. Inspection for friable and nonfriable ACM and assessment 

of the condition of friable ACM. 

a. Procedures to follow in conducting visual inspections 

for friable and nonfriable ACM. 

b. Types of building materials that may contain asbestos. 

c. Touching materials to determine friability. 

d. Open return air plenums and their importance in HVAC 

systems. 

e. Assessing damage, significant damage, potential 

damage, and potential significant damage. 

f. Amount of suspected ACM, both in total quantity and 

as a percentage of the total area. 

g. Type of damage. 

h. Accessibility. 

i. Material's potential for disturbance. 

j. Known or suspected causes of damage or significant 

damage, and deterioration as assessment factors. 

10. Bulk sampling and documentation of asbestos in schools. 

a. Detailed discussion of the "Simplified Sampling 

Scheme for Friable Surfacing Materials" (EPA 560/5-85-

030a October 1985). 

b. Techniques to ensure sampling in a randomly 

distributed manner for other than friable surfacing 

materials. 

c. Techniques for bulk sampling. 

d. Sampling equipment the inspector should use. 

e. Patching or repair of damage done in sampling; an 

inspector's repair kit. 

f. Discussion of polarized light microscopy. 

g. Choosing an accredited laboratory to analyze bulk 

samples. 

h. Quality control and quality assurance procedures. 

11. Inspector respiratory protection and equipment. 

a. Classes and characteristics of respirator types. 

b. Limitations of respirators. 

c. Selection, inspection, donning, use, maintenance, and 

storage procedures for respirators. 

d. Methods for field testing of the facepiece-to-face seal 

(e.g., positive and negative pressure fitting tests); 

qualitative and quantitative fit testing procedures. 

e. Variability between field and laboratory protection 

factors. 

f. Factors that alter respirator fit (e.g., facial hair). 

g. The components of a proper respiratory protection 

program. 

h. Selection and use of personal protective clothing. 

i. Use, storage, and handling of nondisposable clothing. 

12. Recordkeeping and writing the inspection report. 

a. Labeling of samples and keying sample identification to 

sampling location. 

b. Recommendations on sample labeling. 

c. Detailing of ACM inventory. 

d. Photographs of selected sampling areas and examples 

of ACM condition. 
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e. Information required for inclusion in the management 

plan by § 203(i)(1) of the Toxic Substance Control Act (15 

USC § 2601 et seq.). 

13. Regulatory review. 

a. EPA Worker Protection Rule found at 40 CFR Part 763, 

Subpart G. 

b. Title II (§ 2641 et seq.) of the Toxic Substances Control 

Act. 

c. OSHA Asbestos Construction Standard (29 CFR 

1926.1101). 

d. OSHA respirator requirements (29 CFR 1910.134). 

e. The friable ACM in Schools Rule found at 40 CFR Part 

763, Subpart F. 

f. Applicable state and local regulations. 

g. Differences in federal and state requirements, where 

they apply, and the effects, if any, on public and nonpublic 

schools and commercial and public buildings. 

14. Field trip. 

a. Field exercise with a walk-through inspection. 

b. Onsite discussion of information gathering and 

determination of sampling locations. 

c. Onsite practice in physical assessment. 

d. Classroom discussion of field exercise. 

15. Training program review. A review of key aspects of the 

accredited asbestos training program. 

C. Upon completion of the inspector training program, the 

training program must administer a closed-book examination. 

Each examination must cover the topics required by this 

section. 

1. Each examination must have 100 multiple choice 

questions. 

2. The passing score on the examination must be 70%. 

18VAC15-21-310. Inspector refresher training program.  

A. An inspector refresher training program must be one-half 

day. The inspector refresher training program must review 

federal and state regulations, discuss changes to the 

regulations, if applicable, and review developments in state-of-

the-art procedures. A review of the following topics from the 

initial accredited asbestos training program must be included 

in the accredited asbestos inspector refresher training program: 

1. Inspection for friable and nonfriable ACM and assessment 

of the condition of friable ACM; 

2. Bulk sampling and documentation of asbestos in schools; 

and 

3. Reinspection and reassessment techniques. 

B. A written closed-book examination will be administered 

covering the topics included in the asbestos inspector refresher 

training program. The examination will consist of no fewer 

than 50 questions. The passing score will be 70% correct. 

Persons who pass the asbestos inspector refresher training 

program examination will receive a certificate of completion 

as specified in this chapter. 

18VAC15-21-320. Initial management planner training.  

A. An initial management planner training program must last 

a minimum of two days. The management planner training 

program must include lectures, demonstrations, a training 

program review, and an examination. 

B. The management planner training program must address 

the following topics: 

1. Training program overview. 

a. The role of the management planner. 

b. Operations and maintenance programs. 

c. Setting work priorities; protection of building 

occupants. 

2. Evaluation and interpretation of survey results. 

a. Review of Title II (§ 2641 et seq.) of the Toxic 

Substances Control Act (15 USC § 2601 et seq.) 

requirements for inspection and management plans as 

given in § 203(i)(1) of the Toxic Substances Control Act. 

b. Summarized field data and laboratory results; 

comparison between field inspector's data sheet with 

laboratory results and site survey. 

3. Hazard assessment. 

a. Amplification of the difference between physical 

assessment and hazard assessment. 

b. The role of the management planner in hazard 

assessment. 

c. Explanation of significant damage, damage, potential 

damage, and potential significant damage and use of a 

description or decision tree code for assessment of ACM; 

assessment of friable ACM. 

d. Relationship of accessibility, vibration sources, use of 

adjoining space, air plenums, and other factors to hazard 

assessment. 

4. Legal implications. 

a. Liability; insurance issues specific to management 

planners. 

b. Liabilities associated with interim control measures, in-

house maintenance, repair, and removal. 

c. Use of results from previous inspections. 

5. Evaluation and selection of control options. 
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a. Overview of encapsulation, enclosure, interim 

operations and maintenance, and removal; advantages and 

disadvantages of each method. 

b. Response actions described via a decision tree or other 

appropriate method; work practices for each response 

action. 

c. Staging and prioritizing of work in both vacant and 

occupied buildings. 

d. The need for containment barriers and decontamination 

in response actions. 

6. Role of other professionals. 

a. Use of industrial hygienists, engineers, and architects in 

developing technical specifications for response actions. 

b. Any requirements that may exist for an architect to sign 

off on plans. 

c. Team approach to the design of high-quality job 

specifications. 

7. Developing an operations and maintenance (O&M) plan. 

a. Purpose of the plan. 

b. Discussion of applicable EPA guidance documents. 

c. What actions should be taken by custodial staff; proper 

cleaning procedures; steam cleaning and high efficiency 

particulate air (HEPA) vacuuming. 

d. Reducing disturbance of ACM. 

e. Scheduling O&M for off-hours; rescheduling or 

canceling renovation in areas with ACM. 

f. Boiler room maintenance. 

g. Disposal of ACM. 

h. In-house procedures for ACM, including bridging and 

penetrating encapsulants, pipe fittings, metal sleeves, 

polyvinyl chloride (PVC), canvas, and wet wraps; muslin 

with straps; fiber mesh cloth; mineral wool; and insulating 

cement. 

i. Discussion of employee protection programs and staff 

training. 

j. Case study in developing an O&M plan (development, 

implementation process, and problems that have been 

experienced). 

8. Recordkeeping for the management planner. 

a. Use of field inspector's data sheet along with laboratory 

results. 

b. Ongoing recordkeeping as a means to track asbestos 

disturbance. 

c. Procedures for recordkeeping. 

9. Assembling and submitting the management plan. 

a. Plan requirements in § 203(i)(1) of the of the Toxic 

Substances Control Act. 

b. The management plan as a planning tool. 

10. Financing abatement actions. 

a. Economic analysis and cost estimates. 

b. Development of cost estimates. 

c. Present costs of abatement versus future operations and 

maintenance costs. 

d. Asbestos School Hazard Abatement Act grants and 

loans. 

11. A review of key aspects of the accredited asbestos 

training program. 

C. Upon completion of the management planner training 

program, the training program must administer a closed-book 

examination. Each examination must cover the topics required 

by this section. 

1. Each examination must have 100 multiple choice 

questions. 

2. The passing score on the examination must be 70%. 

18VAC15-21-330. Management planner refresher training 

program.  

A. A management planner refresher training program must be 

one-half day and review federal and state regulations, discuss 

changes, if applicable, and review developments in state-of-

the-art procedures. A review of the following topics from the 

initial accredited asbestos management planner training 

program must be included in the asbestos management planner 

refresher training program: 

1. Evaluation and interpretation of survey results; 

2. Hazard assessment; 

3. Evaluation and selection of control options; and 

4. Developing an operations and maintenance plan. 

B. A written closed-book examination will be administered 

covering the topics included in the asbestos management 

planner refresher training program. The examination will 

consist of no fewer than 50 questions. The passing score will 

be 70% correct. Persons who pass the asbestos management 

planner refresher training program examination will receive a 

certificate of completion as specified in this chapter. 

18VAC15-21-340. Initial project designer training.  

A. An initial project designer training program must last a 

minimum of three days. The project designer training program 

must include lectures, demonstrations, a field trip, a training 

program review, and an examination. 

B. The project designer training program must address the 

following topics: 

1. Training program overview. 

a. The role of the project designer in the asbestos 

abatement industry. 
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b. Discussion of what a project design is. 

2. Background information on asbestos. 

a. Identification of asbestos and examples and discussion 

of the uses and locations of asbestos in buildings. 

b. Physical appearance of asbestos. 

3. Potential health effects related to asbestos exposure. 

a. Nature of asbestos-related diseases. 

b. Routes of exposure, dose-response relationships, and 

the lack of a safe exposure level. 

c. The synergistic effect between cigarette smoking and 

asbestos exposure. 

d. The latency period of asbestos-related diseases; 

discussion of the relationship between asbestos exposure 

and asbestosis, lung cancer, mesothelioma, and cancer of 

other organs. 

4. Overview of abatement construction projects. 

a. Abatement as a portion of a renovation project. 

b. OSHA requirements for notification of other 

contractors on a multi-employer site (29 CFR 1926.1101). 

5. Safety system design specifications. 

a. Construction and maintenance of containment barriers 

and decontamination enclosure systems. 

b. Positioning of warning signs. 

c. Electrical and ventilation system lock-out. 

d. Proper working techniques for minimizing fiber release. 

e. Entry and exit procedures for the work area, use of wet 

methods, use of negative pressure exhaust ventilation 

equipment, use of high efficiency particulate air (HEPA) 

vacuums, proper clean-up and disposal of asbestos, work 

practices as they apply to encapsulation, enclosure, and 

repair, use of glove bags, and a demonstration of glove bag 

use. 

6. Field trip. 

a. Visit a proposed abatement site or other suitable 

building site, including onsite discussions of abatement 

design. 

b. Building walk-through inspection, and discussion 

following the walk-through. 

7. Employee personal protective equipment. 

a. Classes and characteristics of respirator types. 

b. Limitations of respirators, proper selection, inspection, 

donning, use, maintenance, and storage procedures. 

c. Methods for field testing of the facepiece-to-face seal 

(e.g., positive and negative pressure fitting tests). 

d. Qualitative and quantitative fit testing procedures. 

e. Variability between field and laboratory protection 

factors and factors that alter respirator fit (e.g., facial hair). 

f. Components of a proper respiratory protection program. 

g. Selection and use of personal protective clothing and 

use, storage, and handling of nondisposable clothing. 

h. Regulations covering personal protective equipment. 

8. Additional safety hazards. 

a. Hazards encountered during abatement activities and 

how to deal with them. 

b. Electrical hazards, heat stress, air contaminants other 

than asbestos, fire, and explosion hazards. 

9. Fiber aerodynamics and control. 

a. Aerodynamic characteristics of asbestos fibers. 

b. Importance of proper containment barriers. 

c. Settling time for asbestos fibers. 

d. Wet methods in abatement. 

e. Aggressive air monitoring following abatement. 

f. Aggressive air movement and negative pressure exhaust 

ventilation as a clean-up method. 

10. Designing abatement solutions. 

a. Discussions of removal, enclosure, and encapsulation 

methods. 

b. Asbestos waste disposal. 

11. Budgeting and cost estimation. 

a. Development of cost estimates. 

b. Present costs of abatement versus future operations and 

maintenance costs. 

c. Setting priorities for abatement jobs to reduce cost. 

12. Writing abatement specifications. 

a. Means and methods specifications versus performance 

specifications. 

b. Design of abatement in occupied buildings. 

c. Modification of guide specifications to a particular 

building. 

d. Worker and building occupant health and medical 

considerations. 

e. Replacement of ACM with non-asbestos substitutes. 

f. Clearance of work area after abatement. 

g. Air monitoring for clearance. 

13. Preparing abatement drawings. 

a. Use of as-built drawings. 

b. Use of inspection photographs and onsite reports. 

c. Particular problems in abatement drawings. 

14. Contract preparation and administration. 

15. Legal, liabilities, and defenses. 
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a. Insurance considerations, bonding, hold harmless 

clauses, and use of abatement contractor's liability 

insurance. 

b. Claims-made versus occurrence policies. 

16. Replacement of asbestos with asbestos-free substitutes. 

17. Role of other consultants. 

a. Development of technical specification sections by 

industrial hygienists or engineers. 

b. The multi-disciplinary team approach to abatement 

design. 

c. The use and responsibilities of a project monitor on the 

abatement site. 

18. Occupied buildings. 

a. Special design procedures required in occupied 

buildings. 

b. Education of occupants. 

c. Extra monitoring recommendations. 

d. Staging of work to minimize occupant exposure. 

e. Scheduling of renovation to minimize exposure. 

19. Relevant federal, state, and local regulatory 

requirements. Procedures and standards including: 

a. Requirements of Title II (§ 2641 et seq.) of the Toxic 

Substances Control Act (15 USC § 2601 et seq.); 

b. 40 CFR Part 61, National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants, Subparts A (General 

Provisions) and M (National Emission Standard for 

Asbestos); 

c. OSHA standards for respiratory protection (29 CFR 

1910.134); 

d. EPA Worker Protection Rule, found at 40 CFR Part 

763, Subpart G; 

e. OSHA Asbestos Construction Standard found at 29 

CFR 1926.1101; and 

f. OSHA Hazard Communication Standard found in 29 

CFR 1926.59. 

20. A review of key aspects of the accredited asbestos 

training program. 

C. Upon completion of the project designer training program, 

the training program must administer a closed-book 

examination. Each examination must cover the topics required 

by this section. 

1. Each examination must have 100 multiple choice 

questions. 

2. The passing score on the examination must be 70%. 

18VAC15-21-350. Project designer refresher training 

program.  

A. A project designer refresher training program must be one 

day. The project designer refresher training program must 

review federal and state regulations, discuss changes to the 

regulations, if applicable, and review developments in state-of-

the-art procedures. A review of the following topics from the 

initial project designer training program must be included in 

the accredited asbestos project designer refresher training 

program: 

1. Safety system design specifications; 

2. Writing abatement specifications; and 

3. Employee personal protective equipment. 

B. A written closed-book examination will be administered 

covering the topics included in the asbestos project designer 

refresher training program. The examination will consist of no 

fewer than 50 questions. The passing score will be 70% 

correct. Persons who pass the asbestos project designer 

refresher training program will receive a certificate of 

completion as specified in this chapter. 

18VAC15-21-360. Initial project monitor training.  

A. An initial comprehensive project monitor training program 

must last a minimum of five days. The project monitor training 

program must include lectures; demonstrations; at least six 

hours of hands-on training, which must permit project 

monitors the experience of performing actual tasks associated 

with asbestos project monitoring; a field trip; a training 

program review; and an examination. 

B. A comprehensive initial project monitor training program 

must address the following topics: 

1. The physical characteristics of asbestos and asbestos-

containing materials. 

a. Identification of asbestos. 

b. Typical uses and locations in buildings and physical 

appearance. 

c. A review of hazard assessment control options. 

d. A summary of abatement control options. 

2. Potential health effects related to asbestos exposure. 

a. The nature of asbestos-related diseases. 

b. Routes of exposure, dose-response relationships, and 

the lack of a safe exposure level. 

c. Synergism between cigarette smoking and asbestos 

exposure. 

d. Latency period for disease; discussion of the 

relationship between asbestos exposure and asbestosis, 

lung cancer, mesothelioma, and cancer of the other organs. 

3. Employee personal protective equipment. 
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a. Classes and characteristics of respirator types. 

b. Limitations of respirators and proper selection, 

inspection, donning, use, maintenance, and storage 

procedures. 

c. Methods for field testing of the facepiece-to-face seal 

(e.g., positive and negative pressure fitting tests). 

d. Qualitative and quantitative fit testing procedures. 

e. Variability between field and laboratory protection 

factors. 

f. Factors that alter respirator fit (e.g., facial hair). 

g. The components of a proper respiratory protection 

program. 

h. Selection and uses of personal protective clothing; use, 

storage, and handling of nondisposable clothing. 

i. Regulations covering personal protection equipment. 

4. State of the art work practices. 

a. Work practices for asbestos abatement activities, 

including description of proper construction and 

maintenance barriers and decontamination enclosure 

systems. 

b. Positioning of warning signs. 

c. Electrical and ventilation system lock-out. 

d. Working techniques for minimizing fiber release, use of 

wet methods, use of negative pressure ventilation 

equipment, and use of high efficiency particulate air 

(HEPA) vacuums. Entry and exit procedures for work 

area. 

e. Clean-up and disposal procedures. 

f. Work practices for removal, encapsulation, enclosure, 

and repair. Use of glove bags and a demonstration of glove 

bag use. 

g. Emergency procedures for sudden release. 

h. Potential exposure situations. 

i. Transport and disposal procedures. 

j. Recommended and prohibited work practices. 

k. Discussion of new abatement related techniques and 

methodologies. 

5. Personal hygiene. 

a. Entry and exit procedures for the work area; use of 

showers; avoidance of eating, drinking, smoking, and 

chewing (gum or tobacco) in the work area. 

b. Potential exposures, such as family exposure, must also 

be included. 

6. Additional safety hazards as covered in 29 CFR Parts 

1910 and 1926 to include: 

a. Hazards encountered during the abatement activities 

and how to deal with them, including electrical hazards, 

heat stress, air contaminants other than asbestos, fire, and 

explosion hazards; 

b. Scaffold and ladder hazards; 

c. Slips, trips, and falls; and 

d. Confined spaces. 

7. Medical monitoring. OSHA requirements for a pulmonary 

function test, chest X-rays, and a medical history for each 

employee. 

8. Respiratory protection programs and medical surveillance 

programs. 

9. Insurance and liability issues: 

a. Contractor issues, workers' compensation coverage, and 

exclusions. 

b. Third-party liabilities and defenses. 

c. Insurance coverage and exclusions. 

10. Relevant federal, state, and local regulatory 

requirements, procedures, and standards, including: 

a. Requirements of Title II (§ 2641 et seq.) of the Toxic 

Substances Control Act (15 USC § 2601 et seq.); 

b. 40 CFR Part 61 National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants, Subparts A (General 

Provisions) and M (National Emission Standards for 

Asbestos); 

c. OSHA Standards for respiratory protection (29 CFR 

1910.134); 

d. OSHA Asbestos Construction Standard (29 CFR 

1926.1101); 

e. OSHA Hazard Communication Standard (29 CFR 

1926.59); 

f. EPA Worker Protection Rule, 40 CFR Part 763; 

g. Requirements of Asbestos-Containing Waste Materials, 

9VAC20-81-620; 

h. Department of Transportation 49 CFR Parts 171 and 

172 Subpart H; and 

i. Virginia asbestos licensing regulations. 

11. Air monitoring. 

a. NIOSH asbestos monitoring procedure. Procedures to 

determine airborne concentration of asbestos fibers, 

including a description of aggressive sampling, sampling 

equipment, and methods. 

(1) Explanation of analytical methods, measures of 

precision, control of errors, collecting samples, fiber 

counts, sampling and calibration equipment, statistics, and 

quality control techniques in sampling. 

(2) Review of 29 CFR Part 1926, Subpart F, §§ 1926.150 

through 1926.155. 

b. Sampling strategy. 

(1) Why samples are taken. 
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(2) Sampling inside and outside of containment area. 

(3) Placement of pumps. 

c. Reasons for air monitoring. 

d. Types of samples and interpretation of results, 

specifically from analysis performed by polarized light, 

phase-contrast, and electron microscopy analyses. 

e. Final clearance. 

12. Overview of supervisory techniques for asbestos 

abatement activities, to include the information covered in 

the accredited asbestos supervisor training program. A 

review of the required work practices and safety 

considerations. 

13. Field trip. 

a. Visit a proposed abatement site or other suitable 

building site, including onsite discussions of abatement 

design. 

b. Building walk-through inspection and discussion 

following the walk-through. 

14. Fiber aerodynamics and control. 

a. Aerodynamic characteristics of asbestos fibers. 

b. Importance of proper containment barriers. 

c. Settling time for asbestos fibers. 

d. Wet methods in abatement. 

e. Aggressive air monitoring following abatement. 

f. Aggressive air movement and negative pressure exhaust 

ventilation as a clean-up method. 

15. Project specifications. Discussion of key elements that 

are included in contract specifications. 

a. Means and methods specifications versus performance 

specifications. 

b. Considerations for design of abatement in occupied 

buildings. 

c. Worker and building occupant health and medical 

considerations. 

d. Replacement of ACM with non-asbestos substitutes. 

e. Clearance of work area after abatement. 

f. Use of as-built drawings. 

g. Use of inspection photographs and onsite reports. 

h. Particular problems in abatement drawings. 

16. Conducting inspections. 

a. Inspection prior to containment to ensure condition of 

items and proper precleaning. 

b. Inspection of containment prior to commencement of 

abatement to ensure that containment is complete and 

proper. 

c. Daily work and containment inspections. 

d. Final visual inspection and a discussion of the ASTM 

E1368 method. 

17. Recordkeeping and documentation. 

a. Project logs. 

b. Inspection reports. 

c. Waste shipment record requirements (WSR). 

d. Recordkeeping required by federal, state, or local 

regulations. 

e. Recordkeeping required for insurance purposes. 

18. Role of project monitor in relation to: 

a. Building owner; 

b. Building occupants; 

c. Abatement contractor; and 

d. Other consultants. 

19. Occupied buildings. 

a. Special procedures recommended in occupied 

buildings. 

b. Extra monitoring recommendations. 

20. A review of NESHAP guidance documents. 

21. A review of key aspects of the accredited asbestos 

training program. 

22. Examination. 

C. Applicants who are currently accredited by EPA as an 

asbestos supervisor or asbestos project designer may complete 

a 16-hour initial project monitor training program. A 16-hour 

initial project monitor program must include lectures; 

demonstrations; a least six hours of hands-on training, which 

must permit project monitors the experience of performing 

actual tasks associated with asbestos project monitoring; a 

training program review; and an examination. The 16-hour 

project monitor training program must cover the topics 

required by subdivisions B 11 through B 22 of this section. 

D. Upon completion of the project monitor training program, 

the training program must administer a closed-book 

examination. The examination for the comprehensive initial 

project monitor training program must cover the topics 

required by subsection B of this section. The examination for 

the 16-hour initial project monitor training program must cover 

the topics required by subdivisions B 11 through B 22 of this 

section. 

1. Each examination must have 100 multiple choice 

questions. 

2. The passing score on the examination must be 70%. 

18VAC15-21-370. Project monitor refresher training 

program.  

A. A project monitor refresher training program must be one 
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day. The training program must review federal and state 

regulations, discuss changes to the regulations, if applicable, 

and review developments in state-of-the-art procedures. A 

review of the following topics from the initial accredited 

asbestos project monitor training program must be included in 

the asbestos project monitor refresher training program: 

1. Occupied buildings; 

2. Personal protective equipment; 

3. Fiber aerodynamics and control; and 

4. Recordkeeping and documentation. 

B. A written closed-book examination will be administered 

covering the topics included in the asbestos project monitor 

refresher training program. The examination will consist of no 

fewer than 50 questions. The passing score will be 70% 

correct. Persons who pass the asbestos project monitor 

refresher training program examination will receive a 

certificate of completion as specified in this chapter. 

Part VI 

General Standards of Practice and Conduct 

18VAC15-21-380. Grounds for disciplinary action.  

A. The board has the power to reprimand, fine, suspend, or 

revoke the license or training program approval of any regulant 

in accordance with § 54.1-516 of the Code of Virginia or this 

chapter when the regulant has been found to have violated or 

cooperated with others in violating any provision of Chapter 1 

(§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.), 3 (§ 54.1-300 et 

seq.), or 5 (§ 54.1-500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia or this chapter. 

B. Any regulant whose license or training program approval 

is revoked under this section will not be eligible to reapply for 

a period of 12 months from the effective date of the order of 

revocation. 

C. Any unlawful act or violation of any provision of Chapter 

5 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or of the regulations of 

the board by any asbestos supervisor or asbestos worker may 

be cause for disciplinary action against the asbestos contractor 

for whom the asbestos supervisor or worker works if it appears 

to the satisfaction of the board that the asbestos contractor 

knew or should have known of the unlawful act or violation. 

18VAC15-21-390. Prohibited acts.  

The following acts are prohibited and any violation may result 

in disciplinary action by the board: 

1. Violating, including inducing another to violate, 

cooperating with another to violate, or combining or 

conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or associate for 

another to violate any of the provisions of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-

100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.), 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.), or 

5 (§ 54.1-500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia 

or any of the regulations of the board. 

2. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license or training 

program approval by false or fraudulent representation; 

maintaining, renewing, or reinstating a license or training 

program approval by false or fraudulent representation; or 

furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, reinstating, 

or maintaining a license or training program approval. 

3. Failing to notify the board in writing within 30 days after 

any change in address or name. 

4. Having been convicted, found guilty, or disciplined in any 

jurisdiction of any offense or violation enumerated in 

18VAC15-21-30 or 18VAC15-21-150. Review of 

convictions will be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 

of the Code of Virginia. 

5. Failing to notify the board in writing within 30 days of 

being convicted or found guilty of any felony or of any 

misdemeanor enumerated in 18VAC15-21-30 E or 

18VAC15-21-150 D. Review of convictions will be subject 

to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

6. Failing to notify the board in writing no later than 30 days 

after final disciplinary action against an asbestos abatement 

license or asbestos training program accreditation has been 

taken by another jurisdiction. 

7. Violating any provision of AHERA or ASHARA or any 

federal or state regulation pertinent to asbestos abatement 

activity. 

8. Actions constituting negligence, misconduct, or 

incompetence in the practice of the profession, including: 

a. Having undertaken to perform or performed a 

professional assignment that the licensee is not qualified 

to perform by education, experience, training, or 

appropriate licensure.  

b. Not demonstrating reasonable care, judgment, or 

application of the required knowledge, skill, and ability in 

the performance of the licensee's duties.  

c. Failing to act in providing professional services in a 

manner that safeguards the interests of the public. 

9. Actions constituting engaging in improper, fraudulent, or 

dishonest conduct, including: 

a. Making any misrepresentation or engaging in acts of 

fraud or deceit in advertising, soliciting, or in providing 

professional services. 

b. Knowingly signing plans, reports, specifications, or 

other documents related to an asbestos project not 

prepared or reviewed and approved by the regulant.  

c. Knowingly misrepresenting factual information in 

expressing a professional opinion.  

d. Allowing a license issued by the board to be used by 

another. 
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10. Acting as or being an ostensible licensee for undisclosed 

persons who do or will control or direct, directly or 

indirectly, the operations of the licensee's business. 

11. Failing or neglecting to submit information or 

documentation requested by the board or the board's 

representatives. 

12. Refusing to allow state or federal representatives access 

to any area of an abatement site, analytical laboratory, or 

training facility for the purpose of compliance inspections or 

audits, whether announced or unannounced. 

18VAC15-21-400. Conflict of interest.  

A. It is a conflict of interest and a violation of this chapter for 

an asbestos contractor to have an employee-employer 

relationship with or financial interest in an asbestos analytical 

laboratory utilized by the contractor for asbestos sample 

analysis. The requirements of this subsection do not apply 

when the laboratory performing analysis is owned by the 

owner of the building where samples are taken. 

B. It is a conflict of interest and a violation of this chapter for 

an asbestos contractor to have an employee-employer 

relationship with an asbestos project monitor working on an 

asbestos project performed by that asbestos contractor. An 

asbestos contractor must not have any financial interests in the 

firm of which a project monitor is an employee and provides 

project monitoring services for that contractor. This section 

does not relieve a contractor of OSHA requirements set forth 

in 29 CFR 1926.1101. 

C. It is a conflict of interest and a violation of this chapter for 

an asbestos contractor to enter into a contract to perform an 

asbestos project if the asbestos inspection or project design was 

performed by individuals with an employer-employee 

relationship with or financial interest in the asbestos contractor, 

unless the asbestos contractor provides the building owner with 

the Virginia Asbestos Licensing Consumer Information Sheet 

and the Virginia Asbestos Licensing Inspector/Project 

Designer/Contractor Disclosure Form prescribed by the 

department. The completed disclosure form must be submitted 

as part of the bid. 

D. The requirements of this section do not apply to a 

contractor-subcontractor relationship between an asbestos 

contractor and an asbestos project monitor. 

18VAC15-21-410. Change of status for analytical 

laboratories.  

A. The regulant must notify the department within 30 days of 

any changes to the responsible individual for each laboratory 

location. 

B. The regulant must notify the board within 30 business days 

upon the loss of accreditation or proficiency rating, as required 

by 18VAC15-21-160, by any laboratory location. 

C. The regulant must notify the board within 30 days if an 

employed analyst or asbestos project monitor performing 

asbestos laboratory analysis is removed from the AAR. 

D. The regulant must notify the board in writing of any 

changes to the types of analysis for which the laboratory is 

licensed. When requesting to add an analysis type to the 

license, evidence of meeting the qualifications required by 

18VAC15-21-160 must be submitted. The regulant must 

receive board approval of the analysis type prior to performing 

the analysis. 

E. The licensee must notify the department within 30 days of 

any changes in the laboratory location. 

18VAC15-21-420. Transfer of license, firms.  

Asbestos contractor licenses and analytical laboratory 

licenses are issued to firms as defined in this chapter and are 

not transferable. Should the legal firm holding the license be 

dissolved or altered to form a new firm, the original license 

becomes void and must be returned to the board within 30 days 

of the change. The new firm must apply for a new license 

within 30 days of the change in the firm. Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership, or the managing partner in a limited partnership; 

3. Termination or cancellation of a corporation or limited 

liability company; and 

4. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, or an association or any other firm 

recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth. 

18VAC15-21-430. (Reserved).  

18VAC15-21-440. Good standing in other jurisdictions.  

A. Regulants in other jurisdictions must be in good standing 

in every jurisdiction where licensed, certified, or approved and 

must not have had a license, certification, or approval 

suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with a 

disciplinary action. 

B. Regulants may be subject to disciplinary action or removal 

of an asbestos training program accreditation for disciplinary 

actions taken by another jurisdiction. 

18VAC15-21-450. Response to inquiry and provision of 

records.  

A. A regulant must respond within 10 days to a request by the 

board or any board agent regarding any complaint filed with 

the department. 

B. Unless otherwise specified by the board, a regulant of the 

board must produce to the board or any board agent within 10 

days of the request any document, book, or record concerning 

any transaction pertaining to a complaint filed in which the 

regulant was involved or for which the regulant is required to 
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maintain records. The board may extend such timeframe upon 

a showing of extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery 

within such 10-day period. 

C. A licensee must not provide a false, misleading, or 

incomplete response to the board or any board agent seeking 

information in the investigation of a complaint filed with the 

board. 

D. With the exception of the requirements of subsection A or 

B of this section, a licensee must respond to an inquiry by the 

board or a board agent within 21 days. 

Part VII 

Standards of Practice and Conduct for Individuals 

18VAC15-21-460. Asbestos project designs.  

An asbestos project design must include, at minimum: 

1. Scope of work. 

2. Sequence of work. 

3. Work methods and practices to be used. 

4. Air sampling procedures. 

18VAC15-21-470. Asbestos project monitoring.  

A. A project monitor is required on asbestos projects 

performed in buildings that are occupied or intended to be 

occupied upon completion of the asbestos project exceeding 

260 linear feet, 160 square feet, or 35 cubic feet of asbestos-

containing material. 

B. A project monitor is required on asbestos projects for 

which the property owner deems it necessary, regardless of 

whether the scope of the project is less than described in 

subsection A of this section. 

C. Asbestos project monitors must be present when response 

actions are being conducted or more frequently if in 

accordance with the owner-approved contractual agreement 

with the project monitor. 

D. Asbestos project monitors must maintain a daily log of all 

work performed. The daily log will include inspection reports, 

air sampling data, type of work performed by the asbestos 

contractor, problems encountered, and corrective action taken. 

E. Asbestos project monitors will take final air samples on all 

abatement projects, except for abatement projects in residential 

buildings. 

F. Prior to reoccupancy of a building following asbestos 

abatement, the asbestos project monitor will provide the air 

sample report on the asbestos analytical laboratory's letterhead 

in the final clearance report.  

18VAC15-21-480. Onsite analysis by project monitors.  

Project monitors who analyze PCM air samples on site must 

(i) be employed by or affiliated with a licensed asbestos 

analytical laboratory, (ii) have completed the NIOSH 582 or 

NIOSH 582 Equivalency Course, and (iii) satisfy one of the 

following: 

1. The project monitor is listed in the AAR and rated 

"acceptable" for the most recent AAT round; 

2. The licensed asbestos analytical laboratory employing the 

project monitor is rated as "proficient" in the IHPAT 

Program and maintains training and quality control 

documentation necessary to demonstrate competency in 

performing onsite analysis; or 

3. The licensed asbestos analytical laboratory employing the 

project monitor is accredited under the IHLAP, remains in 

compliance with accreditation requirements, and maintains 

training and quality control documentation necessary to 

demonstrate competency in performing onsite analysis. 

Part VIII 

Standards of Practice and Conduct for Firms 

18VAC15-21-490. Asbestos contractor.  

A. Asbestos contractors must comply with all requirements, 

procedures, standards, and regulations covering any part of an 

asbestos project established by EPA, OSHA, the Department 

of Labor and Industry, and the Divisions of Air Pollution and 

Waste Management of the Department of Environmental 

Quality (§ 54.1-517 of the Code of Virginia). 

B. Asbestos contractors must comply with the requirements 

found in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia governing the regulation of general 

contractors. 

C. Asbestos contractors must employ licensed asbestos 

supervisors and workers to perform work on any asbestos 

project. 

D. Asbestos contractors must ensure that a licensed asbestos 

supervisor is present at each job site while an asbestos project 

is in progress. 

E. Prior to the start of any asbestos project, the asbestos 

contractor must: 

1. Notify the building or property owner or agent of the 

owner when a licensed project monitor is required in 

accordance with the provisions of 18VAC15-21-470 to 

determine that proper work practices are used and in 

compliance with all asbestos laws and regulations provided 

in this chapter. 

2. Obtain a written acknowledgment from the owner or agent 

of the owner that the owner has been notified of the 

requirement to secure the services of a licensed asbestos 

project monitor. Such acknowledgment must include the 

address of the building where the asbestos project is to take 

place; the date the work is to be performed; the name, 

address, and license number of the licensed asbestos 
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contractor performing the work; and evidence that the 

building or property owner or agent of the owner has 

received the notification. The initial notification and 

acknowledgment will be sufficient for the asbestos project. 

18VAC15-21-500. Maintenance of licensing and training 

records at the asbestos project job site.  

A. The asbestos contractor will be responsible for 

maintaining at each project site a list of each asbestos worker 

and asbestos supervisor, or copy of the licenses of each 

asbestos worker and asbestos supervisor. This list must include 

the current license numbers and the license expiration dates of 

such workers and supervisors. This section does not relieve the 

contractor of any specific AHERA and ASHARA 

requirements concerning training certificates. 

B. An asbestos contractor must maintain a copy of its Virginia 

asbestos contractor license on each project site. 

C. Any conflict of interest disclosure forms as required by 

18VAC15-21-400 must be maintained at each job site. 

D. Records maintained at the job site will be made available 

for review by the department, the Department of Labor and 

Industry, and all other agencies having authorization to inspect 

an asbestos project site. 

18VAC15-21-510. Asbestos analytical laboratories.  

A. Each asbestos analytical laboratory using PLM to analyze 

bulk suspect material for the presence of asbestos must analyze 

the material in accordance with either of the following 

methods: 

1. Test Method: Method for the Determination of Asbestos 

in Bulk Building Materials, EPA 600/R-93/116, EPA Office 

of Research and Development, effective July 1993. 

2. NIOSH Method 9002, NIOSH Manual of Analytical 

Methods (NMAM) Fourth Edition, NIOSH, effective 

August 15, 1994. 

The documents specified in this subsection are incorporated 

by reference. 

B. Each asbestos analytical laboratory using PCM to analyze 

air samples for the presence of airborne fibers must use either 

of the following methods: 

1. Appendix A of 29 CFR § 1926.1101. 

2. NIOSH Method 7400, NIOSH Manual of Analytical 

Methods (NMAM), Fourth Edition, NIOSH, effective 

August 15, 1994. This document is incorporated by 

reference. 

C. Each asbestos analytical laboratory using TEM to analyze 

air samples for the presence of airborne asbestos fibers must 

use either of the following methods: 

1. Appendix A to Subpart E of 40 CFR Part 763. 

2. NIOSH Method 7402, NIOSH Manual of Analytical 

Methods (NMAM), Fourth Edition, NIOSH, effective 

August 15, 1994. This document is incorporated by 

reference. 

D. A copy of the current asbestos analytical laboratory license 

must be on site at all times where analysis is performed, 

including project sites. The license must be available for 

review by the department. 

Part IX 

Standards of Practice and Conduct for Accredited Training 

Programs and Board-approved Training Courses 

18VAC15-21-520. General requirements for training 

programs and courses.  

A. All Virginia-approved accredited asbestos training 

programs and board-approved training courses must remain in 

compliance with all training and recordkeeping requirements 

established by MAP. 

B. Each initial and refresher accredited training program and 

board-approved training course must be discipline specific. 

C. All accredited training programs must be taught in English. 

Accredited asbestos worker training programs are exempt from 

this requirement. 

18VAC15-21-525. Electronic delivery of asbestos refresher 

training courses.  

A. Electronic delivery of accredited asbestos refresher 

training courses is permitted, provided the following 

requirements are met: 

1. Courses delivered electronically must be approved by the 

board in accordance with Part V (18VAC15-21-220 et seq.) 

of this chapter. A pre-existing approval for an in-person, 

classroom-based refresher course does not extend to 

approval of the electronic course. 

2. The training provider must have a system in place to 

authenticate each participant's identity and the participant's 

eligibility to enroll in the course. 

3. A unique identifier must be assigned to each participant 

to be used to launch and re-launch the course. This identifier 

may be used throughout the course if deemed necessary by 

the instructor. 

4. Each participant must be logged into the course and 

participating for the full length of time required for each 

course discipline. The training provider must track each 

participant's course logins, launches, progress, and 

completion. The training provider must maintain a record of 

the same in accordance with the applicable recordkeeping 

requirements of MAP and this chapter. 

5. The course must include knowledge checks throughout 

the entirety of the course. The knowledge checks must be 
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successfully completed before the participant moves on to 

the next module. 

6. Course instructors must be available to answer questions 

or offer technical discussion by way of online discussion or 

message boards, or a telephone number during the training 

period. 

7. There must be a test of at least 20 questions at the end of 

the course, of which 80% must be answered correctly for 

successful completion of the course. The test must be 

designed so that the student does not receive feedback on 

answers until after the test has been submitted. 

8. Each participant must be provided with a completion 

certificate that may be saved and printed. The completion 

certificate must specifically mention that the course was 

taken online. The certificate must not be susceptible to 

editing. The certificate must contain all information required 

by MAP and this chapter. 

9. Course notifications and participant lists provided to the 

board must indicate whether the course is conducted 

electronically. 

B. Electronic courses must meet all other requirements for 

refresher courses as established in this chapter. 

C. For auditing purposes, the board must have unrestricted 

access to the electronic course at any time during which the 

course is conducted. 

D. For purposes of this section, electronic delivery includes 

real-time virtual training and asynchronous delivery of training 

courses. 

18VAC15-21-530. Length of training.  

A. No portion of an accredited training program or board-

approved training course will exceed eight hours in a 24-hour 

period. One day equals eight hours, inclusive of lunches and 

breaks, for all accredited training programs. 

B. Portions of accredited training programs or board-

approved training courses conducted after 5 p.m. and before 8 

a.m. may not exceed four hours, except where training is 

conducted during the course participants' usual working hours. 

C. Portions of accredited training programs or board-

approved training courses conducted between Friday after 5 

p.m. and Monday before 8 a.m. may not exceed 16 hours. 

D. Each initial accredited training program or board-approved 

training course, including examinations, must be completed 

within a single two-week timeframe. 

18VAC15-21-540. Presence of instructor required to 

provide training.  

An instructor must remain present in the classroom or training 

area where instruction takes place at all times during the course 

of the accredited training program or board-approved training 

course. 

18VAC15-21-550. Minimum standards for training 

program and course materials.  

A. Prior to the start of the accredited asbestos training 

program or board-approved training course, the training 

provider must prepare a course outline or syllabus to be 

distributed to all course participants.  

B. At a minimum, the outline or syllabus must include: 

1. Training program title and length of training; 

2. Start time of each day of training; 

3. Division of course sections, to include the instructor and 

length of time for each section; 

4. Start and end times for each scheduled break; 

5. Start and end times for each scheduled lunch; 

6. Scheduled hands-on training, a description of the training, 

the name of the instructor, and length of training; and 

7. Start and end time of the final examination. 

C. All training program participants will be issued a training 

program manual for the training program. 

D. Use of video instruction is permitted in an accredited 

training program, provided that videos are not the sole and 

primary source of instruction. 

E. In no case will equipment utilized for display or as part of 

hands-on training have been utilized on an asbestos abatement 

project site. 

F. Following attendance of the accredited training program or 

board-approved training course and successful completion of 

an examination by the training program participant, the 

training provider must issue a certificate of completion to the 

training program participant. At a minimum, the completion 

certificate must include: 

1. Training provider's business name; 

2. Training provider's business address and telephone 

number; 

3. Location of training; 

4. Typewritten or printed name of training program 

participant; 

5. Training program title and length of training in hours; 

6. Certificate number; 

7. Start and end dates of the training program; 

8. Examination date; 

9. An expiration date one year after the date of completion 

of the accredited asbestos training program; 
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10. For training programs covered under 40 CFR Part 763, 

Subpart E, Appendix C, a statement that the person receiving 

the certificate has completed the requisite training for 

asbestos accreditation under Title II (§ 2641 et seq.) of the 

Toxic Substances Control Act (15 USC § 2601 et seq.); 

11. Statement of attendance and successful completion of an 

examination by the training program participant; and 

12. Signature and typewritten or printed name of the 

accredited asbestos training program manager or 

administrator and principal instructor. The signature may be 

a printed facsimile. 

18VAC15-21-560. Examinations.  

A. Oral examinations are not permitted in an accredited 

training program. Accredited asbestos worker training 

programs are exempt from this requirement. 

1. Instructors providing oral examinations must provide an 

answer sheet to the course participant, to be completed by 

the participant. 

2. The answer sheet must be signed by the course participant. 

B. Examinations must be given in the language of the 

accredited asbestos training program's instruction. 

C. A course participant is allowed one opportunity to retake a 

failed examination. If the course participant fails to achieve a 

70% passing score on the second examination attempt, the 

course participant must reenroll and participate in the entirety 

of the discipline-specific accredited training program. 

18VAC15-21-570. Reporting of changes.  

A. Any change in the information provided in Part V 

(18VAC15-21-220 et seq.) of this chapter must be reported to 

the board prior to implementing the change. Information 

submitted will be reviewed to ensure compliance with the 

provisions of this chapter prior to the continuation of the 

accredited asbestos training program. 

B. Documentation of all instructor qualifications will be 

reviewed and approved by the board prior to the instructor 

teaching in an accredited asbestos training program. 

C. Changes to the certificate of completion must be submitted 

to the board for review and approval prior to issuance to 

training program participants. 

18VAC15-21-580. Recordkeeping and provision of records 

to the board.  

A. Unless otherwise authorized by the board, the training 

provider must submit course notifications and participant lists 

to the board electronically in a format established by the board. 

B. The training provider must notify the board no less than 48 

hours prior to the start date of any accredited asbestos training 

program. 

C. The training provider must provide an updated notification 

when an accredited training program will begin on a date other 

than the start date specified in the original notification no less 

than 48 hours prior to the new start date. 

D. The training provider must update the board of any change 

in location of an accredited training program at least 48 hours 

prior to the start date provided to the board. 

E. The training provider must update the board regarding any 

accredited training program cancellations or any other change 

to the original notification at least 48 hours prior to the start 

date provided to the board. This requirement does not apply to 

situations or circumstances beyond the control of the training 

provider. 

F. Each notification, including updates, must include the 

following: 

1. Notification type (e.g., original, update, cancellation). 

2. Training program name, Virginia accreditation number, 

address, and telephone number. 

3. Course discipline, type (initial or refresher), and the 

language in which the instruction will be given. 

4. Dates and times of training. 

5. Training locations, telephone number, and address. 

6. Principal instructor's name. 

G. For all accredited training programs, the training provider 

must provide to the board a training program participant list of 

all of the individuals attending the accredited training program 

course within 10 days of the course end date. The training 

program participant list must contain the following minimum 

information: 

1. Training program name, Virginia accreditation number, 

address, and telephone number. 

2. Course discipline and type (initial or refresher). 

3. Dates of training. 

4. Location of training program presentation. 

5. Each participant's name, address, social security number, 

course completion certificate number, and course test score. 

6. Principal instructor's name. 

H. The principal instructor must complete the training 

program participant list daily. 

I. The training program participant list must be retained by 

the training provider for three years following the date of 

completion of the training program. 

J. The department has discretion to refuse to recognize 

completion certificates from accredited training providers that 

fail to provide course notifications or training program 

participant lists to the board. 
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K. Approval letters for accredited training programs must be 

maintained at the location of training and made accessible to 

the public. 

L. A copy of the training program outline must be retained by 

the training provider for a period of three years following the 

completion of the training program. 

M. All examinations completed by the accredited training 

program participants, regardless of the examination score, 

must be kept for a period of three years after the examination 

date. 

N. Records required to be maintained by the training provider 

must be maintained at the physical location of the accredited 

asbestos training provider. 

18VAC15-21-590. Access by the department.  

Accredited training providers must permit department 

representatives to attend, evaluate, and monitor any accredited 

training program. Prior notice of attendance by department 

representatives is not required. The department will be given 

access to all course materials, principal instructor and training 

manager rosters, participant rosters, and other records as 

stipulated by this chapter. 

18VAC15-21-600. Withdrawal of approval of an accredited 

asbestos training program.  

A. The board has discretion to withdraw approval of any 

accredited training program for the following reasons: 

1. The training provider, instructors, or training programs no 

longer meet the standards established in this chapter. 

2. The board determines that the provider is not conducting 

the training in a manner that meets the requirements as set 

forth in this chapter. 

3. Suspension or revocation of training approval in another 

state or by EPA. 

B. Decisions regarding withdrawal of approval will be made 

by the board under the provisions of the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

FORMS (18VAC15-21) 

Virginia Asbestos Licensing Consumer Information Sheet, 

A506-33ACIS-v2 (rev. 8/2013) 

Inspector/Project Designer/Contractor Disclosure Form, 

A506-33DIS-v2 (rev. 8/2013) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(18VAC15-21) 

NIOSH Method 7400, NIOSH Manual of Analytical Methods 

(NMAM), Fourth Edition, NIOSH, August 15, 1994 

NIOSH Method 7402, NIOSH Manual of Analytical Methods 

(NMAM), Fourth Edition, NIOSH, August 15, 1994 

NIOSH Method 9002, NIOSH Manual of Analytical Methods 

(NMAM) Fourth Edition, NIOSH, August 15, 1994 

Test Method: Method for the Determination of Asbestos in 

Bulk Building Materials, EPA Office of Research and 

Development, (EPA 600-R-93-116, July 1993) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7460; Filed March 4, 2025, 10:55 a.m. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Occupational Therapy (amending 

18VAC85-80-10, 18VAC85-80-26, 18VAC85-80-35, 

18VAC85-80-65, 18VAC85-80-71 through 18VAC85-80-

80, 18VAC85-80-100, 18VAC85-80-140; repealing 

18VAC85-80-20, 18VAC85-80-90). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2956.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 23, 2025. 

Effective Date: May 8, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 750-3912, FAX (804) 915-0382, 

or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Board of Medicine are promulgated 

under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 

Virginia, which authorizes health regulatory boards to 

promulgate regulations that are reasonable and necessary to 

administer the regulatory system. Section 54.1-2956.1 of the 

Code of Virginia requires the board to license occupational 

therapists. 

Purpose: The amendments reduce the regulatory burden by 

eliminating provisions redundant of statutory language, 

eliminating provisions that are no longer needed, and reducing 

barriers to licensure, which protects the health, safety, and 

welfare of citizens by ensuring a sufficient workforce of 

occupational therapists (OTs) and occupational therapy 

assistants (OTAs). The amendments are intended to eliminate 

redundant or outdated provisions. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

rulemaking is considered noncontroversial and appropriate for 

the fast-track rulemaking process because it reduces 

requirements for licensees. 

Substance: The amendments remove provisions that are 

redundant to statute and useless directions in regulation, 

including provisions related to (i) public participation; (ii) 

outdated fee reductions; (iii) requirements to verify 

professional practice to obtain a license; (iv) the requirement 

to attest to any hours of Type 2 continuing education; (v) the 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/Virginia%20Asbestos%20Licensing%20Consumer%20Information%20Sheet,%20A506-33ACIS-v2%20(rev.%208%202013)-20250305131510.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/Virginia%20Asbestos%20Licensing%20Consumer%20Information%20Sheet,%20A506-33ACIS-v2%20(rev.%208%202013)-20250305131510.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/Virginia%20Asbestos%20Licensing%20Consumer%20Information%20Sheet,%20A506-33ACIS-v2%20(rev.%208%202013)-20250305131809.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/Virginia%20Asbestos%20Licensing%20Consumer%20Information%20Sheet,%20A506-33ACIS-v2%20(rev.%208%202013)-20250305131809.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/dibr/NIOSH%207400-20241002100935.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/dibr/NIOSH%207400-20241002100935.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/dibr/NIOSH%207402-20241002101045.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/dibr/NIOSH%207402-20241002101045.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/dibr/NIOSH%209002-20241002101208.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/dibr/NIOSH%209002-20241002101208.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/dibr/EPA-600-R-93-116-20241002100727.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/dibr/EPA-600-R-93-116-20241002100727.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/dibr/EPA-600-R-93-116-20241002100727.pdf
mailto:@erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
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board's requirement to periodically conduct random audits; (vi) 

redundant scope of practice provisions that are identical to 

language in the Code of Virginia; and (vii) language regarding 

maintenance of documents and closing of a practice that are 

related to physicians, not OTs or OTAs. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is potentially 

increased numbers of practitioners obtaining a license, thereby 

increasing the number of practitioners available in the 

Commonwealth to see patients. There are no disadvantages to 

the public. There are no primary advantages or disadvantages 

to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the 

result of a periodic review,2 the Board of Medicine (board) 

proposes to (i) remove text from various portions of 

Regulations for Licensure of Occupational Therapists 

(18VAC85-80), (ii) reduce required continuing education 

hours, and (iii) amend the requirements to reactivate or 

reinstate licensure. 

Background. Repealing text: The board relates that each 

portion of text proposed for removal falls into one of the 

following categories: (i) a definition not used in the regulation; 

(ii) a reference to another regulation; (iii) is either obsolete, no 

longer applicable, repetitive of other regulatory text or 

duplicative of statute; (iv) imposes a rarely used $10 fee that 

costs more to administer than the amount of the fee; or (v) 

requires the board to periodically conduct audits that are no 

longer conducted in practice. 

Continuing education: Under the current regulation, in order to 

renew an active license biennially, practitioners must complete 

at least 20 contact hours of continuing learning activities within 

the two-year period of licensure. At least 10 of the hours must 

consist of an organized program of study, classroom 

experience, or similar educational experience that is related to 

a licensee's current or anticipated roles and responsibilities in 

occupational therapy and is approved or provided by one of the 

following organizations or any of its components: Virginia 

Occupational Therapy Association; American Occupational 

Therapy Association; National Board for Certification in 

Occupational Therapy; local, state, or federal government 

agency; regionally accredited college or university; health care 

organization accredited by a national accrediting organization 

granted authority by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services to ensure compliance with Medicare conditions of 

participation; or an American Medical Association Category 1 

Continuing Medical Education program. Up to 10 of the hours 

may be Type 2 activities, which may include consultation with 

another therapist, independent reading or research, preparation 

for a presentation, or other such experiences that promote 

continued learning. Two of the Type 2 continuing education 

hours may be satisfied through delivery of occupational 

therapy services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for 

the delivery of health services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing such 

volunteer services as documented by the health department or 

free clinic. The board proposes to reduce the required number 

of contact hours of continuing learning activities within the 

two-year period of licensure from 20 to 10. In doing so, the 

board would eliminate the Type 2 category. All of the current 

Type 1 activities would count toward the requirement. As 

mandated by § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, delivery of 

occupational therapy services, without compensation, to low-

income individuals receiving services through a local health 

department or a free clinic would also continue to count toward 

approved contact hours of continuing learning activities. 

Consultation with another therapist, independent reading or 

research, preparation for a presentation would not count toward 

the reduced 10 hours. The board also proposes to specify that 

up to two of the continuing education hours may be satisfied 

through supervision or experiences that promote the education 

of students. One hour of continuing education may be credited 

for eight hours of providing such supervision as documented 

by the educational institution for which supervision is 

performed. According to the Department of Health Professions 

(DHP), the board had accepted this as qualifying for Type 2 

activity and felt that it would be worthwhile for both 

practitioners and students. 

Reactivation: A licensed occupational therapist or an 

occupational therapy assistant who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in Virginia shall be issued an inactive 

license upon a request on the renewal application and 

submission of the required fee. The holder of an inactive 

license is not required to maintain hours of active practice or 

meet the continued competency requirements, and is not 

entitled to perform any act requiring a license to practice 

occupational therapy in Virginia. Under the current regulation, 

an inactive licensee may reactivate a license upon submission 

of an application as required by the board; payment of the 

difference between the current renewal fee for inactive 

licensure and the renewal fee for active licensure; and 

documentation of completed continued competency hours 

equal to the requirement for the number of years, not to exceed 

four years, in which the license has been inactive. In addition, 

if the license has been inactive for two to six years 

documentation must be submitted of having engaged in the 

active practice of occupational therapy or having completed a 

board-approved practice of 160 hours within 60 consecutive 

days under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist. 

Alternatively, if the license has been inactive for six years or 

more and the individual has not engaged in active practice, 
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documentation must be submitted of having completed a 

board-approved practice of 320 hours to be completed in four 

consecutive months under the supervision of a licensed 

occupational therapist. For licenses that have been inactive for 

two to six years, the board proposes to no longer impose any 

additional requirements (i.e., documentation of having 

engaged in the active practice of occupational therapy or 

having completed a board-approved practice of 160 hours 

within 60 consecutive days under the supervision of a licensed 

occupational therapist). For licenses that have been inactive for 

six years or more, instead of requiring supervised practice or 

evidence of having engaged in active practice, the board 

proposes to require the occupational therapist or occupational 

therapy assistant provide evidence of current certification by 

the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy 

(NBCOT) or retake and pass the NBCOT examination. 

Additionally, the board proposes to amend the required 

submission of documentation of completed continued 

competency hours equal to the requirement for the number of 

years, not to exceed four years, in which the license has been 

inactive. Now, the documentation of completed continued 

competency hours equal to the requirement for the number of 

years, not to exceed six years, in which the license has been 

inactive. 

Reinstatement: To be reinstated, an occupational therapist or 

occupational therapy assistant who allows a license to lapse for 

a period of two years or more and then chooses to resume 

practice must submit to the board a reinstatement application, 

information on any practice and licensure or certification in 

other jurisdictions during the period in which the license was 

lapsed, and the fee for reinstatement of his licensure. Under the 

current regulation, an occupational therapist or occupational 

therapy assistant who has allowed a license to lapse for two 

years but less than six years, and who has not engaged in active 

practice, must serve a board-approved practice of 160 hours to 

be completed in two consecutive months under the supervision 

of a licensed occupational therapist. An occupational therapist 

or occupational therapy assistant who has allowed a license to 

lapse for six years or more, and who has not engaged in active 

practice, must serve a board-approved practice of 320 hours to 

be completed in four consecutive months under the supervision 

of a licensed occupational therapist in order to have a license 

reinstated. Completion of continued competency hours equal 

to the requirement for the number of years, not to exceed four 

years, in which the license has been inactive must also be 

accomplished. Regardless of the number of years that the 

license has been lapsed, instead of requiring supervised 

practice or evidence of having engaged in active practice, the 

board proposes to require the occupational therapist or 

occupational therapy assistant provide evidence of current 

certification by NBCOT or retake and pass the NBCOT 

examination. Analogous to the proposed amendment to the cap 

on required continued competency hours for reactivation, the 

board proposes to raise the cap on the number of required hours 

of continued competency for reinstatement from the required 

amount for four years to the required amount for six years. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs: Repealing text: According to 

DHP, the $10 fee for an individual licensed out-of-state to 

register for voluntary practice itself costs more 

administratively to collect than $10. Thus, eliminating the fee 

would be beneficial in that it would both reduce cost for 

occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants 

licensed out-of-state seeking to volunteer in Virginia, and net 

costs for the board. Currently, the board periodically conducts 

a random audit of its active licensees to determine compliance. 

The practitioners selected for the audit must provide all 

supporting documentation within 30 days of receiving 

notification of the audit. According to DHP, the board has only 

performed one or two of these audits in the last two decades, 

and only on two sets of its 18 types of licensees. DHP adds that 

the board does not have staff or the ability to conduct such 

audits and has not for years. Thus, the proposed repeal 

conforms the regulation to practice. Removing definitions that 

are not used in the regulation and text that either refers to 

another regulation or is obsolete, no longer applicable, is 

repetitive of other regulatory text, or is duplicative of statute 

would have no impact on requirements for regulated entities or 

the public. 

Continuing education: According to DHP, the board believes 

that the reporting requirement for Type 2 continuing learning 

activity hours is unnecessarily burdensome and that most 

practitioners would complete activities that are included as 

Type 2 regardless of the requirement. Thus, eliminating the 

requirement for Type 2 hours would be beneficial in that it 

would eliminate the burden of reporting such activities. The 

proposed elimination of the Type 2 activity requirement is not 

likely to have a substantive impact on activities in practice. 

Reactivation: For practitioners with licenses that have been 

inactive for two to six years and have not engaged in the active 

practice of occupational therapy (perhaps in another state) and 

who do not plan to work under the supervision of another 

practitioner, the proposal to no longer require documentation 

of having engaged in the active practice of occupational 

therapy or having completed a board-approved practice of 160 

hours within 60 consecutive days under the supervision of a 

licensed occupational therapist would be beneficial. 

Eliminating the requirement would allow such practitioners to 

work in their preferred circumstance right away rather than 

find someone else to supervise them over a 60-day period. For 

practitioners with licenses that have been inactive for five or 

six years, the proposal to amend the required submission of 

documentation of completed continued competency hours 

equal to the requirement for the number of years, not to exceed 

four years, in which the license has been inactive. Now the 

requirement that documentation of completed continued 

competency hours equal to the requirement for the number of 

years, not to exceed six years, in which the license has been 

inactive increases the amount of continued competency hours 

that they must complete to reactivate their licenses. Under the 
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proposed regulation, five hours of continuing learning 

activities are required per annum. Thus, the proposed increase 

in the cap would result in five additional hours of required 

continuing learning activities for those practitioners with 

licenses that have been inactive for five years, and 10 

additional hours of required continuing learning activities for 

those practitioners with licenses that have been inactive for six 

years. Their costs in time and fees would increase 

commensurately. For practitioners with licenses that have been 

inactive for six years or more and have not engaged in the 

active practice of occupational therapy and who do not plan to 

work under the supervision of another licensed occupational 

therapist, the proposal to replace the requirement to work under 

the supervision of another practitioner with evidence of current 

certification by NBCOT or to retake and pass the national 

examination may be beneficial. According to DHP, most 

occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants 

maintain NBCOT certification. Thus, this proposed change 

would benefit practitioners with licenses that have been 

inactive for six years or more and have not engaged in the 

active practice of occupational therapy and who do not plan to 

work under the supervision of another practitioner, but have 

maintained NBCOT certification, by permitting work in their 

preferred circumstance right away rather than find someone 

else to be supervised by over four months. Practitioners with 

licenses that have been inactive for six years or more, have not 

engaged in the active practice of occupational therapy, and do 

not have NBCOT certification but do intend to work under the 

supervision of another licensed occupational therapist, would 

be worse off under this proposal since they would meet the 

existing working under supervision requirement, but would not 

meet the NBCOT requirement. 

Reinstatement: For practitioners with a lapsed license who 

have not engaged in active practice and who do not plan to 

work under the supervision of another practitioner, the 

proposal to replace the requirement to work under the 

supervision of another practitioner with evidence of current 

certification by NBCOT or to retake and pass the national 

examination may be beneficial. Practitioners with a lapsed 

license who have not engaged in active practice and do not 

have NBCOT certification but do intend to work under the 

supervision of another licensed occupational therapist would 

be worse off under this proposal. Analogous with reactivation, 

for practitioners with licenses that have been inactive for five 

or six years, the proposed increase of the cap on required 

amount of continued competency hours increases the amount 

of continued competency hours that they must complete to 

reinstate their licenses. Thus, their costs in time and fees would 

increase commensurately. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect the 5,019 occupational therapists and 1,785 

occupational therapy assistants licensed in the 

Commonwealth,3 and their patients and employers. According 

to survey data from the most recently published Virginia 

Healthcare Workforce Data Center report on occupational 

therapists,4 the primary type of employers of occupational 

therapists in the Commonwealth are distributed as follows: 

Establishment Type Percentage 

General Hospital, Inpatient Department 15% 

Skilled Nursing Facility 14% 

K-12 School System 13% 

Home Health Care 13% 

Rehabilitation Facility, Outpatient Clinic 9% 

Private Practice, Group 7% 

Rehabilitation Facility, Residential/Inpatient 7% 

General Hospital, Outpatient Department 5% 

Assisted Living or Continuing Care Facility 4% 

Academic Institution 3% 

Private Practice, Solo 3% 

Mental Health, Inpatient 1% 

Other 7% 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.5 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. Costs would 

increase for practitioners who wish to reactivate or reinstate a 

license if a license has been inactive or lapsed for five or six 

years. Thus, an adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do 

not appear to substantively adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities8 Affected.9 The proposed amendments do not appear 

to disproportionally affect any particular localities, nor 

introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are not likely to have a substantive impact on total 
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employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Depending 

on the circumstances, practitioners seeking to reactivate or 

reinstate their license may encounter either increases or 

decreases in cost under the proposed regulation. In net, it is 

unlikely that the proposed changes would have a substantial 

impact on hiring costs for firms. Thus, for non-solo practices, 

there would not likely be a substantive impact on the use and 

value of private property. The proposed replacement of 

NBCOT certification for working under supervision as a 

requirement for reactivation or reinstatement could allow 

practitioners who prefer to work solo to start doing so sooner. 

The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2148.  

3 Source: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2023Q3/04CurrentLicens

eCountQ3FY2023.pdf. 

4 See https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/medicine/0119

OT2020.pdf. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

6 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

7 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

8 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

9 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 

Medicine concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove provisions that are redundant to 

statute and useless directions in regulation, including 

provisions related to (i) public participation; (ii) outdated 

fee reductions; (iii) requirements to verify professional 

practice to obtain a license; (iv) the requirement to attest to 

any hours of Type 2 continuing education; (v) the 

requirement that the Board of Medicine periodically conduct 

random audits; (vi) scope of practice provisions that are 

identical to language in the Code of Virginia; and (vii) 

language related to maintenance of documents and closing 

of a practice that is related to physicians, not occupational 

therapists or occupational therapy assistants. 

18VAC85-80-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

"Board" 

"Occupational therapy assistant" 

"Practice of occupational therapy" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"ACOTE" means the Accreditation Council for Occupational 

Therapy Education. 

"Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of 

professional practice as an occupational therapist or an 

occupational therapy assistant within the 24-month period 

immediately preceding renewal or application for licensure, if 

previously licensed or certified in another jurisdiction. The 

active practice of occupational therapy may include 

supervisory, administrative, educational, or consultative 

activities or responsibilities for the delivery of such services. 

"Advisory board" means the Advisory Board of Occupational 

Therapy. 

"Compact" means the Occupational Therapy 

Interjurisdictional Licensure Compact. 

"Compact privilege" means the same as the definition of the 

term in § 54.1-2956.7:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in continued 

learning activity. 

"NBCOT" means the National Board for Certification in 

Occupational Therapy, under which the national examination 

for certification is developed and implemented. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2148
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2023Q3/04CurrentLicenseCountQ3FY2023.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2023Q3/04CurrentLicenseCountQ3FY2023.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/medicine/0119OT2020.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/medicine/0119OT2020.pdf
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"National examination" means the examination prescribed by 

NBCOT for certification as an occupational therapist or an 

occupational therapy assistant and approved for licensure in 

Virginia. 

"Occupational therapy personnel" means appropriately 

trained individuals who provide occupational therapy services 

under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist. 

"Practitioner" means an occupational therapist or 

occupational therapy assistant licensed in Virginia or an 

occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant 

practicing in Virginia with a compact privilege. 

18VAC85-80-20. Public participation. (Repealed.) 

A separate regulation, 18VAC85-11, Public Participation 

Guidelines, provides for involvement of the public in the 

development of all regulations of the Virginia Board of 

Medicine.  

18VAC85-80-26. Fees. 

A. The following fees have been established by the board: 

1. The initial fee for the occupational therapist license shall 

be $130; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be 

$70. 

2. The fee for reinstatement of the occupational therapist 

license that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be 

$180; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be $90. 

3. The fee for active license renewal for an occupational 

therapist shall be $135; for an occupational therapy assistant, 

it shall be $70. The fees for inactive license renewal shall be 

$70 for an occupational therapist and $35 for an 

occupational therapy assistant. Renewals shall be due in the 

birth month of the licensee in each even-numbered year. For 

2020, the fee for renewal of an active license as an 

occupational therapist shall be $108; for an occupational 

therapy assistant, it shall be $54. For renewal of an inactive 

license in 2020, the fees shall be $54 for an occupational 

therapist and $28 for an occupational therapy assistant. 

4. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle shall be $50 for an 

occupational therapist and $30 for an occupational therapy 

assistant. 

5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction for a license shall be $10. 

6. The fee for reinstatement of licensure pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

7. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $50. 

8. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of a 

restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the licensee's 

birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure 

shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 

10. The fee for issuance of a compact privilege or the 

biennial renewal of such privilege shall be $75 for an 

occupational therapist and $40 for an occupational therapy 

assistant. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

shall not be refundable. 

18VAC85-80-35. Application requirements. 

An applicant for licensure shall submit the following on forms 

provided by the board: 

1. A completed application and a fee as prescribed in 

18VAC85-80-26. 

2. Verification of professional education in occupational 

therapy as required in 18VAC85-80-40. 

3. Verification of practice as required in 18VAC85-80-60 

and as specified on the application form. 

4. Documentation of passage of the national examination as 

required in 18VAC85-80-50. 

5. 4. If licensed or certified in any other jurisdiction, 

verification that there has been no disciplinary action taken 

or pending in that jurisdiction. 

18VAC85-80-65. Registration for voluntary practice by 

out-of-state licensees. 

Any occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 

assistant who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia and 

who seeks registration to practice under subdivision 27 of 

§ 54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia on a voluntary basis under 

the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, nonprofit 

organization that sponsors the provision of health care to 

populations of underserved people shall: 

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 

provided by the board at least five business days prior to 

engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will 

not be considered; 

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 

each state in which he the applicant has held a license and a 

copy of any current license; 

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, and the 

dates and location of the voluntary provision of services; and 

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and 5. Provide a notarized 

statement from a representative of the nonprofit organization 

attesting to its the nonprofit organization's compliance with 

provisions of subdivision 27 of § 54.1-2901 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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18VAC85-80-71. Continued competency requirements for 

renewal of an active license. 

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a licensee 

shall complete at least 20 10 contact hours of continuing 

learning activities as follows: 1. A minimum of 10 of the 20 

hours shall be in Type 1 aweictivities, which shall consist of an 

organized program of study, classroom experience, or similar 

educational experience that is related to a licensee's current or 

anticipated roles and responsibilities in occupational therapy 

and approved or provided by one of the following 

organizations or any of its components: 

a. 1. Virginia Occupational Therapy Association; 

b. 2. American Occupational Therapy Association; 

c. 3. National Board for Certification in Occupational 

Therapy; 

d. 4. Local, state, or federal government agency; 

e. 5. Regionally accredited college or university; 

f. 6. Health care organization accredited by a national 

accrediting organization granted authority by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services to ensure compliance with 

Medicare conditions of participation; or 

g. 7. An American Medical Association Category 1 

Continuing Medical Education program. 

2. No more than 10 of the 20 hours may be Type 2 activities, 

which may include consultation with another therapist, 

independent reading or research, preparation for a 

presentation, or other such experiences that promote continued 

learning. B. Up to two of the Type 2 continuing education 

hours may be satisfied through delivery of occupational 

therapy services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for 

the delivery of health services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing such 

volunteer services as documented by the health department or 

free clinic. 

B. C. Up to two of the continuing education hours may be 

satisfied through supervision or experiences that promote the 

education of students. One hour of continuing education may 

be credited for eight hours of providing such supervision as 

documented by the educational institution for which 

supervision is performed. 

D. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure in Virginia. 

C. E. The licensee shall retain in the licensee's records all 

supporting documentation for a period of six years following 

the renewal of an active license. 

D. The board shall periodically conduct a representative 

random audit of its active licensees to determine compliance. 

The licensees selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit. 

E. F. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

F. G. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date. 

G. H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters. 

18VAC85-80-72. Inactive licensure. 

A. A licensed occupational therapist or an occupational 

therapy assistant who holds a current, unrestricted license in 

Virginia shall, upon a request on the renewal application and 

submission of the required fee, be issued an inactive license. 

The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 

maintain hours of active practice or meet the continued 

competency requirements of 18VAC85-80-71 and shall not be 

entitled to perform any act requiring a license to practice 

occupational therapy in Virginia. 

B. An inactive licensee may reactivate his license upon 

submission of the following: 

1. An application as required by the board; 

2. A payment of the difference between the current renewal 

fee for inactive licensure and the renewal fee for active 

licensure; 

3. If the license has been inactive for two to six years, 

documentation of having engaged in the active practice of 

occupational therapy or having completed a board-approved 

practice of 160 hours within 60 consecutive days under the 

supervision of a licensed occupational therapist; and 

4. 3. Documentation of completed continued competency 

hours equal to the requirement for the number of years, not 

to exceed four six years, in which the license has been 

inactive. 

C. An occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant 

who has had an inactive license for six years or more and who 

has not engaged in active practice, as defined in 18VAC85-80-

10, shall serve a board-approved practice of 320 hours to be 

completed in four consecutive months under the supervision of 

a licensed occupational therapist provide evidence of current 

certification by NBCOT or retake and pass the national 

examination. 
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D. The board reserves the right to deny a request for 

reactivation to any licensee who has been determined to have 

committed an act in violation of § 54.1-2915 of the Code of 

Virginia or any provisions of this chapter. 

18VAC85-80-73. Restricted volunteer license. 

A. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 

assistant who held an unrestricted license issued by the 

Virginia Board of Medicine or by a board in another state as a 

licensee in good standing at the time the license expired or 

became inactive may be issued a restricted volunteer license to 

practice without compensation in a clinic that is organized in 

whole or in part for the delivery of health care services without 

charge in accordance with § 54.1-106 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. To be issued a restricted volunteer license, an occupational 

therapist or occupational therapy assistant shall submit an 

application to the board that documents compliance with 

requirements of § 54.1-2928.1 of the Code of Virginia and the 

application fee prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26. 

C. The licensee who intends to continue practicing with a 

restricted volunteer license shall renew biennially during his 

birth month, meet the continued competency requirements 

prescribed in subsection D of this section, and pay to the board 

the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26. 

D. The holder of a restricted volunteer license shall not be 

required to attest to hours of continuing education for the first 

renewal of such a license. For each renewal thereafter, the 

licensee shall attest to obtaining 10 five hours of continuing 

education during the biennial renewal period with at least five 

hours of Type 1 and no more than five hours of Type 2 as 

specified in 18VAC85-80-71. 

18VAC85-80-80. Reinstatement. 

A. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 

assistant who allows his a license to lapse for a period of two 

years or more and chooses to resume his practice shall submit 

a reinstatement application to the board and information on any 

practice and licensure or certification in other jurisdictions 

during the period in which the license was lapsed, and shall pay 

the fee for reinstatement of his licensure as prescribed in 

18VAC85-80-26. 

B. An occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant 

who has allowed his a license to lapse for two years but less 

than six years, and who has not engaged in active practice as 

defined in 18VAC85-80-10, shall serve a board-approved 

practice of 160 hours to be completed in two consecutive 

months under the supervision of a licensed occupational 

therapist or more shall provide evidence of current certification 

by NBCOT or retake and pass the national examination. 

C. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 

assistant who has allowed his license to lapse for six years or 

more, and who has not engaged in active practice, shall serve 

a board-approved practice of 320 hours to be completed in four 

consecutive months under the supervision of a licensed 

occupational therapist. 

D. C. An applicant for reinstatement shall meet the continuing 

competency requirements of 18VAC85-80-71 for the number 

of years the license has been lapsed, not to exceed four six 

years. 

E. D. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 

assistant whose license has been revoked by the board and who 

wishes to be reinstated shall make a new application to the 

board and payment of the fee for reinstatement of his the 

license as prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26 pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC85-80-90. General responsibilities. (Repealed.) 

A. An occupational therapist renders services of assessment, 

program planning, and therapeutic treatment upon request for 

such service. The practice of occupational therapy includes 

therapeutic use of occupations for habilitation and 

rehabilitation to enhance physical health, mental health, and 

cognitive functioning. The practice of occupational therapy 

may include supervisory, administrative, educational or 

consultative activities or responsibilities for the delivery of 

such services. 

B. An occupational therapy assistant renders services under 

the supervision of an occupational therapist that do not require 

the clinical decision or specific knowledge, skills and 

judgment of a licensed occupational therapist and do not 

include the discretionary aspects of the initial assessment, 

evaluation or development of a treatment plan for a patient.  

18VAC85-80-100. Individual responsibilities 

Responsibilities. 

A. An occupational therapist provides assessment by 

determining the need for, the appropriate areas of, and the 

estimated extent and time of treatment. His The occupational 

therapist's responsibilities include an initial screening of the 

patient to determine need for services and the collection, 

evaluation, and interpretation of data necessary for treatment. 

B. An occupational therapist provides program planning by 

identifying treatment goals and the methods necessary to 

achieve those goals for the patient. The therapist analyzes the 

tasks and activities of the program, documents the progress, 

and coordinates the plan with other health, community, or 

educational services, the family, and the patient. The services 

may include but are not limited to education and training in 

basic and instrumental activities of daily living (ADL); the 

design, fabrication, and application of orthoses (splints); the 

design, selection, and use of adaptive equipment and assistive 

technologies; therapeutic activities to enhance functional 

performance; vocational evaluation and training; and 

consultation concerning the adaptation of physical, sensory, 

and social environments. 
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C. An occupational therapist provides the specific activities 

or therapeutic methods to improve or restore optimum 

functioning, to compensate for dysfunction, or to minimize 

disability of patients impaired by physical illness or injury, 

emotional, congenital or developmental disorders, or by the 

aging process. 

D. An occupational therapy assistant is responsible for the 

safe and effective delivery of those services or tasks delegated 

by and under the direction of the occupational therapist. 

Individual responsibilities of an occupational therapy assistant 

may include: 

1. Participation in the evaluation or assessment of a patient 

by gathering data, administering tests, and reporting 

observations and client capacities to the occupational 

therapist; 

2. Participation in intervention planning, implementation, 

and review; 

3. Implementation of interventions as determined and 

assigned by the occupational therapist; 

4. Documentation of patient responses to interventions and 

consultation with the occupational therapist about patient 

functionality; 

5. Assistance in the formulation of the discharge summary 

and follow-up plans; and 

6. Implementation of outcome measurements and provision 

of needed patient discharge resources. 

E. The practice of occupational therapy may include 

supervisory, administrative, educational, or consultative 

activities or responsibilities for the delivery of such services. 

18VAC85-80-140. Patient records. 

A. Practitioners shall comply with the provisions of § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality 

and disclosure of patient records. 

B. Practitioners shall provide patient records to another 

practitioner or to the patient or his the patient's personal 

representative in a timely manner and in accordance with 

provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Practitioners shall properly manage and keep timely, 

accurate, legible, and complete patient records. 

D. Practitioners who are employed by a health care 

institution, school system, or other entity in which the 

individual practitioner does not own or maintain his the 

practitioner's own records shall maintain patient records in 

accordance with the policies and procedures of the employing 

entity. 

E. Practitioners who are self-employed or employed by an 

entity in which the individual practitioner does own and is 

responsible for patient records shall: 1. Maintain maintain a 

patient record for a minimum of six years following the last 

patient encounter with the following exceptions: 

a. 1. Records of a minor child, including immunizations, 

shall be maintained until the child reaches the age of 18 years 

of age or becomes emancipated, with a minimum time for 

record retention of six years from the last patient encounter 

regardless of the age of the child; 

b. 2. Records that have previously been transferred to 

another practitioner or health care provider or provided to 

the patient or his the patient's personal representative; or 

c. 3. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law may need to be maintained for a longer period of 

time. 

2. From October 19, 2005, post information or in some 

manner inform all patients concerning the time frame for 

record retention and destruction. Patient records shall only 

be destroyed in a manner that protects patient 

confidentiality, such as by incineration or shredding. 

F. When a practitioner is closing, selling or relocating his 

practice, he shall meet the requirements of § 54.1-2405 of the 

Code of Virginia for giving notice that copies of records can 

be sent to any like-regulated provider of the patient's choice or 

provided to the patient. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7380; Filed February 27, 2025, 8:49 a.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-27. Regulations for Nursing 

Education Programs (amending 18VAC90-27-30, 

18VAC90-27-190). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 23, 2025. 

Effective Date: May 8, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Claire Morris, RN, Executive Director, Board 

of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4665, or email 

claire.morris@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Board of Nursing are promulgated 

under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 

Virginia, which authorizes health regulatory boards to 

promulgate regulations that are reasonable and necessary to 

administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: Chapter 425 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly requires 

the board to amend its regulations regarding out-of-state 

clinical experiences. The amendments increase opportunities 

for clinical training for nursing students, which impacts public 

health and welfare. 

mailto:@claire.morris@dhp.virginia.gov
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Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action is appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process and 

is expected to be noncontroversial because it expands on 

requirements of the 2024 legislation and reduces requirements 

on nursing education programs. 

Substance: The amendments remove limitations on out-of-

state clinical education. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public are nursing 

students receiving clinical education in a timely manner, 

graduating, and entering the Virginia workforce. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no primary advantages 

or disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. Partially 

pursuant to Chapter 425 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly,2 the Board 

of Nursing (board) proposes to eliminate all restrictions on out-of-

state clinical experiences. Additionally, the board proposes to 

remove the current requirement that all clinical experiences take 

place within 50 miles of the school, unless an exception is granted 

by the board. 

Background. The current regulation requires that unless 

exceptions are granted by the board, at least 80% of all clinical 

experiences for nursing students must be conducted in Virginia, 

and that the clinical sites must be located within 50 miles of the 

nursing school. Chapter 425 requires that the Board of Nursing 

amend its regulations to permit nursing education programs in the 

Commonwealth located within 60 miles of a bordering state or the 

District of Columbia to contract for an unlimited number of 

required clinical hours at out-of-state clinical sites. Such 

regulations shall require that all such clinical hours be accepted by 

the board for licensure. According to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP), the board determined that all out-of-state 

clinical restrictions should be removed due to difficulties 

implementing the legislative language as written and also to 

ensure consistency in requirements for nursing education 

programs. The board also proposes to eliminate the requirement 

that clinical sites be within 50 miles of the nursing school. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs: The proposed removal of 

restrictions provides schools of nursing with additional options for 

clinical experiences for their students. To the extent that some 

nursing schools determine that having more than 20% of clinical 

experiences for their students take place outside the 

Commonwealth, or having some clinical experiences take place 

more than 50 miles from the nursing school, would improve the 

quality of such experiences, the proposed removal of the 

restrictions would be beneficial. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments potentially affect the 40 practical schools of nursing 

and the 67 professional schools of nursing in the Commonwealth. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse 

impact may result from the proposed regulation.3 An adverse 

impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 

in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs 

for all entities combined.4 The proposed amendments neither 

increase net costs nor reduce net benefit. No adverse impact is 

indicated. 

Small Businesses5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do not 

appear adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities7 Affected.8 Nursing schools in localities that either 

border or are near a border with another state or the District of 

Columbia may be more likely to take advantage of the elimination 

of the restriction on out-of-state clinical experiences. The 

proposed amendments do not appear to affect costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments do 

not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

elimination of restrictions on the locations of clinical experiences 

may result in some private schools of nursing changing where 

clinical experiences for their students take place. Potentially, this 

may result in a modest increase in their value. The proposed 

amendments do not affect real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?241+ful+CHAP0425.  

3 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

4 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

6 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?241+ful+CHAP0425
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effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

7 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

8 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 

Nursing concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove all out-of-state nursing education 

clinical restrictions for consistency in requirements for 

nursing education programs, expanding upon the 

requirements for the board to allow certain clinical nursing 

education to occur out of state pursuant to Chapter 425 of 

the 2024 Acts of Assembly.  

18VAC90-27-30. Application for initial approval. 

An institution wishing to establish a nursing education 

program shall: 

1. Provide documentation of attendance by the program 

director at a board orientation on establishment of a nursing 

education program prior to submission of an application and 

fee. 

2. Submit to the board an application to establish a nursing 

education program along with a nonrefundable application 

fee as prescribed in 18VAC90-27-20. 

a. The application shall be effective for 12 months from 

the date the application was received by the board. 

b. If the program does not meet the board's requirements 

for approval within 12 months, the institution shall file a 

new application and fee. 

3. Submit the following information on the organization and 

operation of a nursing education program: 

a. A copy of a business license and zoning permit to 

operate a school in a Virginia location, a certificate of 

operation from the State Corporation Commission, 

evidence of approval from the Virginia Department of 

Education or SCHEV, and documentation of 

accreditation, if applicable; 

b. The organizational structure of the institution and its the 

institution's relationship to the nursing education program 

therein; 

c. The type of nursing program, as defined in 18VAC90-

27-10; 

d. An enrollment plan specifying the beginning dates and 

number of students for each class for a two-year period 

from the date of initial approval, including (i) the planned 

number of students in the first class and in all subsequent 

classes and (ii) the planned frequency of admissions. Any 

increase in admissions that is not stated in the enrollment 

plan must be approved by the board. Also, transfer 

students are not authorized until full approval has been 

granted to the nursing education program; and 

e. A tentative time schedule for planning and initiating the 

program through graduation of the first class and the 

program's receipt of results of the NCLEX examination. 

4. Submit to the board evidence documenting adequate 

resources for the projected number of students and the ability 

to provide a program that can meet the requirements of this 

part to include the following information: 

a. The results of a community assessment or market 

analysis that demonstrates the need for the nursing 

education program in the geographic area for the proposed 

school. The assessment or analysis shall include 

employment opportunities of nurses in the community, the 

number of clinical facilities or employers available for the 

size of the community to support the number of graduates, 

and the number and types of other nursing education 

programs in the area; 

b. A projection of the availability of qualified faculty 

sufficient to provide classroom instruction and clinical 

supervision for the number of students specified by the 

program; 

c. Budgeted faculty positions sufficient in number to 

provide classroom instruction and clinical supervision; 

d. Availability of clinical training facilities for the 

program as evidenced by copies of contracts or letters of 

agreement specifying the responsibilities of the respective 

parties and indicating sufficient availability of clinical 

experiences for the number of students in the program, the 

number of students, and clinical hours permitted at each 

clinical site and on each nursing unit; 

e. Documentation that at least 80% of all clinical 

experiences are to be conducted in Virginia, unless an 

exception is granted by the board. There shall be 

documentation of written approval for any clinical 

experience conducted outside of Virginia by the agency 

that has authority to approve clinical placement of students 

in that state. The use of any clinical site in Virginia located 

50 miles or more from the school shall require board 

approval; 

f. e. A diagram or blueprint showing the availability of 

academic facilities for the program, including classrooms, 

skills laboratory, and learning resource center. This 

information shall include the number of restrooms for the 

student and faculty population, classroom and skills 

laboratory space large enough to accommodate the 

number of the student body, and sufficient faculty office 

space; and 
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g. f. Evidence of financial resources for the planning, 

implementation, and continuation of the program with 

line-item budget projections for the first three years of 

operations beginning with the admission of students. 

5. Respond to the board's request for additional information 

within a timeframe established by the board. 

18VAC90-27-190. Evaluation of resources; written 

agreements with cooperating agencies. 

A. Periodic evaluations of resources, facilities, and services 

shall be conducted by the administration, faculty, students, and 

graduates of the nursing education program, including an 

employer evaluation for graduates of the nursing education 

program. Such evaluation shall include assurance that at least 

80% of all clinical experiences are conducted in Virginia 

unless an exception has been granted by the board. 

B. Current written agreements with cooperating agencies 

shall be maintained and reviewed annually and shall be in 

accordance with 18VAC90-27-80 E. 

C. Upon request, a program shall provide a clinical agency 

summary on a form provided by the board. 

D. Upon request and if applicable, the program shall provide 

(i) documentation of board approval for use of clinical sites 

located 50 or more miles from the school, and (ii) for use of 

clinical experiences conducted outside of Virginia, 

documented approval from the agency that has authority to 

approve clinical placement of students in that state. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7935; Filed February 27, 2025, 8:15 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Titles of Regulations: 21VAC5-10. General Administration 

- Securities Act. 

21VAC5-20. Broker-Dealers, Broker-Dealer Agents and 

Agents of the Issuer (amending 21VAC5-20-95, 21VAC5-

20-120, 21VAC5-20-190, 21VAC5-20-220). 

21VAC5-80. Investment Advisors (amending 21VAC5-80-

100, 21VAC5-80-250). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-523 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be 

scheduled upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 29, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jude Richnafsky, Manager of Examinations 

and Securities and Retail Franchising, Division of Securities 

and Retail Franchising, State Corporation Commission, Tyler 

Building, Ninth Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9883, or email 

jude.richnafsky@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) require a broker-dealer 

agent, agent of the issuer, and investment advisor 

representative to file amended or updated forms within 30 

days of the amendment or update; (ii) remove the 

requirement that a broker-dealer or investment advisor 

file certain forms when employing an agent or 

representative employed by more than one broker-dealer 

or investment advisor; (iii) waive individuals applying for 

registration as an agent of the issuer from the required 

examination if the issuer's securities are exempt from 

registration by order of the State Corporation 

Commission; and (iv) remove obsolete forms. 

AT RICHMOND, FEBRUARY 25, 2025 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

CASE NO. SEC-2025-00002 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION  

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Adopting Revisions to the Rules 

Governing the Virginia Securities Act 

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEEDING 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides, in 

relevant part, that "in the administration and enforcement of all 

laws within its jurisdiction, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") shall have the power to promulgate rules and 

regulations." Section 13.1-523 of the Virginia Securities Act 

("Act"), § 13.1-501 et seq. of the Code, provides that the 

Commission shall have authority to make, amend and rescind such 

rules and forms as may be necessary to carry out the provisions of 

Chapter 5 of Title 13.1 of the Code. The rules issued by the 

Commission pursuant to § 13.1-523 of the Act ("Rules") are set 

forth in Title 21 of the Virginia Administrative Code. 

The Division of Securities and Retail Franchising ("Division") has 

submitted to the Commission proposed revisions to Chapters 20 

and 80 to: (i) provide clarification that an amendment to the form 

titled "Uniform Application for Securities Industry Registration or 

Transfer" ("Form U4") by a broker-dealer agent, agent of the 

issuer, or investment advisor representative must be filed within 

30 days of the event that requires the filing of the amendment; (ii) 

eliminate the requirement that broker-dealers and investment 

advisors execute and file with the Division the form titled "Agent 

Multiple Employment Agreement" ("Form S.A. 16") and the form 

mailto:@jude.richnafsky@scc.virginia.gov
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titled "Investment Advisor Representative Multiple Employment 

Agreement" ("Form S.A. 15"), respectively; and (iii) waive the 

"Uniform Securities Agent State Law Examination, Series 63" 

("S63") and the "Uniform Combined State Law Examination, 

Series 66" ("S66") examination requirement in Rule 21VAC5-20-

220 A, Examination/qualification, for an individual applying for 

registration as an agent of the issuer when the issuer's securities 

are exempt from registration by order of the Commission pursuant 

to § 13.1-514.1 B of the Act. Collectively, these are referred to as 

the "Proposed Revisions." 

The Division has recommended to the Commission that the 

Proposed Revisions should be considered for adoption, with an 

effective date of August 1, 2025. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this matter, 

is of the opinion and finds that a proceeding should be 

established to consider revising the Rules. To initiate this 

proceeding, the Division has prepared the Proposed Revisions, 

which are appended to this Order Establishing Proceeding 

("Order"). The Commission finds that notice of the Proposed 

Revisions should be given to the public, and that interested 

persons should be provided an opportunity to file written 

comments on, propose modifications or supplements to, or 

request a hearing on the Proposed Revisions for adoption with 

a proposed effective date of August 1, 2025. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This case is docketed and assigned Case No. SEC-2025-

00002. 

(2) All comments and other documents and pleadings filed in 

this matter shall be submitted electronically to the extent 

authorized by Rule 5VAC5-20-150, Copies and format, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure.1 Confidential 

and Extraordinarily Sensitive Information shall not be 

submitted electronically and shall comply with Rule 5VAC5-

20-170, Confidential information, of the Rules of Practice. 

Any person seeking to hand deliver and physically file or 

submit any pleading or other document shall contact the 

Clerk's Office Document Control Center at (804) 371-9838 to 

arrange the delivery. 

(3) On or before April 29, 2025, any interested person may 

comment on, propose modifications or supplements to, or 

request a hearing on the Proposed Revisions by following the 

instructions on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments. 

Those unable, as a practical matter, to submit such documents 

electronically may file such comments by U.S. mail to the 

Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 23218-2118. All documents 

shall refer to Case No. SEC-2025-00002. Any request for 

hearing shall state why a hearing is necessary and why the 

issues raised in the request for hearing cannot be addressed 

adequately in written comments. 

(4) The Division shall file its response to any comments filed 

pursuant to Ordering Paragraph 3 on or before May 27, 2025. 

(5) If a sufficient request for hearing is not received, the 

Commission may consider the matter and enter an order based 

upon the comments, documents or other pleadings filed in this 

proceeding. 

(6) The Division shall provide notice of this Order to any 

interested persons as the Division may designate.  

(7) The Commission's Office of General Counsel shall provide 

a copy of this Order, together with the Proposed Revisions, to 

the Virginia Registrar of Regulations for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(8) Interested persons may download unofficial copies of the 

Order and the Proposed Revisions from the Commission's 

website: scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(9) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of the Commission 

to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney General, 

at MBrowder@oag.state.va.us, Office of the Attorney General, 

Division of Consumer Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219-3424; and the Commission's Office 

of General Counsel and the Director of Securities and Retail 

Franchising. 

_____________________________ 
1 5VAC5-20-10 et seq. State Corporation Commission Rules of Practice and 

Procedure ("Rules of Practice"). 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (21VAC5-10) 

Broker-Dealer and Agent Forms 

Form BD, Uniform Application for Broker-Dealer 

Registration (rev. 1/2008) 

Form BDW, Uniform Notice of Termination or Withdrawal 

of Registration as a Broker-Dealer (rev. 4/2007) 

Form S.A. 2, Application for Renewal of a Broker-Dealer's 

Registration (rev. 10/2017) 

Form S.A. 11, Broker-Dealer's Surety Bond (rev. 7/1999) 

Form S.D.4, Application for Renewal of Registration as an 

Agent of an Issuer (2017) 

Form S.D.4.A, Agents to be Renewed - Exhibit I (rev. 1974) 

Form S.D.4.B, Agents to be Canceled (Records Clear) - 

Exhibit II (rev. 1974) 

Form S.D.4.C, Agents to be Canceled (Without clear Clear 

Records) - Exhibit III (rev. 1974) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/8199/22/21VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/8199/22/21VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
mailto:MBrowder@oag.state.va.us
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/dd614003073~5.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/dd614003073~5.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/3601e003073~4.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/3601e003073~4.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/d0d42005274~24..pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/d0d42005274~24..pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/ff482005274~301.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/64811005274~471.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/64811005274~471.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/a557f005274~32..pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/c60dc005274~33..pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/c60dc005274~33..pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/0c4dc005274~34..pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/0c4dc005274~34..pdf
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Rev. Form U4, Uniform Application for Securities Industry 

Registration or Transfer (rev. 5/2009) 

Rev. Form U5, Uniform Termination Notice for Securities 

Industry Registration (rev. 5/2009) 

Investment Advisor and Investment  

Advisor Representative Forms 

Form ADV, Uniform Application for Registration of 

Investment Registration and Report by Exempt Reporting 

Advisers 

Part IA, SEC 1707 (7/2017) 

Part IB, paper version (rev. 10/2012) 

Part 2, Uniform Requirements for the Investment Adviser 

Brochure and Brochure Supplements (undated) 

Form ADV-W - Notice of Withdrawal from Registration as 

an Investment Advisor (rev. 11/2010) 

Form S.A. 3, Affidavit for Waiver of Examination (undated, 

filed 10/2017) 

Form S.A. 10, Investment Advisor's Surety Bond Form (rev. 

10/2017) 

Form S.A. 15, Investment Advisor Representative Multiple 

Employment Agreement (eff. 7/2007) 

Form S.A. 16, Agent Multiple Employment Agreement (eff. 

7/2007) 

Rev. Form U4, Uniform Application for Securities Industry 

Registration or Transfer (rev. 5/2009) 

Rev. Form U5, Uniform Termination Notice for Securities 

Industry Registration (rev. 5/2009) 

Securities Registration and Notice Filing Forms 

Form U–1, Uniform Application to Register Securities 

(undated, filed 10/2017) 

Form U–2, Uniform Consent to Service of Process (rev. 

6/2016) 

Form U–2A, Uniform Form of Corporate Resolution (rev. 

6/2016) 

Form S.A. 4, Registration by Notification - Original Issue 

(rev. 11/1996) 

Form S.A. 5, Registration by Notification - Non-Issuer 

Distribution (rev. 11/1996) 

Form S.A. 6, Registration by Notification - Non-Issuer 

Distribution "Secondary Trading" (1989) 

Form S.A. 8, Registration by Qualification (rev. 7/1991) 

Form S.A. 12, Escrow Agreement (1971) 

Form S.A. 13, Impounding Agreement (rev. 7/1999) 

Form VA–1, Parts 1 and 2, Notice of Limited Offering of 

Securities (rev. 11/1996) 

Form NF, Uniform Investment Company Notice Filing 

(4/1997) 

21VAC5-20-95. Employment of an agent by more than one 

broker-dealer. 

A. In accordance with § 13.1-504 B of the Act, an agent may 

be employed by more than one broker-dealer if all of the 

following conditions are satisfied: 

1. Each employing broker-dealer is under common 

ownership and control as defined in subsection B of this 

section or as provided in subdivision C 2 c under 21VAC5-

20-330 C 2 c. 

2. Each employing broker-dealer is registered in accordance 

with 21VAC5-20-10. 

3. Each employing broker-dealer consents in writing to the 

employment of the agent by each of the other employing 

broker-dealers. 

4. 3. Each employing broker-dealer agrees to be responsible 

for the employment activity of the agent. 

5. 4. The agent is registered in accordance with 21VAC5-20-

90 by and on behalf of each employing broker-dealer. 

6. Each employing broker-dealer executes an Agent 

Multiple Employment Agreement (Form S.A.16), and the 

executed agreement is filed with the commission at its 

Division of Securities and Retail Franchising prior to the 

agent transacting business in Virginia on behalf of such 

broker-dealer. 

7. A new Agent Multiple Employment Agreement is 

executed and filed with the commission at its Division of 

Securities and Retail Franchising within 15 days after any 

information in a current agreement on file with the 

commission becomes materially deficient, incomplete or 

inaccurate. 

B. The term "common ownership and control" as used in this 

section means the same individual or individuals possess 

possesses at least a 50% ownership interest in each employing 

broker-dealer. 

21VAC5-20-120. Updates and amendments. 

A broker-dealer agent shall amend or update Form U4 as 

required by the "Amendment Filings" provisions set forth 

under "How to Use Form U4 information becomes inaccurate." 

A Form U4 must be filed within 30 days of an amendment or 

update. All filings shall be made on CRD for agents of FINRA 

member firms or with the commission at its Division of 

Securities and Retail Franchising for all other broker-dealer 

agents. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/8cad8003073~6.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/8cad8003073~6.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/4253c003073~7.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/4253c003073~7.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/c64d4005274~46a.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/c39ef003073~9.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/bce64003073~10.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/bce64003073~10.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/fa7d5003073~11.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/fa7d5003073~11.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/11f85005274~26..pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/11f85005274~26..pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/206c3005274~25d.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/206c3005274~25d.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/8cad8003073~6.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/8cad8003073~6.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/4253c003073~7.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/4253c003073~7.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/bd764005274~271.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/bd764005274~271.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/e5796005274~6d.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/e5796005274~6d.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/2dffc005274~29d.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/2dffc005274~29d.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/09391005274~374.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/09391005274~374.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/8434f005274~385.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/8434f005274~385.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/eb240005274~396.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/eb240005274~396.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/7ed59005274~408.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/a2704005274~412.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/6ee26005274~423.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/57e00005274~432.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/57e00005274~432.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/510e3005274~44F.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/510e3005274~44F.pdf
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21VAC5-20-190. Updates and amendments. 

An agent of the issuer shall amend or update his Form U4 as 

required by the "Amendment Filings" provisions set forth 

under "How to Use Form U4 information becomes inaccurate." 

A Form U4 must be filed within 30 days of an amendment or 

update. Filings shall be made with the commission at its 

Division of Securities and Retail Franchising. 

21VAC5-20-220. Examination/qualification; waiver of 

examination requirement. 

A. Except as described in subsection B of this section, an 

individual applying for registration as an agent of the issuer shall 

be required to provide evidence in the form of a FINRA exam 

report of passing: (i) the Uniform Securities Agent State Law 

Examination, Series 63; (ii) the Uniform Combined State Law 

Examination, Series 66; or (iii) a similar examination in general 

use by securities administrators which that, after reasonable notice 

and subject to review by the commission, the Director of the 

Division of Securities and Retail Franchising designates. 

B. The commission may, in a registered offering not being 

made to the general public or, in a Small Company Offering 

Registration, or in an offering exempt by commission order 

pursuant to § 13.1-514.1 B of the Act, waive the examination 

requirement for an officer or director of an issuer that is a 

corporation, or a general partner of an issuer of a limited 

partnership or a manager of an issuer that is a limited liability 

company who: 

1. Will receive no commission or similar remuneration 

directly or indirectly in connection with the offer or sale of 

the issuer's securities; and 

2. In the case of a small company offering registration, 

agrees to deliver to each prospective purchaser of a security 

to be issued by such issuer, at or before the time the offering 

document is required to be delivered, a copy of "A 

Consumer's Guide to Small Business Investments" prepared 

by NASAA (see CCH NASAA Reports ¶3676) and the 

application to register the agent is accompanied by an 

executed Affidavit Regarding Offers of Small Company 

Offering Registration (SCOR) Securities by Issuer Agents. 

21VAC5-80-100. Updates and amendments. 

An investment advisor representative shall amend or update 

Form U4 as required by the "Amendment Filings" provisions 

set forth under "How to Use Form U4 information becomes 

inaccurate." A Form U4 must be filed within 30 days of an 

amendment or update. All filings shall be made in compliance 

with all requirements of CRD. 

21VAC5-80-250. Employment of investment advisor 

representative by more than one investment advisor or 

federal covered advisor. 

A. In accordance with § 13.1-504 C of the Act, an investment 

advisor representative (representative) may be employed by 

more than one investment advisor or federal covered advisor 

(employing advisor) if all of the following conditions are 

satisfied: 

1. Each employing advisor is under common ownership and 

control as defined in subsection B of this section. 

2. Each employing advisor is registered or has filed notice, 

as the case may be, in accordance with 21VAC5-80-10. 

3. Each employing advisor consents in writing to the 

employment of the representative as an investment advisor 

representative by each of the other employing advisors. 

4. 3. The representative is registered in accordance with 

21VAC5-80-70 by and on behalf of each employing advisor. 

5. Each employing advisor executes an Investment Advisor 

Representative Multiple Employment Agreement (Form 

S.A.15), and the executed agreement is filed with the 

commission at its Division of Securities and Retail Franchising 

prior to the representative transacting business in Virginia on 

behalf of such advisor. 

6. A new Investment Advisor Representative Multiple 

Employment Agreement is executed and filed with the 

commission at its Division of Securities and Retail Franchising 

within 15 days after any information in a current agreement on 

file with the commission becomes materially deficient, 

incomplete or inaccurate. 

B. The term "common ownership and control" as used herein 

in this section means possession of at least a 50% ownership 

interest in each employing advisor by the same individual or 

individuals. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (21VAC5-80) 

Form ADV, Uniform Application for Investment Adviser 

Registration and Report by Exempt Reporting Advisers 

Part IA, SEC 1707 (7/2017) 

Part IB, paper version (rev. 10/2012) 

Part 2, Uniform Requirements for the Investment Adviser 

Brochure and Brochure Supplements (undated) 

Form ADV-W, Notice of Withdrawal from Registration as an 

Investment Advisor, SEC 777 (rev. 11/2010)  

Form S.A. 3, Affidavit for Waiver of Examination (undated, 

filed 10/2017) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/2aa28005274~45a.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/c39ef003073~9.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/bce64003073~10.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/bce64003073~10.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/fa7d5003073~11.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/fa7d5003073~11.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/fb71b005274~21..pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/fb71b005274~21..pdf
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Form S.A. 10, Investment Advisor's Surety Bond Form (rev. 

10/2017) 

Form S.A. 15, Investment Advisor Representative Multiple 

Employment Agreement (eff. 7/2007) 

Form S.A. 16, Agent Multiple Employment Agreement (eff. 

7/2007) 

Rev. Form U4, Uniform Application for Securities Industry 

Registration or Transfer, (rev. 5/2009) 

Rev. Form U5, Uniform Termination Notice for Securities 

Industry Registration (rev. 5/2009) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8199; Filed March 3, 2025, 12:36 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-121. Comprehensive 

Roadside Management Program (amending 24VAC30-

121-10 through 24VAC30-121-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 33.2-210 and 33.2-265 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: April 23, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne Maxwell, Director, Governance and 

Legislative Affairs, Department of Transportation, 1401 East 

Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-

1830, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The Comprehensive Roadside Management Program 

enables private businesses, civic organizations, 

communities, individuals, and local governments to improve 

the appearance and safety of the state-maintained right-of-

way by participating in project development, establishment, 

and maintenance of landscaping activities within the right-

of-way. The amendments include (i) removing redundant or 

outdated language and requirements, (ii) adding an 

exception for limited access highways from some local 

government provisions, (iii) requiring permittees to 

maintain any permitted areas for the life of the permit 

instead of in perpetuity, and (iv) clarifying and streamlining 

the regulation.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

24VAC30-121-10. Purpose. 

The Comprehensive Roadside Management Program 

(program) is administered by the Virginia Department of 

Transportation (department), and enables private businesses, 

civic organizations, communities, individuals, and local 

governments an opportunity to improve the appearance and 

safety of the state maintained state-maintained right-of-way or 

real property, herein referred to as right-of-way, by 

participating in the project development, establishment, and 

maintenance of landscaping activities within the state-

maintained right-of-way. This chapter sets forth policies and 

procedures governing the program. 

24VAC30-121-20. Participation. 

A. Eligible entities. A local government, private business, 

community, individual, or civic organization may fully fund the 

development, establishment, or maintenance, or any combination 

of these, activities of landscaping a segment of the right-of-way 

upon application to, and approval by, a designated department 

Virginia Department of Transportation representative. Such 

entities are Entities eligible to participate as are: 

1. A single local government; 

2. A local government partnership between one or more 

contiguous local governments; or 

3. A private business, civic organization, community, or 

individual through sponsorship by a local government or local 

government partnership. Such entities are eligible to participate 

as a donor through the local government by providing to the 

local government cash or noncash contributions. 

B. Acknowledgement Acknowledgment signs. Signs 

acknowledging the name or, logo, or both, of participating entities 

may be authorized for erection at the project site in accordance 

with 24VAC30-121-40 D 2. However, no acknowledgment signs 

installed pursuant to this program shall remain in place for more 

than 10 years. 

C. In addition to the specifications in 24VAC30-121-40 D 2, in 

order to be recognized on an acknowledgement acknowledgment 

sign, an entity must provide a minimum cash or in-kind 

contribution to the permittee for the landscaping activity as 

specified below in this subsection. Such contribution shall allow 

an acknowledgement acknowledgment sign for five years, unless 

the need arises for removal or relocation of the sign. Cost of the 

acknowledgement acknowledgment sign shall not count toward 

the minimum contribution requirement. 

1. Noncontrolled access primary and secondary highways: 

$7,500 contribution. 

2. Controlled access primary and secondary highways: 

$8,500 contribution. 

3. Interchanges on controlled access primary and secondary 

highways: $10,000 contribution. 

4. Interstate interchanges: $20,000 contribution. 

24VAC30-121-30. Application requirements. 

A. All program activities must be applied for by the local 

governments within the jurisdiction in which the activity is 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/a4321005274~20d.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/a4321005274~20d.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/8cad8003073~6.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/8cad8003073~6.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/4253c003073~7.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/4253c003073~7.pdf
mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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proposed to occur in accordance with the General Rules and 

Regulations of the Commonwealth Transportation Board 

(24VAC30-21) and the Land Use Permit Regulations 

(24VAC30-151). The Land Use Permit Regulations and the 

general rules may be obtained from the Virginia Department of 

Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219, or by accessing the Virginia Administrative Code 

website at https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/. 

1. Single activity or segment permit. A local government 

may apply for a permit for each individual proposed activity 

or for all proposed activities on a specific route. 

2. Jurisdiction-wide permit. A local government may apply 

for a jurisdiction-wide permit to cover all proposed activities 

occurring within that local government's jurisdictional 

boundaries on the right-of-way, excepting limited access 

highways. Such jurisdiction-wide permits must be renewed 

on an annual basis from the date of permit issuance. The 

local government shall notify the official local Virginia 

Department of Transportation (department) office 

(residency) prior to the installation of any landscaping under 

this permit. 

B. The application shall be in the form prescribed by the Land 

Use Permit Regulations and shall at a minimum include: 

1. The name, telephone number, and complete mailing 

address of the local government and the authorized local 

government representative who shall be officially 

designated by the local government as having full 

administrative and operational authority over all proposed 

activities; 

2. A maintenance agreement that outlines obligated specific 

maintenance activities and responsibilities, projected 

maintenance costs, and related funding commitments 

necessary to ensure areas are maintained and performing 

perform as originally permitted; and 

3. A formal resolution of endorsement from the local 

governing body, adopted subsequent to a public hearing 

during which the proposed landscaping activities are made 

available for review. The local governing body shall provide 

written notification to the department of its intention to hold 

such a hearing no later than 14 days prior to such hearing. 

Such notification shall be made to the Virginia Department 

of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219 residency that has responsibility for the 

highways in the locality. 

24VAC30-121-40. Conditions. 

A. In order to participate in the program, each project activity 

must comply with the Land Use Permit Regulations 

(24VAC30-151) and the general, site, and design 

considerations specified in this section. 

B. General considerations. The following general 

considerations apply to any permitted activity: 

1. Qualifications. All work shall be performed by qualified 

local government personnel or qualified individuals acting 

as an agent agents of the permitted local government. 

2. Compliance. Such work shall comply with all 

departmental Virginia Department of Transportation 

(department) specifications, standards, policies, and 

guidance as provided in the terms of the permit and all 

applicable federal, state, and local government policies, 

laws, regulations, and ordinances. 

3. Improvement. Any permitted activity must ensure a net 

improvement to existing right-of-way conditions and impose no 

net operational or financial burden to the department as 

determined by the department. 

4. The permittee shall be responsible for the maintenance of the 

permitted areas in perpetuity for the life of the permit. In the 

event the permittee fails to adequately maintain the 

improvements, the department may, at its discretion, revoke the 

permit. Prior to such revocation, the department may, at its 

discretion and at the permittee's expense, return the permitted 

area to its original condition. 

5. The master plan, project concept plan, sketches, drawings, 

estimates, specifications, and descriptive text of all activities 

and any required federal, state, or local permits shall be 

available for review by the department at all times. 

C. Site considerations. For sites a site to be approved by the 

department, the following site conditions must be met. The site 

must: 

1. Not The site must not be scheduled for future construction 

as defined within the department's current six-year 

improvement plan, which would conflict with the activities 

proposed on the project; 

2. Contain The site must contain sufficient right-of-way to 

reasonably permit planting and landscaping operations 

without conflicting with safety, geometric operational, and 

or maintenance considerations; 

3. Not The site must contain no overhead or underground 

utilities, driveways, pavement, sidewalks, or highway 

system fixtures, including traffic signage or signalization, 

that will conflict with the planting or landscaping operations 

proposed under the project; and 

4. Not The proposed activities must not obstruct or interfere 

with existing drainage conditions along the site. 

D. Design considerations. For sites a site to be approved by the 

department, the following design considerations must be met. 

1. The project design shall not include the following design 

elements: 

a. Lighting; 

b. Flagpoles or pennant poles; 

c. Fountains or water features; 
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d. Landscaping that depicts or represents any logo, name, or 

constitutes an advertisement in any form; 

e. Statuary, sculpture, or other art objects; 

f. Pruning or cutting within highway rights-of-way of 

vegetation with trunk base diameter greater than four six 

inches, unless approved by the District Roadside Manager; 

g. Any improvements intended to provide greater visibility to 

any existing or future business, advertisement, or advertising 

structure; or 

h. Any improvements that obscure or interfere with the view 

of existing lawfully erected advertising structures from the 

main traveled way. 

2. Acknowledgement Acknowledgment signs and structures 

installed pursuant to this program must meet the following 

design specifications: 

a. Panels per sign structure: a maximum of two 

acknowledgement acknowledgment panels per sign 

structure. 

b. Panel dimensions: 6 six feet wide by 20 inches tall; 3 

three inches corner radii; 1.5 1/2 inch—2 to two inches 

thick. 

c. Sign material: high density sign foam or equivalent. 

d. Background color options: dark blue (Pantone Matching 

System #288 or equivalent as determined by the department), 

dark burgundy (Pantone Matching System #188 or equivalent 

as determined by the department), dark green (Pantone 

Matching System #349 or equivalent as determined by the 

department), or off-white (Pantone Matching System Cool 

Gray 1 or equivalent as determined by the department). 

e. Sign border: must be inset 1 one inch from outside edge to 

a 3/4-inch wide border formed by sandblasting or routing a 

depth of 1/4-inch 1/4 inch to 1/2-inch 1/2 inch; color must be 

off-white (Pantone Matching System Cool Gray 1 or 

equivalent as determined by the department) if dark 

background or dark blue (Pantone Matching System #288 or 

equivalent as determined by the department), dark burgundy 

(Pantone Matching System #188 or equivalent as determined 

by the department), or dark green (Pantone Matching System 

#349 or equivalent as determined by the department) if off-

white background. 

f. Acknowledgement Acknowledgment content: a single 

sponsoring entity may be represented per panel; the 

representation may be placed within but no closer than 

1/2—inch 1/2 inch inside the border and formed by 

sandblasting or routing a depth of 1/4 inch to 1/2 inch. 

g. The words "Landscaping by" must be included in the upper 

left hand area of the border and must be a minimum of three 

inches tall. The border must be broken and the color of the 

"Landscaping by" must be the same as the border. 

h. Installation: the bottom of the sign at its closet closest point 

to the ground shall not be greater than 30 inches above the 

ground. The distance between panels shall not exceed four 

inches. Post height shall not exceed five inches above the top 

of the highest panel, with the top one inch trimmed at a 45-

degree angle. Post stain color must be a solid gray (Pantone 

Matching System #423 or equivalent as determined by the 

department). 

3. In the event an acknowledgement acknowledgment sign 

structure or panel is damaged, the permittee shall be 

responsible for repairing or replacing the sign. 

4. Acknowledgement Acknowledgment sign structures 

installed pursuant to this program may be placed within the 

right-of-way, within the limits of the installed landscaping, 

at the following locations: 

a. Noncontrolled access primary and secondary highways 

with speed limits of 45 mph or less: no greater than one 

acknowledgement acknowledgment sign structure per 

direction per 1/4 mile of main traveled way. 

b. Noncontrolled access primary and secondary highways 

with speed limits greater than 45 mph: one 

acknowledgement acknowledgment sign structure per 

direction per 1/2 mile of main traveled way. 

c. Controlled access primary and secondary highways 

with speed limits of 45 mph or less: no greater than one 

acknowledgement acknowledgment sign structure per 

direction per 1/4 mile of main traveled way except as 

specified in subdivision 4 e of this subsection. 

d. Controlled access primary and secondary highways 

with speed limits greater than 45 mph: no greater than one 

acknowledgement acknowledgment sign structure per 

direction per 1/2 mile of main traveled way except as 

specified in subdivision 4 e of this subsection. 

e. Interchanges on controlled access interstates, primary, 

and secondary highways: no greater than one 

acknowledgement acknowledgment sign structure per 

turning roadway. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following the 

listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. The 

forms are also available from the agency contact or may be viewed 

at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 

Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (24VAC30-121) 

Land Use Permit Application, LUP-A (rev. 3/2010). 

Land Use Permit Application, LUP-A (rev. 5/2023) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7634; Filed February 27, 2025, 7:35 a.m. 

https://www.vdot.virginia.gov/media/vdotvirginiagov/doing-business/technical-guidance-and-support/land-use-and-development/land-use-permits/LUP-A-Rev_acc051523_PM.pdf
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Adult Services Manual, Chapter 2. 

Virginia State Plan for Aging Services. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 23, 2025. 

Effective Date: April 24, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Analyst 

and Regulatory Coordinator, Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms, Richmond, VA 

23229, telephone (804) 662-7093, or email 

charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA INFORMATION TECHNOLOGIES AGENCY 

Title of Document: SEC503-03, Security Standard for Remote 

Access to Court Documents Online. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 23, 2025. 

Effective Date: April 24, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Amma Abbey, Legal Compliance and Policy 

Specialist, Virginia Information Technologies Agency, 7325 

Beaufont Springs Drive, Richmond, VA 23225, telephone 

(804) 510-7233, or email amma.abbey@vita.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Hospital Provider Manual Chapter 7. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 23, 2025. 

Effective Date: April 24, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy Division Director, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, or 

email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: Division of Child Support Enforcement 

Program Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 23, 2025. 

Effective Date: April 24, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Brown, Manager of Guidance and 

Paternity Establishment, 5600 Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 

23060, telephone (804) 726-7880, or email 

sandra.brown@dss.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Title of Document: Firearm Safety Device Tax Credit 

Guidelines. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 23, 2025. 

Effective Date: April 24, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Austin Smith, Tax Policy Analyst, 

Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 

23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-5107, or email 

austin.smith@tax.virginia.gov. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_8049_20250210.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_8054_20250224.pdf
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/136/GDoc_VITA_8048_20250207.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/136/GDoc_VITA_8048_20250207.pdf
mailto:amma.abbey@vita.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_8044_20250206.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4116/GuidanceDocs/emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_7730_20240812.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_7730_20240812.pdf
mailto:sandra.brown@dss.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/161/GDoc_TAX_7847_20241018.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/161/GDoc_TAX_7847_20241018.pdf
mailto:austin.smith@tax.virginia.gov
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The following guidance documents have been submitted for deletion and the listed agency has opened up a 30-day public 

comment period. The listed agency previously identified these documents as certified guidance documents, pursuant to § 2.2-

4002.1 of the Code of Virginia. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

guidance document to view the deleted document and comment. This information is also available on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact. 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Titles of Documents: 2018 Virginia Outdoors Plan. 

Community Flood Preparedness Fund Guidelines. 

Land and Water Conservation Fund Application Manual. 

Virginia Land Conservation Foundation Grant Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 23, 2025. 

Effective Date: April 24, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Policy and Planning Director, 

Department of Conservation, 600 East Main Street, 24th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-4378, or email 

lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2679
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2679
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2679
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2679
mailto:lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for RMRM Holding 
LLC dba Tradesman XDR LLC 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is proposing 

an enforcement action for RMRM Holding LLC doing 

business as Tradesman XDR LLC for violations of the State 

Water Control Law and regulations in Gretna, Virginia. The 

proposed order is available from the DEQ contact or online at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/ 

enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept comments 

by email or postal mail from March 24, 2025, through April 

23, 2025. 

Contact Information: Michael Puckett, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 901 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153, 

telephone (540) 577-6719, or email 

michael.puckett@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for LDJ 
 Petersburg LLC 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is proposing 

an enforcement action for LDJ Petersburg LLC for alleged 

violation of the State Water Control Law and regulations at the 

BleachTech LLC facility, 2020 Bessemer Road, Petersburg, 

Virginia (Latitude 37.1795, Longitude -77.4170). The 

proposed order is available from the DEQ contact or online at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/ 

enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact person will accept 

comments by email or postal mail from March 24, 2025, to 

April 23, 2025. 

Contact Information: Cara Witte, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 4949 Cox Road, Suite 

A, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 712-4192, or email 

cara.witte@deq.virginia.gov. 
 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 

698-1810; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their websites 

and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code Sections 

Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing regulation 

sections that have been amended, added, or repealed in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations were 

originally published or last supplemented in the print version of 

the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
mailto:michael.puckett@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
mailto:cara.witte@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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